We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in the centre of Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in the centre of Birmingham”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Safe secure parking. The standard is what one would expect from Hilton Hampton group. Very reasonably priced and a tasty breakfast with free wifi. I would definitely stay here again. Plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
HI Barney C

Thanks for the review, Its great you managed to enjoy our prime location with the bars and restaurants.
We hope you will be back in the near future to experience some more

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    1,249
    409
    121
    93
See reviews for
376
1,160
116
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Hampton by Hilton 23rd to 25th April - hotel exceptionally clean, self-service breakfast was great - good choice, staff extremely helpful. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Hotel is approximately a 10-minute walk to the bullring. Even though the hotel is on a main road, there was no traffic or noise from the bars within the immediate vicinity. All in all a most enjoyable stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening Elaine H,

What a glowing review the team will be pleased with the 5 stars!!
I am so pleased to read of your stay and how you had a lovely and quiet night.
We understand how important this is, even within a city centre location so we are pleased to know we succeeded .

Hope to welcome you back very soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for three nights on business in mid-week & paid £55 per night + £10 parking, the hotel is perfectly located on Broad Street with plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

Bed and particularly the pillows were very comfortable, bathroom spotless and well equipped in fact everything about the room was perfect, couldn't have asked for more especially at the price.

Breakfast (included) was a good choice of cold and hot dishes and the staff were attentive and quick to clear away plates or top up the food dishes, in fact all of the staff that I met were very nice, smiley and helpful.

Only one niggle, just one minor point - one of the four lifts appears to have a mind of its own, in three days it never actually got me to floor 6 but just for the hell of it I tried it every day and visited every other floor in the hotel, was quite amusing in the end - its only a minor though and I will definitely return over the next few months.

Room Tip: Had room 601 at the back of the hotel (they start with number 1 on all floors), was very quiet and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi GaryKitch

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a great review. I shall certainly take your comments on board and look forward to your return .

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed last weekend with 3 friends (65 plus) on 11th floor. We all thought the staff, accommodation and breakfast were exceptional for the money. Staff polite and helpful, beds comfortable, bathroom clean and plenty of hot water. Breakfast - excellent - something for everyone and replenished immediately. Only one thing was missing and we searched believe me - a rubber mat in the bath would have been helpful for a disabled friend. Having stayed at many 5 star hotels the management should be really proud of their staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening Heather186230

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are very proud of our team and we are strong believer in a happy team equals happy guests and this is showing the validity in this value.
Next time you stay with us please feel free to ask reception for whatever you need I'm sure they will be pleased to assist you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is clean, OK, friendly - the staff are lovely.
The breakfast - a bit lacking! There were no mushrooms. It was a busy weekend and the management seemed to have not taken this into account - hence beans, tomatoes and eggs ran out at various points on our first day, with a long wait for replacements. The staff seemed overwhelmed.
The lifts at this are hotel are a joke, a disaster and actually a health and safety concern - nobody seems to know if the lift is going up or down - spent about 6 minutes in one lift trying to get to our floor - out of 3 lifts none seem coordinated.
There is a massive lack of communication at this hotel - no signs re parking, lifts, breakfasts etc - parking here is a major issue, especially at bust times (ie bank holiday easter!) There were no spaces left and people were parking randomly - two idiots parked across a yellow box and held traffic in for hours in the car-park - the staff did not have a clue how to deal with this and had no way of contacting the offending parkers. Eventually irate drivers had to literally manhandle the offending vehicle out of the way to creat a gap trapped cars could squeeze through while hotel staff did nothing. I believe this may be on facebook as people were padding it. Twice over two days we drove down to the car-park barrier to have our ticket rejected - we had to reverse back up and sort the issue out at reception - a simple sign or word from reception would have resolved the issue both times.
To sum things up, I would NEVER EVER EVER stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: go for the corner rooms - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgefirth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear georgefirth1

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at the hotel, and I would like to apologise for this situation, I will certainly be taking on board your comments and as a team we have already put into place new procedures around the car park to avoid further issues.
I would be really grateful if you would email me directly as we would really like to turn your negative experience into a positive one. donnell.grandison@hbhbroadstreet.com

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on 25th April after a night out in Broad Street.

There are lots of hotels around there and at the time of booking this was the best value, especially as breakfast was included in the room price. We found that the service and comfort was consistent with the Hilton brand but at a mid price level which was ideal for what we wanted.

Finding the hotel was easy. We chose to use the shared car park with one floor allocated to the hotel, at £10 for 24 hours. There are other car parks nearby a few pounds cheaper but you don't get the direct lift access into the hotel so it looked like you'd have to walk back round the block to the front to get inside. It's relatively good that there's a choice compared to our past experience of the area, I think.

The service was very good. Check in was quick and our room was allocated on arrival with a choice of low or high floor. There was a mistake with our initial room allocation but we were happy with the way the duty managers dealt with it, which is what mattered.

The lifts are busy so you don't always go straight to your floor, but it is secure as you can't access any floor above reception without swiping your room card inside the lift first.

Our room was on the 11th floor with a nice view looking up Broad Street towards the Centre. We were next to the lifts but didn't hear a thing and also very little noise came up from the naturally noisy road, well into the night.

Breakfast was very tasty with a good range of drinks and hot or continental food. It's self service but there was waiter staff on hand if needed who kept things moving and tidy. It was also helpful that there were signs around the hotel advising when the busiest periods were, so we didn't end up in a queue.

We will definitely consider the Hampton again next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening perrysproperty

What a lovely review , we thank you for all your comments, and I shall make sure that the team also see your wonderful words about our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here whilst attending an event at the NIA.

SERVICE
Staff were polite and friendly. None of the staff we spoke to were English, but there was no language barrier. There were some issues with the lifts not working properly, but as there are three lifts, this wasn't a problem. The big let-down is the cost of the parking. MUCH cheaper at any of the three car parks at the rear of the hotel, than the hotel car park. Also, as we stayed on a Bank Holiday, parking in the other car parks was free whereas the hotel was charging £10:00. Ridiculous, and the management really do need to bring the costs of parking down. Free Wi-Fi was a definite plus.

VALUE
Very reasonably priced.

SLEEP QUALITY
Mattresses were a bit firm, but the rooms were very comfortable. We were up on the 16th floor, and noise wasn't an issue.

CLEANLINESS
Our room, and the hotel itself, appeared to be cleaned to a good standard.

LOCATION
Obviously ideal for Broad Street, and also nearby venues such as the NIA, Sealife Centre and many eateries and watering holes at Brindleyplace.

ROOMS
Compact, but with most things you could need. Bathroom was well equipped and the heating/aircon worked well.

RESTAURANT
We only ate breakfast here, so can't comment on lunch or dinner times...
The restaurant was cold so, consequently, any of the hot buffet food quickly became cold too. The hot buffet was standard but plentiful, and the ambient options were varied and equally plentiful.

OVERALL
Given its price and locality, we'd definitely stay at the Hampton again. But we'd park our car elsewhere.

Room Tip: For a better view, ask for a room on a high floor, overlooking Broad Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHMillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear GHMillhouse

Thank-you for such an indepth review.. I can see you took the time to really look into all areas of our hotel and I shall be using this information so we can improve in all department.
What left me with the best feeling however was the fact that you would return to us and rest assure we look forward to this.
If you should return I would be grateful if you would email me as I would like to introduce myself to you and show you the impact your feedback has had. Guest.relations@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing