We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Hampton”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

For a one night stay in a commercial hotel this huge Hampton by Hilton may well fit the bill. It's a generally well designed refit of a disused office block with good bedrooms, bathrooms and adequate public rooms. Hot buffet breakfast was entirely satisfactory but I was lucky enough to get a dining table to use. Other guests were making do at somewhat low coffee tables.
The ground floor entrance is not attended and guests are expected to take 1 of 3 lifts to the 3rd floor and a busy reception counter adjoining the bar and snack servery. Lift access to residential floors is controlled by keycard swipe.
The bedrooms are well equipped and a good size. Not many chains provide an ironing board, iron and hairdryer as well as a kettle, tv and wifi.
The bathrooms have good toiletries and plenty of good towels.
Overall housekeeping is of an acceptable standard. Look closely and some fault can be picked. Minor things such as undusted window ledges, basin overflows uncleaned, sanitary sealant at the shower base not kept pristine, drink spills not wiped from the surface of bar tables.
I didn't pay - my employer did and I reckon the bill paid by my employer was fair value for money.
It's a very big hotel run by polite, efficient hoteliers.

Room Tip: Don't be worried about a room near the lift shafts. I heard no noise whatever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening yketraveller


Thank you for your positive review and I shall certainly be taking on your feedback by speaking with the departments mentioned.

Overall it seems we gave you both value for money and great service and this is always our aim.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    1,233
    399
    121
    92
See reviews for
368
1,134
115
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location and hotel premises good. Mid-price, city centre hotel, close to many Birmingham attractions, providing excellent hot buffet breakfast. Very secure re night-time access into hotel and to rooms plus secure parking. However, problems experienced with defective toilet flush in bathroom (bad design, pushes itself into wall), defective key card (unable to access room), moved to alternative room halfway through a 2-night stay and no bath towels in new room (substituted with 4 x hand towels). None of these issues made for a relaxing short-break! Have written to hotel this morning and await their comments. It's a great mid-price hotel so I do hope they pay attention to and rectify these issues - they'd then get a 5* rating.

Room Tip: Check out your bathroom before you unpack! Make sure you have correct type and number of towels &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening Freda N

I am so sorry to hear about the issues you mention, please email me if this issue hasn't been rectified as I can see you like the hotel. This is not our usual standard of service so would like to put this right for you.
donnell.grandison@hbhbroadstreet.com

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there on the 28.4.14 prior to a conference I had organised. I booked 14 rooms. Every one of them was fantastic. Clean and modern and a good size. The staff were very polite. Breakfast was the usual buffet. The sausage and bacon looked like most other hotels, not great and fatty but the scrambled egg was lovely - it actually had flavour to it! Over all a great hotel at a great price. I would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening BarnyP

Thank you for your review, should you need to return or organise any further rooms etc please contact us we would be happy to help in anyway possible.
Your comments are valued and I shall without doubt pass on your compliments to the chef in regards to the scrambled egg.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this hotel. Great location. Close to train station and shopping centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Value for money. Breakfast is great. Can be very busy depending on the time. Excellent stay. Will return and recommend friends also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear elaine037


It is always fantastic when I read reviews that say they will be back and recommend friends, I believe this is a real testament to great service and I thank you for taking the time to write this and share your experience at the Hampton by Hilton Broad Street.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Safe secure parking. The standard is what one would expect from Hilton Hampton group. Very reasonably priced and a tasty breakfast with free wifi. I would definitely stay here again. Plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
HI Barney C

Thanks for the review, Its great you managed to enjoy our prime location with the bars and restaurants.
We hope you will be back in the near future to experience some more

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Hampton by Hilton 23rd to 25th April - hotel exceptionally clean, self-service breakfast was great - good choice, staff extremely helpful. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Hotel is approximately a 10-minute walk to the bullring. Even though the hotel is on a main road, there was no traffic or noise from the bars within the immediate vicinity. All in all a most enjoyable stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Good Evening Elaine H,

What a glowing review the team will be pleased with the 5 stars!!
I am so pleased to read of your stay and how you had a lovely and quiet night.
We understand how important this is, even within a city centre location so we are pleased to know we succeeded .

Hope to welcome you back very soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for three nights on business in mid-week & paid £55 per night + £10 parking, the hotel is perfectly located on Broad Street with plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

Bed and particularly the pillows were very comfortable, bathroom spotless and well equipped in fact everything about the room was perfect, couldn't have asked for more especially at the price.

Breakfast (included) was a good choice of cold and hot dishes and the staff were attentive and quick to clear away plates or top up the food dishes, in fact all of the staff that I met were very nice, smiley and helpful.

Only one niggle, just one minor point - one of the four lifts appears to have a mind of its own, in three days it never actually got me to floor 6 but just for the hell of it I tried it every day and visited every other floor in the hotel, was quite amusing in the end - its only a minor though and I will definitely return over the next few months.

Room Tip: Had room 601 at the back of the hotel (they start with number 1 on all floors), was very quiet and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi GaryKitch

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a great review. I shall certainly take your comments on board and look forward to your return .

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,755 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,983 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing