We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milked like a cow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
lincoln, uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Milked like a cow”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of the hotel having had a good stay to discover a £16 charge for wifi and £10 charge for parking! What the..... That's so cheeky. When I challenged it I was told by a lovely lady on reception that she agreed but could do nothing about it. Great location for the NIA, but prepare to be milked like a cow!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pauldwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear pauldwhyte,

thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us. I fully understand the concerns regarding the wifi and car parking charges, however, our hotel is in line with any other properties on the NEC complex .
Why not book a Concert Package next time you are staying with us, the package includes a 3 course meal, overnight accommodation, Full English and Continental Breakfast and car parking? Just give our in house reservations team a call

I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future and I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    690
    293
    111
    72
See reviews for
172
526
67
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Kings of Leon concert at LG arena. Very nice hotel with very polite and efficient staff. Sat outside having a drink (or two) before the concert. We had a bite to eat from the bar menu - it was ok although the spicy curry was very mild and the fries were limp, cold and soggy. Rooms very nice and quite spacious with bottled water, biscuits and chocs. The walk to the LG arena took us 2 mins along by the lake - I am sure it would only take 5 mins to the NEC. Breakfast was good with the normal breakfast items. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcoengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Mcoengland,

thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay when going to the concert and that we were conveniently located for your needs.

We do hope to welcome you again to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Booked into this Hotel by the organizers of a trade show I represent in India. The location is perfect if you have work at the NEC. Check in and out were handled professionally (read unemotionally) which is quite OK as it is more of a business hotel. I am the one to enjoy the journey and much as the destination and must particularly mention the walk from the Hotel via the foot path embracing the Pedingo lake is most lovely. I found this very relaxing especially after a hard days work and being a bit home sick (in spite of the freezing temperature and gusty winds). The breakfast served was adequate and the staff nice. Also had a dinner one of the nights which was quite OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Vagabondanil,

thank you very much for your positive review on your stay with us in February.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay while attending the trade show at the NEC and that the walk to our hotel made you feel more relaxed.

I do hope that you will stay with us again in future when working at shows at the NEC.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed on business as working at an exhibition at the NEC - location great therefore. Happy enough with the hotel for business use, particularly as others around the NEC are pretty poor. Good things are: very comfy bed, great shower, clean room, good breakfast, nice bar meal. Bad things are the details: not enough check in staff on checkin and checkout (the manager came out to help with quick checkout but glad I didn't checkout using that as my bill was wrong with a phone charge and newspaper charge added - this took a while to sort out correctly); seriously ridiculous wifi charges (when are hotels going to realise that mobile roaming provides the same service generally - I am not going to pay £10 for 1 hour of continuous use of wifi, I want to dip in and dip out of using wifi); need to remember to take voucher down to breakfast.
I would stay again if working at the NEC but would find somewhere else otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Ellough,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the bed, the shower, the breakfast and the bar meal with us and that you are happy for using the hotel for business purposes.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the Internet prices. We will be passing the comments on to our head office so that they can review these.

I do hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a good location for the NEC or eastern Birmingham. There is not much in the vicinity of this hotel if you fancy eating out for example. After much searching I was struggling to find anything. Eventually found a Toby Carvery quite close which I think is pretty much the only option, so google that if you have the same problem!

There is plenty of parking but it is an extra £10/night. When I nipped out after checking in staff were helpful and quickly sorted me a free token to get out.

This is a good standard mid range hotel. A comfy nights sleep with no real outstanding quality, but just decent enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Paul-and-Marie,

thank you for your time in providing feedback about your stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in July.

I do hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

First time at a Crowne Plaza hotel. My room was well furnished with a comfy bed and a bath/ shower that was spot on too. Breakfast was above average and the staff were very attentive. I cannot understand the need to charge £10 a day for parking and £25 for 2 days WiFi access. So beware of the hidden costs.

Room Tip: Try to get to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabren1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Dabren1963,

thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff attentive.

I do hope that you will come back in the near future and enjoy another night in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect if you are going to the LG arena as I was, but apart from that it was a massive disappointment. I paid £109 for 1 nights stay with no breakfast or evening meal included. The room was average size and the furnishings looked really tired. There were holes in the bedding, the lighting was old and scruffy and there were areas where paint had chipped off. We had the carvery as our evening meal which cost £25 per person and to be honest I have eaten better food at a motorway service station. The room was clean and quiet but was just not worth the amount we paid. If the price had been £40 lower or if there had been breakfast included I would definitely give it a higher rating but for the price, this hotel is poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick19651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Rick19651,

thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry that you felt your stay with us was a disappointment and that you did not get the service that you would expect of a Crowne Plaza.
We are aiming at providing excellent customer service and value for money to all of our guests and please accept my sincere apologies if your room and the food were not up to standard during your stay.

I do hope that you will give us a try again when you are in the area and I am looking forward seeing you soon again at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing