We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade Show Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great welcome, polite friendly & efficient reception staff. Room was clean, well laid out & perfect for our requirements - we cannot blame the hotel for the fact that our lake view was obscurred by the thick fog that descended!!! We ate in Pendigo's Restaurant & would highly recommend the fillet steak - as dedicated foodies we both agree it was a fine example of good unpretentious cooking - btw an excellent peppercorn sauce! The restaurant staff gave efficient & attentive service. The hotel is well placed for NEC events - just a pleasant lakeside stroll away. Our stay was very comfortable - would recommend. OK so you have to pay for parking but...........

Room Tip: Go for a Queen Bed with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such positive feedback following your recent stay.
It's always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their guest experience with us and I pleased that you found the Reception and Restaurant staff to b polite, efficient and friendly .
I shall forward you comments on to Chef and his team regarding your dining experience with us. I am glad that your room was well presented and I can only apologise that your view was obscured by thick fog.
I am glad that you found our location to suit your needs and I hope that next time you stay with us, we have clear skies so you can enjoy the view a little more.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a great hotel; very modern, airy and spacious. The bedrooms are ample, very well appointed and fitted out. For the business user the desk space is good and well lit.

The bar area is good for socialising with or without a drink. The hotel's food is good, attractively presented and delivered with good service.

If you're at or near the NEC or need to be within a stone's throw of Birmingham this is a superb hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJSWWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a glowing report of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found the bedroom to be well presented, spacious and suitable for your needs. I shall forward your compliments to our Food & Beverage team as i'm sure they will be pleased to know that the food was served to our Crowne Plaza high standards.
As you mentioned we are in an ideal location for anyone attending events at the NEC or LG Arena as well as being a short train journey from Birmingham City Centre.
I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Only one room available when we arrived, though we had booked two. The reception staff were disorganised and spent over 40 mins going back and forth trying to sort it out without keeping us informed and the duty manager appeared to not care less. We accept that it was during Horse of the Year Show and was probably very busy time, but still poorly managed. No childs bed set up and had to go to reception three times to request extra bedding as staff were changing over and didnt pass on the request. The restaurant was expensive and the food was not of a high standard to warrent that price, though the restaurant staff were particularly friendly.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendalCCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us.
I can only apologise for the delays you experienced at check-in and that the Reception team appeared disorganised. I am also sorry that the request for the child's bed to be made up was not carried out upon the first request.
It is disheartening to hear that the food was not prepared to our usual high standard, I shall forward your comments on the Chef to follow up on with his team. However, I am pleased that you found the restaurant staff friendly.
We take all feedback from our guests seriously, and I shall be looking into the issues you experienced at the front desk.
I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed for one night after watching the horse of the year show. The room was lovely, very clean and well presented (we had a room overlooking the lake), it was very comfortable and when we realised we did not have a kettle in the room it was quickly rectified.
Breakfast was quite good but having hot plates would have helped!
However, a downside was a strange whirring noise which went on all night long and disturbed our sleep, we never did work out what it was!!
We will be staying here again very soon as it is perfectly placed for going to a concert and avoids all the chaos of getting out at the end of the night - a short walk and you are back to the bar in the hotel.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, Laura on reception was lovely and really took the time to chat to us and make sure we were happy with our stay, well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoudJezebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that your room was comfortable and well presented, and that you had the added bonus of a Lake View room. I am sorry that you encountered a 'whirring noise' in your room during your stay. It is great to know that all the staff were helpful and friendly, and i shall pass your comments on to Laura as it is always rewarding for the staff to know when they have done well and been mentioned by name by our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Pros: Very clean hotel
Cons: Check in time is 2pm, we eventually got our room at 5pm, because it hadn't been cleaned. It wasn't just us either, there were more people waiting for rooms as well. We sat in the bar and waited 20 minutes to be served and then the barman had to go down to the basement to get a bottle opener.(same again on the 2nd day). I ordered a desert after having a meal in the bar and after half an hour asked where it was, to be told by the waitress,she'd forgotten to order it.
Overall I'd say lack of staff, extremely bad communication and organisation. We took a walk to the Hilton, which is 5minutes away and totally different, they couldn't have been more on the ball.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
I would like to apologise for your room not being ready upon your arrival and that you had to wait for quite some time for this to be rectified.
I am also sorry for the service you received in the Bar, and I can assure that this is not our usual level of service. We take all feedback seriously so I shall be forwarding your comments on to our Food & Beverage manager for review.
I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel couldn't do enough to help us. We stayed prior to our holiday and parked the car for 16 days. We had free transport to the airport and were picked up efficiently. We also had transport to the train station so that we could spend the day at Birmingham's Bull Ring. We were also collected from the station as well. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous at all times. The room was clean andwell presented and the bathroom was spotless. Will definitely book there again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is always pleasing to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay and will be returning to us in the future.
I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating and that you utilised our shuttle service.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked this hotel as a hotel stay and park via Holiday Extras for a 1 night stay with 2 weeks parking. We originally booked the executive lounge at Birmingham Airport and received an email weeks later offering an extra 10% off their hotel/car park deals. We found this hotel dressed up as a Mystery Hotel - but cleverly if you look at the reviews, they all tell you its the Crown Plaza. This deal was a steal at just over £60 with the discount!

Can't fault this hotel, bed was comfy. No concerns with the room whatsoever. Didn't eat at the hotel as we met up with family for the evening and visited the Wetherspoons in Airport for breakfast. Our shuttle to the Airport was a Merc private hire cab. However my only complaint - and this is not the hotel's fault - is it's not exactly walk-able at 3am! Birmingham International Station locks its doors to the NEC/LG Arena and thus the short walk then turns to a long one. What's annoying is that its all signposted walkable "hotels" but yet you find the doors for the bridge locked. Not the hotel's fault but if management read this, I think this should be looked into. Pointless walking signs for hotels you can only access during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bb0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such positive feedback following your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you utilised one of our excellent Park, Stay and Fly deals and that you found your room to be comfortable. I am sorry that you had to take a longer walk around the NEC to get back to the hotel, and I shall certainly look into this.
I hope that you choose to stay with us again the future.
Many Thanks
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £68 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing