We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location for NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here after a concert in March last year and although it was a little tricky to get to on foot in the dark alone, I loved it.

The room was brilliant - the little touches made it even better such as the lavender sprays left on the pillows and decent toiletries in the bathroom. The room service was also very good - I ordered way after 11pm and there was still a fair amount of choice.

The rest of the Hotel itself was well presented and everyone I spoke to was helpful. If I had a longer stay I would have been able to appreciate it all a lot more!

If i'm ever at a concert/event in Birmingham again - i'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Suzanne C,

thank you very much for your review regarding your stay in March last year.

It is good to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that you will be staying with us again when you are going to another concert.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stopped here overnight for a new year eve bash. Room was large enough, good décor, clean and tidy with all you would expect e.g. t.v. hairdryer tea and coffee, towelling robes, safe etc. even an ironing board and trouser press. Sound insulation in our room (and I presume all others too) was excellent. We didn't hear anything from either outside or from other hotel guests.
Always seemed to be a member of staff to advise or help out and they were without exception polite and friendly.
Our food was part of the party deal so was probably not typical, however it was excellent in terms of quality and quantity. Dinner was a buffet and the variety was more than I would have dreamt of. Again always staff hovering to clear up or help out with untiring efficiency. As we entered for breakfast the following day, we were greeted and asked what we would like to drink. After that food was a buffet style again and again a wide variety of choice and top quality. We were never short of hot drinks and self serve juices.
They have a small gym with a couple of jogging machines, a rower, two cycles and a multi purpose weight machine. Nothing excessive but enough to burn off the overindulgence at the dinner table. They also have a small sauna which you need to ask reception to switch on half an hour before you need it. Everything was in good order and showers and changing room clean and tidy with plenty of towels.
The only reason for not giving it full marks is the fact that there is quite a heavy charge for wi fi connection. Presumably this is because the location and standard of the hotel means it is a target for business trips and they can just add the cost onto the expense sheet. Also the bar prices are a bit steep presumably for the same reason as the wi fi charges. Looking at the food menu it isn't cheap but then the quality of food as I said above, is first rate.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to go back there so long as I wasn't watching the pennies - but then you get what you pay for I guess.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brummywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear brummywag,

thank you very much for leaving such good feedback regarding your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you had a brilliant time at the New Year's Eve party and that food, atmosphere and service were all up to your expectations.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We chose this Hotel when visiting friends and relations on either side of Birmingham. It was just after Christmas, and we found an excellent deal via the website for DBB. The hotel was very quiet with few guests, but the service we received was first class. All the staff were anxious to please, from reception to housekeeping and restaurant. As there were so few guests, the restaurant was closed for dinner, but we had a good meal in the bar on both night's stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Richard T,

thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay.

It is great to hear that you received excellent service during your stay and that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night here but would have been very happy to stay longer. I got an excellent rate, probably because there was no event taking place at the adjacent NEC.

The hotel is very near Birmingham Airport, and an excellent alternative to the hotels actually on site at the airport (which are all owned by the same group and provide no competition in terms of pricing).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Linda1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Linda1892,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay and I am very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always worth having a look at our hotel website for special offers from accommodation when you are back in the area.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near NEC and airport.
Visited just pre-Christmas, attention was brought to decoration and music for the season.
Staff is helpfull.
Food at the pub is convenient.
Room is not large but enough for your stay given that you are not planning to stay inside.
Still I found that the hotel is lacking "personnality", the atmosphere is very neutral.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XavierMelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear XavierMelisse,

thank you for leaving your review regarding your stay.

I do hope that you will come and stay with us again when you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Yes as i said it was a nice clean and friendly hotel, stayed the night after a xmas party, unfortunately a few of our party had got double booked rooms so not of to a very good start,the food was ok i certainly had better, the bed was for me too hard one night was more than enough, breakfast was adequate beer prices was way too high, personally i wouldn't rush back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Eric T,

thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied with your stay with us and I am sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again.
I can assure you that we always strive to provide excellent customer service to our guest and I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Attend the Christmas party took advantage of a reduced price package offered with the party tickets and stayed overnight 21st December 2013. The room was a descent size well furnished, clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and unlike some other reports I think the building site next door have broken up for Christmas so no noise at all.
We had lunch in the bar was good and dinner was included in the party package. Breakfast was very good with just about everything you could want.
The staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful even when very busy they still had a smile and did their best to keep so very thirsty party guests happy.
Excellent value for money will stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamworth_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Tamworth_Traveler,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas party at our hotel and that our staff was attentive, friendly and helpful.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing