We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly there but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nearly there but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Welcome and staff are very friendly and helpful. Food i thought was bang on the money. Relatively cheap for a business orientated hotel. Its clean, relatively new and just 5 minutes away from Birmingham New Street.

I attended the hotel on business, 2 x days of high pressured meetings. I needed to perform and be to be fresh. Despite arriving late 11pm, i was able to order a pizza which hit the spot.

Sleeping and feeling fresh was my problem. I found the walls thin. With this i could hear most things from the person next door and just the way it goes, someone who stayed up late. The following evening i was kept awake my a group of hotel guests drunk, moving up and down the corridor around 12 and again 1am. Disrupted sleep. I put this down in part down to possible bad luck or given 2 disrupted nights on the trot, travellers who are either not business orientated or are hear to soak up the nightlife. For me, the lack of sleep impacted on performance, i guess it depends on whether you need value or quality.

On waking, after disruption, the water was cool or luke warm. Having questioned at reception, this would seem to be down to booking a disabled room. Our company books through a third agent and apparently they book the disabled rooms as they are slightly cheaper than the standard room. This simply means that they pocket an extra profit. This is partly for me to challenge back with our third party but if youre looking for a hot shower, make sure youve not booked into a disabled room.

The jury is out for me. 2 x nights on business equated to 4 hours sleep all in all. Whether its the fault of the hotel im not 100% sure but as a result, its just not quite there.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a disabled if you're looking for a hot shower. Water temp. Is set to cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Surrey_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_DeputyGM, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear 4Surrey_Travellers
Thank you for your fair review of the hotel.
I am sorry you were not 100% happy with your stay and I will review your feedback with the team. Our maintenance will look at the regulator in the rooms to ensure they are delivering the correct safe water temperature consistently to the rooms.
Unfortunately I cannot comment on the third party agent you booked with, if this is something they are doing then that would have to be something you would have to contact them about.
I am pleased the team welcomed you and were friendly during your 2 night stay.
Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Deputy General Manager
Chris.trow@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    1,174
    381
    115
    85
See reviews for
346
1,080
108
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked one night in this hotel. It's very conveniently located in the centre of the city and handy for the National Indoor Arena. Unfortunately, on this occasion the hotel became fully booked out by a large number of people aiming to spend the evening at a massive party at one of tha many nightclubs on broad street. This might not have been a problem had our 17th. floor room been located exactly opposite the lifts with a fire door right outside. A lot of coming and going, and noise throughout the night. Now even this might have been bearable had it not been for the closer on the fire door being broken such that instead of closing slowly and quietly, this massive fireproof door slammed heavily back into the frame every time someone passed through - at 5 minute intervals throughout the night. A call to reception at about 2:00 AM brought no relief. At 3:00 AM we gave up, checked out, and headed home.

In fairness to the hotel, they readily agreed a full refund. It only took another 4 weeks dealing with a sullenly unhelpful Expedia to actually get our money back.

The hotel should note that a faulty door closer is a major safety problem - the heavy door can easily slam shut on a person's hand and cause serious injury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_DeputyGM, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear RichardMer

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay due to other guests within the hotel.
I am pleased the team agreed to refund your stay immediately, however I cannot comment on third party agents like Expedia.
We had reported the door to the company that maintains the door shutters to have this repaired. Due to the nature of the door we cannot wedge it open; this breaks all health and safety laws.
I do apologise again that this disturbed your nights sleep.
Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Deputy General Manager
Chris.trow@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My only complaint about this Hotel is how hot the rooms get but it is not a biggie , staff are amazingly friendly and cheerful and honestly could not fault anything else about the Hotel itself.
However we did book 3 nights and after 1 night we had to leave to come home very quickly due to a family matter, my Husband in our rush to get packed etc and get home forgot he had his Mobile phone on charge and we left without it. We didn't realise until we got home and phoned to ask if we could pay for postage and packaging and it to be sent on and were told it wasn't a problem they would forward it to us .. Great or so we thought! The Charger arrived today, it was sent in an ordinary paper envelope that had a see through window , the see through window had a giant hole in it and there was no phone, so we not only lost the money we paid for 3 nights (no complaint or fault of the Hotel at all) but we have now lost his phone, to send a charger and Mobile phone in a paper envelope is really reckless but hey I suppose us leaving it are to blame :-(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Diane K

I am sorry to hear that you had a family emergency and had to rush away from the hotel, I hope everything is okay now.

In regards to the charger sent in the post, I would like to discuss this further with you. Please email me.

donnell.grandison@hbhbroadstreet.com

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great location as right on broad street, decent checkout time and great views from the 7th floor! Room was quite warm and weird set up with reception on the 3rd floor! Bathroom was massive and room was very clean! Loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnellGrandison, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear covlad1987

I am so pleased to read how you loved the Hampton experience.
I shall be sending your comments around our team and heads of departments, I can assure you they will be over the moon.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Needing stopover after concert at Symphony Hall, and having previously stayed at an extremely noisy Travelodge, tried the Broad Street Hilton this time round. Suited us much better. Secure and convenient car parking to begin with, followed by extremely spacious and wonderfully quiet (OK, the air conditioning did hum a bit - but not enough to bother me - and you could turn it off) and well appointed room - with really comfortable bed and plenty enough pillows. And, there were so many good things, a great walk in shower. All in all we felt extremely spoiled - and all at a reasonable price - and it included breakfast! As much as you wanted and suitable for my husband's full English taste - and for my healthy options! (well, apart from the croissants - but that's my treat). And all the staff were v helpful - and they all seemed to be singing from the same song sheet. All in all highly recommended for a central Birmingham overnight that's an oasis of calm in an extremely noise Broad Street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_DeputyGM, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Julia H
What a great review!!
Thank you so much for the feedback, the team and I are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed your stay and all the elements of the stay including breakfast.
We hope to see you both very soon.
(p.s no one saw you eat the croissant so it’s our little secret)
Chris Trow
Deputy General Manager
Chris.trow@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here 19th June as part of a 9 room business booking. Initially booked for location to attend an evening event at the ICC which is easily reached by a 5 min walk. First impressions very good, plenty of secure on site parking, friendly welcome & easy check-in. Room perfectly adequate for an overnight stay, nice bathroom with walk-in shower, good storage space, mirrors, plug points, TV, tea/coffee & nice comfy bed. I returned early hours of the morning, hotel very quiet - perfect for a good nights sleep. I didn't have breakfast but colleagues said it was good. Will stay again if in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_DeputyGM, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Amanda S
We are all thrilled that you and your colleagues enjoyed the stay you had while attending the ICC down the road.
We are ideally located for this and I am pleased you found that too.
We look forward to seeing you and your colleagues again soon.
Chris Trow
Deputy General Manager
Chris.trow@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having stayed at the Hamton by Hilton in Derby we were excited to book at this location but were disappointed by this site. The rooms were only half the size as the ones in Derby - supposedly due to the fact that Birmingham is a far busier city than Derby and space is premium? Also the rooms had an odd smell which we believe was due to the filter in the air con which the panel stated needed changing. We did contact reception - the staff were much obliging and changed our room but we experienced the same problem - we were told that this was a matter for house=keeping and not to worry. The air con was very inadequate and the room was extremely hot - we were given a fan by the staff but it didn't really help to cool the room. As always the breakfast was brilliant and the staff here are lovely. It's just suprising how different hotels in the same chain but different locations can be.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 17th floor and the views are ace but be prepared for a very stuffy and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_DeputyGM, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear DerbyshireBliss

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay.
I am sorry that you experienced some issues with the Air con during your stay. We are working hard to get this sorted. I am pleased thou to read that the team tried for you and found them all helpful and lovely. These are the hardest things to get right but seems the team have got the service correct.
Once the air con is rectified you will enjoy the hotel and the faith in the brand will be restored.
I do hope you will return and give the team the pleasure to look after you again.
Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Chris.trow@hbhbroadstreet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing