We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Great central location, perfect for shopping, night out and canal walks. Good parking facilities and very nice breakfast. We had a corner room on the 10th floor so great views across the city. The room was adequate though a little small but the free wifi was welcome as was the comfy armchair, lap top rest and corner desk. Would definitely stay here again. Pleasant and friendly staff.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for the great review, it's great to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and look forward to staying again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    1,233
    399
    121
    93
See reviews for
369
1,135
115
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was adequate for a two day business trip, it felt like a businessey hotel rather than a holiday hotel, probably wouldnt visit with my wife. But it's a good quality good service quiet place to stay. Bed was a bit hard though. Upper rooms could do with curtains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, its great to hear you enjoyed your visit, next time you do choose to stay with us please do be aware that although there are voiles up at the windows, there are blackout blinds behind them for that added darkness. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, CO.Tyrone
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights from 12/7. Check in is located on the third floor so on entering the Hotel signs direct you to the lifts and the reception. The check in was quick and staff were very friendly. We were allocated a room on the 12th floor. The room overall was very nice, modern and very clean.The bathroom had plenty of room and a lovely choice of toiletries. There was a 32inch TV plus a tea tray and the air conditioning system was great and very quiet. We did not have an evening meal although we did have complientary breakfast which was included in the room rate. There was a very good choice of hot and cold food on offer at breakfast. The Hotel is located on Broad Street which has a lot of resturants bars and clubs so the location is great if that is what you are after. The bullring shopping centre and the mailbox are approximately 15 minutes walk away. Brindley place where more resturants etc are is also a 10 minute walk away.A good value comfortable hotel and would definately recommend it and we would definately stay there again if we were visiting Birmingham. For information on anyone taking a Taxi from the airport we took a Black Cab and the fare was £33.80. On the return journey the Hotel booked us a private Taxi and the fare was £20.

Room Tip: Book a room on the higher floors ther was no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondacrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such great feedback. It is nice to hear that for the whole week we had the opportunity to look after you during your stay.
Thanks for the kind comments and we hope to see you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Although there was much worthy of favourable comment at this hotel, it left me with a bad impression, and when I read the remarks posted on Booking.com, along with my own, I see I am not alone, similar complaints were oft repeated by other guests.
Firstly, I will give credit where it is due - the hotel is light, airy, modern, spotlessly clean, and has comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and superb facilities. Clearly it has undergone a costly refurbishment recently, which means the standard of the actual rooms, especially at the price, outshines anything I have experienced in London , Manchester, etc.
However, two other important criteria failed the otherwise excellent satisfaction test noticeably: attention to detail, and staff attitude. The room was not ready when I arrived hot,tired and hungryt at 3.45p.m, after a long rail journey on a sweltering day, even though I had booked well in advance. I was kept waiting around the front desk for almost an hour, despite being disabled, and telling the totally uninterested reception staff that I needed a drink, shower, change, meal and taxi to a venue where I had a ticket for a 6 p.m performance, and the clock was ticking away.
There was only one very po-faced, uncommunicative receptionist, with a young girl assistant, to deal with everything. They made no attempt at eye contact, welcome, smile even, or courtesy to keep me informed regarding availability of my room. Every enquiry from me received the same programmed response -" it will only be a few minutes", or "won't be long now".
When a key was finally handed over, with no advice as to how the lift worked, I made it to the 10th floor only to find the key couldn't open the door!..Eventually help came . Once inside, the room was like an oven, a the blinds didn't work, the windows didn't open (no air conditioning).
By this time, I was extremely stressed, had only time for a quick shower / change /coffee, before getting a taxi to my concert, with no time to find a restaurant and have something to eat. So I spent the evening tired, hungry, with a headache, didn't enjoy the event I had spent so much to attend, and thinking how different it could have been, had the hotel experience not been so poor.
The airless room meant a fitful night's sleep, despite the lovely big bed and many pillows.
I told the reception staff I would be asking for a refund in line with their promise. Since then, I see there have been some good reviews, so maybe they got their act together, but I still feel I was badly let down. Awaiting reply from management, but not holding my breath !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariecorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are sorry that you felt let down by your recent stay at the hotel and we would like to discuss this further with you to understand your concerns. Please feel free to send me your contact details to gm@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, check in was quick and easy, room was lovely, comfy and clean had everything that you would need for a nice night! Location is good for clubbing however i was shopping and its about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre, however this wasn't a problem for us! Really enjoyed our breakfast there was a good selection and it was all lovely!! car park is really handy and fairly priced all in all a great hotel.. will definitely recommend and stay again when we visit Birmingham!!
One tiny moan i have is that someone rang our hotel room telephone asking for directions to the hotel and if has a car park obviously trying to get through to hotels main reception!

Room Tip: Higher Floors are better as there's less noise as street is busy throughout the day and especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your shopping trip and your stay with us recently. Thanks for the kind feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

From the outside, the hotel looks a bit grim - very 1960's tower block - but inside it's modern, fresh and clean.
Our room was on the 8th floor with a great view. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Broad Street on a Saturday night is hen and stag party heaven and there were quite a few parties in the hotel. When we've stayed in other hotels, this has sometimes caused problems with people marauding up and down the corridors in the early hours but the insulation must have been good as we didn't hear a thing.
There was a good choice of food at breakfast. The hot food was a bit of a let down as it seemed to have been under heat lamps for a while and the bacon was like leather but the rest was fine.
A good value, comfortable hotel & we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
It was great to hear that the building didn't deter you from staying and you recognised our modern decor inside the hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped here with friends on a boozy wk end away having previously stopped at the new one in Derby.

Great location & very modern rooms right in the centre of broad street, perfect for walking/eating/drinking around Brindley Place/mailbox (10 min walk).

You will not get better VFM around, the price also includes a buffet self service breakfast, on site parking is available for a charge, around £8 for 24hrs stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tablefourtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your boozy weekend in Birmingham. Thanks for taking the time to leave great feedback and we very much look forward to seeing you back with us for another great weekend in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,757 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing