We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round all good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were visiting Birmingham for the first time for a concert at the NIA great location for what we wanted as it was walking distance from the hotel. The room was very clean, bed comfy, breakfast was good, great variety. Very disappointed with the RUDE RECEPTIONIST when we booked we explained it was for an anniversary the lady I spoke with over the phone was lovely couldn't have been more helpful she even said we could have a complimentary drink when we arrived. So when we got there we unpacked and had a look around and decided to go for that complimentary drink, I spoke to one of the ladies at reception to explain that this is what I had been told to me over the phone. The lady I spoke to was so rude and I really wish i'd got her name as she made me feel like I was a trampy person making out that we had free drinks when we didn't even though I'd been told that we did. She was Indian looking, 30 + something. I was absolutely disgusted she was really loud in front of people all most like she was trying to embarrass us. She then spoke to a college who was the nice lady I spoke to over the phone who gave us the complimentary drinks. She didn't even apologise she just let the nice lady deal with us and the nice lady explained to us that there are notes on there system made by herself on the booking so it confirmed what she had said over the phone. Apart from the rude receptionist overall was really nice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jadelauren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for leaving us your feedback, I am glad overall that your stay with us was great and I will look into the incident with our team member to ensure in the future we deliver the highest of standards to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,629 - 2,635 of 3,429 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Beautiful room,fantastic quality all round,food fabulous,beds ever so comfy. So pleased to have stayed and WILL be back!!! Overall magnificent,nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the bath products were define!!had a little problem with the toilet but this was fixed swiftly and politely... Wonderful!

Room Tip: Try and get end rooms on top floor as for room 1701
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks, its great to see that you had such a great time during your stay, please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

totally stunned at the value for money and the standard of this hotel. the room was how it looked on the hotel pic and the towels were high quality white and fluffy, breakfast was excellent. and the staff were helpful and friendly. will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Great to hear that your research into the hotel paid off and we could deliver your expectations prior to arrival. Come and see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends on a Friday - during Christmas Market time - so the hotel was very busy when we arrived.
Note: like other reviewers we had problems parking. When we arrived the hotel car park was full so we parked in the pay and display opposite the car park entrance (at the back of the hotel). Actually worked out cheaper - only cost £5 overnight - so wasn't so bad.
They did have trouble finding our reservations (booked through a 3rd party website) and when we got to our rooms one of the triples wasn't made up as a triple room but the hotel sorted this once we had gone out.
I have to say I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel as I had heard mixed reports but, despite the not so flattering exterior, the interior of the hotel was very clean and modern. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and of a good size (we had a twin room). The bathroom also has shower gel, shampoo etc. It was also very quiet, which surprised me considering we were in a fully booked, city centre hotel - bonus!
Breakfast although very good was a bit of a bun fight and finding a seat was difficult. To be fair to the hotel they do post signs (in the lift) advising what times the breakfast area is expected to be busy so we should have heeded the warning but we'd had a late night so getting up early wasn't really an option for us :)
Overall, we all had a really good night and the hotel did a great job at a great price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for your balanced review of your stay, its great to hear that the hotel ticked the box for you and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room was modern, clean and spacious. All facilities were good. Central location. Friendly staff. Free wifi was high speed - an added bonus! Breakfast was ample. Lovely bathroom / shower. Plenty of towels and toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Good quality hairdryer. I would stay there again, either as a solo traveller on business or for a stay with the family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0ve2travel_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for the great comments, its nice to hear when our guests love the hotel. The Hampton team pride themselves on delivering the highest of standards and when this is recognised it gives them a real sense of pride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Superb quality rooms and clean bathroom. Very comfortable bed. I had a great nights sleep. I felt secure even on the 17th floor. Great view over the city and very quiet. The receptionist at check-in was polite and helpful. Very bad quality breakfast, cooked food cold and some items run out but can put up with it for one night!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback that we can use to improve our service moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Here we go. Don't understand the rave reviews so here is a run down of what you need to know
Location. GOOD. It's at the top of Broad St near 5-ways so convenient for most of city centre
Parking. GOOD but was full when we arrived. We got the last space and many seemed to be having probs. it's £10 per 24 hrs which is good
Rooms. OK FOR NOW! It's new and on first inspection looks nice. However fittings are cheap and already showing wear and tear (buttons missing on shampoo etc). There was chewing gum that had been stuck by a former (piece of scum) resident if the room on the bedside locker. Room was nice and quiet. Tea and coffee limited and not adequately replaced by maid. Bizarre sliding door arrangement on wardrobe/toilet as a space saver. Overall ok though
Breakfast. Hmmmmmmmmm. Not a great experience. Its self service and the area devoted to breakfast doesn't really cope when hotel full. Bacon v good. Sausage not great. Scrambled eggs v poor. Te whoe area though for me did not work and the chair I sat on today was filthy. Don't know why they would have that type of chair there
Staff. GOOD. V elpful and polite at all times
BUT!!!!!!!
NOT ENOUGH LIFTS! It just gets ridiculous at busy times. You can wait for ages. If saying there ask for a floor low down, at least you can use the stairs.
So it's an ok place and the price s good but I don't think the hotel will wear well

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback, The Hampton team take all feedback as positive and will use this review to look at areas to improve moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,432 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,332 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing