We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for NEC events”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location for NEC events”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed a night in the Crowne Plaza as we were attending the UFC event in the NEC. The hotel is 5 mins walk for the arena and the arena is connected to the airport via a free rail service that runs very frequently. Our room had a fantastic view of the lake! The staff were friendly and very informative. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfasr served was of a very good standard. Birmingham city centre is a 10 min train journey away and so easily accessible. All in all I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone artending events at the arena

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboJones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience here while attending the LG Arena.
The UFC was a particularly busy time for us with also the NEC busy, but we are in such a prime location and pride ourselves in our hospitality- why wouldnt we be!

Make sure you check our website and the NEC to see when the next events are and make sure you come and say hello to us again!

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    698
    295
    114
    73
See reviews for
174
530
69
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed for 1 night whilst my better half was attending a seminar held at the hotel. It was a gorgeous weekend so I spent most of my time outside by the adjacent lake, trying to catch a suntan. I did also spend a fair amount of time in the rather large bar. Unfortunately at it's peak there might have only been another 10 people in there. Service was fine but nothing special. Location is fine if you are heading to the NEC or maybe using the airport, otherwise is kind of out of the way. Room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor post.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay even though it wasnt our usual busy period.
As you said we do pride ourselves on our location to the NEC, LG Arena and airport but you are correct in saying we are not central birmingham. Eventhough a short train journey to Birmingham city centre is only 15 minutes away!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Crowne Plaza.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We went to the NEC Craft Fair for 3 days arrived Friday morning at about 0730 had a nice Breakfast then strolled over to the NEC went to back to the hotel at about 1630 to book in which is hassle free, the room as usual was excelent except the mattress was too soft (not a moan) but we like a firm one.The evening meal we had a bar meal was very good People moan about the prices of the food and drink but hey if you dont like go somewhere else, i never look at the prices......( if you have to look at the price you cannot really afford to stay there) over all a very good stay will be back next November.......

Room Tip: Book it.......Near to the NEC complex........ once you get to the station 11 mins to Brum
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quitemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience here at the NEC.

There were many guests staying with us last weekend for many NEC or LG arena shows and its always great to hear when we receive good feedback, so thank you!

I will look forward to welcoming you back in November 2012.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

visited as next to lg arena, good car parking facilities, nice easy check in / out by efficient friendly staff, very nice spacious room, excellent breakfast, with friendly staff.
would certainly recomend for anyone lg areana or nec.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racingstable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay with us last weekend!

It was a busy weekend for us with the UFC taking place at the LG arena but even better to hear that even though we were busy you still got the Crowne Plaza experience.

I will make sure i pass on all your comments to the team for a job well done!

Thanks again.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards

Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

All was going so well at this hotel for my stay on 5/11/11. When I first checked in, I was delighted - the room was a tad small & on the pricey side @£101.00 a night - but this was a well deserved treat after seeing the UFC event at the nearby LG Arena.... It was tidy, modern, stylish, & seemingly tidy & clean.
After the event, I returned to my room - I pulled back the duvet & was disgusted at what I saw. A horrible yellow/brown stain on the duvet, & several black pubic hairs scattered around the sheet on the bed. It was now 11 o'clock at night & the hotel was full, with little OR no chance of a room change.
I went to the front desk, & asked to speak to the duty manager. I tried to explain the problem, but the gentleman concerned was of foreign origin, couldn't understand me when I explained what type of hair I had found in the bed. After several attempts of saying 'pubic hair...' & him going "I'm sorry, what type of hair?". It got awkward & embarrassing both for myself, & the people stood around the front desk. I tried whispering, & I stated firmly & loudly.... It was cringe worthy embarrassing for me. In the end I grabbed his note pad & wrote it down. Terrible. He offered me a free drink or some food by way of compensation. I accepted some food & decided to leave it at that. I was too tired after a long day to kick up a needless fuss... For little or no point. The duty manager assured me house-keeping would be there immediately to sort out the problem. After a 20 minute wait he appeared himself with clean sheets & a duvet cover & seemingly just wanted to pass them me. He looked a tad surprised when I said that "I'm not making it!!" I stepped aside & left him too it - it must have taken the poor guy a good 10+ minutes to put the clean bedding on. I jokingly saiid to him that his wife must make the beds at home.... A joke seemingly lost on him.
Not a bad stay all in all - I would stay here again if at the arena - it's so convenient. I'd just check the bed more closely on check-in & not at gone 11.00pm at night

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting onto Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed to hear that on further inspection of your bedroom late at night to find unacceptable and poor standards, please accept my sincere apologies for this.

I am aware of your complaint as this was passed to me by the night duty manager and trust in when i say this has been escalated and is currently being investigated as to why this was missed on inspection of the room.
Thank you for making our duty manager aware of this to rectify any future problems.

I do hope you will consider us as your first hotel pick when staying in the area again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me when you are due to stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here with a friend as we were visiting the LG for a concert. Hotel was so close to the LG its only a few minutes walk but its a nice walk alongside the lake...Ideal! definately cannot fault it on location so easy to find aswell straight off the M5.
Plenty of car parking spaces when we arrived at 2pm, check in was really quick and the staff were really nice.
Room was fine a little bit battered as in the furniture has a few knocks and scrapes but clean enough and the bed was soo comfy i wanted to take it home so got a really great sleep after a long day!!
i thought the food ect was a bit pricy at the hotel but it is in any hotel so didnt bother me too much.
All in all had a great stay and would definately come back i paid £35pppn would probably pay £50pppn at the very most though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimeosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Its always good news to hear when a guest has enjoyed their experience as it means we are keeping our standards a high priority and striving to create great hotels guests love.

I have taken your comments on board in regards to the furniture seeming a bit worn, hopefully its something our maintenance team can rectify.
Our beds are extremely comfy- like you i wish i could take one home too!

Il look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Take care

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It's the best hotel near the NEC. Not near downtown Birmingham, that's a trip, but if you're going to be doing a show at the convention center, this is where to be.

While our trip wasn't without hiccups, the front desk & hotel management defined hospitality in endeavoring to make things go right. The problem was that there was an unseasonal heat wave & the a/c didn't work in the rooms, windows barely opened & we suffered. The staff did their level best, but Birmingham just isn't accustom to 80º+ days.

The Restaurant & bar were quite the opposite. Don't eat there. Expensive & lousy service, food was only so-so. Actually food was MUCH better at the Holiday Inn down the road. (but i wouldn't stay at that HI).

Room Tip: We liked the Suite, it was roomy. We had reserved the two double bed room, but it was far too cramp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateHughes, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback through Trip Advisor.

I enjoyed reading your comments, thank you for understanding about our air conditioning, it did not cope very well that weekend- especially with the likelihood of Birmingham reaching 80 degrees like you said.
It is disappointing to hear that you didnt enjoy your food and beverage experience I will make sure I pass this on to our food and beverage manager, I would like to hear more detail about your complaint to make sure we can rectify it for the future. I would appreciate you contacting the hotel to discuss if you wouldnt mind.

Thank you again for your positive comments about your suite.

Kind Regards
Kate Hughes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,793 reviews
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,361 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing