We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's Ok.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here on Monday 26th Of Septemeber 2011,and It was ok.
Few things let the hotel down; the room was extremely dusty, looked like it had been cleaned and nobody had stayed in there for a while. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and both me and my partner had little sleep. The room service we had ordered to the room was cold, yet was a "warm chocolate brownie" and the hot chocolate looked like muddy water and didn't taste a thing like hot chocolate, so god knows what had happened to it.
We booked a queen size room with lake view but were given a double bed and a small view of the lake. We didnt see the need to complain there and then as we were there for only 1 night.
However, the credit to the hotel were the staff, the 2 women who helped us on our stay at reception were lovely, warming and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble!!!
I would recommend this as an over night stay especially if going to NEC, as great location and quick access to Birmingham City Centre, but I wouldnt recommed it for a long stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msage18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments through Trip Advisor.
After reading your post I was concerned to hear that you felt our room standards were not those of 4 star, which I apologise for. I have passed these comments onto our housekeeping team who will look further into this problem.
I have also made our food and beverage manager aware of the poor quality room service you received which again is not acceptable, please accept my apologies for this.
Its great news to hear that our front of house team made you feel welcome, our team do have a great sense of arrival which makes such a difference to our experience at the NEC.
Il look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    690
    293
    111
    72
See reviews for
172
526
67
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed here with my son and his friend (teenagers) in a twin queen sized bed room. Room was great value: we had a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal which gave us £25 each to spend in the restaurant.
There was a fixed price menu offering 3 choices of three courses, which I found excellent value. The boys as typical teenagers struggled somewhat but did find excellent dishes on the a la carte.
Staff were very good, helpful with local information and travel. Our one request was dealt with immediately.
I would say that if you are airport bound or attending an event at the NEC (we were) then this is a great place to stay.
Only draw back is that there are no entertaiment facilities at the hotel or the NEC (beyond the halls of course). No cinemas, no pool etc.This meant the boys were pretty bored until we got the bus to Solihull multiplex.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squish50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We do find a lot of our guests stay with us because of the location in regards to the NEC complex or the airport so i can see why you feel a little disappointed relating to entertainment. Although Solihull is 15 minutes away, you can also catch a train from Birmingham International into the town centre where there are plenty more activities only 20 minutes away.
Please do not hesitate to speak to the knowledgeable staff on reception or anywhere in the hotel for more ideas!

Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for staying and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel after returning from our holiday and we booked it specifically as it had a free shuttle to and from the airport. What the webiste dosent say is that this is run subject to availability and has to be booked in advance, Hence we then had to drag 2 heavy suitcases across the NEC to the hotel. In doing this we discovered that there is no decent signage to the hotel entrance and we ended up going through bushes with our cases. Not exactly the relaxing end to our holiday. The hotel itself was nice and the staff friendly but free internet would have been helpful as we needed to travel check details for the next part of our journey.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on our Trip Advisor page.
I do apologise our shuttle service was not available to you, we do state that it is 'subject to availability', however if you did not find it on our website i will check and make sure it is displayed clearly for our next guests. Thank you for pointing this out.

With regards to the internet, we do charge for this £5 for 1 hour and £16 for 24 hours. However if you did just want to check something about your next journey we will of course assist with this on the front desk as and when you need!
Sorry that we were not as helpful as you would have liked.

I hope you will think of us again when visiting the area.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel on our return from Malta. we arrived back around 12.30am and the man at the reception was really friendly and helpful. As we had not booked breakfast he informed us that if we decided to in the morning it would be cheaper to book it at the front desk than to pay at the restaurant. When arriving at our room we were surprised at how lovely our room was with complimentary bottled water and chocolates, plus aroma therapy sprays to put on pulse points and spray on the pillow for a restful nights sleep, what a lovely idea.Unbelievably we only payed £49 for 15 days parking plus the room for the night this was through Holiday Extras but we would pay the full price if we had to next time

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minder0192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

It seems our park, stay and go offer is very popular at the moment with alot of our guests using us, which is fantastic, and its great that you felt the same too.

Please do think of us again when either going on holiday or visiting the NEC or LG arena, we have some great offers coming soon.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
285 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Almost everything was perfect. The service; the attention, the bedroom, the meal; breakfast, etc. It seems better that the Hilton. The only negatives are: having to pay for parking and no free internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your great comments about us!
I will make sure all your comments get passed onto our hard working team.
We do pride ourselves on our great service and our contemporary rooms to ultimately make us a great hotel guests love.

Hope to see you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Had a flight from Birmingham international and we used this hotel for the night before we went and parking for the duration of our holiday.
the hotel is everything you would expect but the service to and from the airport was excellent and well run.
If you are looking for a Hotel around Birmingham nec or airport this is a good one.
One night in the hotel and 15 nights parking cost £45.can't be beat

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response on our Trip Advisor page.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt that we were value for money.
we do feel our park, stay and go option is such a good way to travel and eases the stress the night before your holiday.

Thanks again, hope to see you here again soon!
Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here the night before flying from Birmingham Airport on a park and fly deal booked through Holiday Extras. The hotel was a top secret hotel which represented excellent value for money. It was easy to find and the car parking was hazzle free - a very large car park with plenty of spaces. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel transfers to the airport worked out very well and the return from the airport to the hotel was very quick and efficient.

The only slight downside we found was at check in, the very friendly and efficient receptionist offered us the chance of 20% off the restaurant food bill if we joined the Priority Club. As we intended to eat in the hotel we took up this offer only to find that when we came to pay there was a clause in the small print which said the offer only applied to the a la carte menu and not the table d'hote. A small point but we felt this was a bit misleading as the receptionist did not point this out to us at the time and the large print quite clearly says "20% off your restaurant food bill". That said, the food and ambience in the bar area, which was used as the restaurant that evening due to low numbers staying overnight, was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning. The next time we fly from Birmingham we shall definitely try to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lind012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us at The Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC.
Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time with us, especially using the facilites of staying with us for the night, leaving your car and the airport shuttle service. This has been very popular with us this year and we hope that you will think to stay here again when going on holiday!
I apologise for you not being able to use your priority club voucher while dining in the restaurant, i will pass onto my team to make sure that they confirm this when enrolling our guests into priority club, so thank you for mentioning this.

Thank you again for your positive feedback!
Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing