We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location for NEC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location for NEC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Crowne Plaza making the concert experience at the LG Arena very easy as its only a 5 minute walk. The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient and we were booked in without an issue. The room was fine, modern, well equipped and comfortable. We did experience the restaurant for a snack which was of good quality and nicely presented plus went there for drinks after the concert. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with a varied self service hot & cold menu and very attentive staff. All in all a good stay and so much less hassle than driving back late!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear markyb_10,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay.

It is brilliant to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    663
    280
    104
    68
See reviews for
167
505
66
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldwick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza several times whilst in the area on business and it delivers a consistently good standard. The reception staff are very friendly and efficient, apologising for the fact that I had to wait to check in on my latest visit due to a number of guests arriving at the same time. Too often this happens at large hotels and the customer's wait is completely ignored.

The rooms are very well furnished and equipped and I have always found the food to be of a good standard. My only negative comment would be the excessive charges the hotel make for use of the wi-fi - so many hotels now offer this for free that they need to reconsider their policy in my opinion. It certainly stops me from giving what is otherwise an excellent hotel a top rating.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Richard C,

thank you very much for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you a regular guest to our hotel and that you are enjoying your time with us.
I am very sorry about the charge for the wifi, I can fully understand your point and I am very sorry that we are not able to provide complimentary wifi for our guests.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Once again we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, NEC, Birmingham, for one night leaving the car parked in their hotel car park for twentyone nights whilst we flew from Birmingham to Cyprus in January 2014. The booking process was done efficiently and in a very friendly way, the reception staff on arrival were warm and welcoming and eager to please and the room faultless. We decided on a meal in the bar restaurant and it was served speedily and in an attractive style, the food as before was delicious and priced reasonably.

The star of the show though was a lovely young man called Jonathan Jones who greeted us on our return on a wet cold night. He helped my husband load our luggage into the boot of our car even though he was getting rained on himself and he still managed to make us feel we were the most important guests he'd greeted that evening. He had charm and warmth and we hope he goes far, what we liked particularly about Jonathan was that he was genuine and in no way over- bearing or intrusive. He brightened up a nasty old British winter's evening.

Room Tip: Room excellent, large comfy beds, everything you'd need for a night's stay, staff eager to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singaporedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Singaporedreamer,

thank you so much for your time in giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that you fully enjoyed your time with us and that Jonathan provided you with excellent service.
I hope you will be staying with us again soon when you fly out from Birmingham.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I am a regular visitor to Crowne Plaza NEC Birmingham and always find it quite comfortable and relaxing. Staff is top notch and rooms are really nice and comfortable. I love the extras they include with every room : Bath robe, chocolates, free water, Sleep well air freshners and comforters etc. Also comes with Sky Sports. The only blemish is break fast which can be improved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomanSattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear NomanSattar,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great to hear that you are staying with us on a regular basis and that you are enjoying your time with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst working at a trade show at the NEC. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the main halls, along a scenic lake path.
Reception staff were great. It was no problem to print out my boarding pass for my return flight. The table d'hote meal our group had each night was good, with attentive service. Breakfast was excellent.
Bedrooms are clean and spacious, with great bathrooms, comfy sofas, and lovely little touches like complimentary mineral water and little chocolates.
My main gripe was the cost of drinks in the bar - £11.30 for a large gin and tonic. I noticed today whilst doing my shopping that I could buy a 70cl bottle of Gordon's gin for £11.00!!

I also had an issue with lost property. I left behind an item, so I called reception and housekeeping two hours after I'd checked out to advise them its exact description and location. Strangely, this was never recovered :-(

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear carlislecat,

thank you very much for your time in leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the reception staff were great. It sounds like you had a good time with us.
I am very sorry about the lost property and that it has not been recovered.

I am hoping to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hotel is nice, stayed 1 night for business meeting, when you book the and pay for the wifi through their conference package, what they don't tell you is that, it's only valid from the start and finishing time of the meeting. What a con!

If you're vegetarian, the option they had was gnocchi in cheese sauce, found the sauce was too strong, had to order chips to compensate. Would be nice if they had a tomato based sauce with spices or some other flavourings.

We had something leaving for the train, asked at reception whats the best way to get there, they said taxi, they didn't even say they have a free shuttle bus to take them to the station.
That was very bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank din26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear din26,

thank you very much for you feedback regarding your stay.

I am sorry that there have been a few issues during your stay and that you could not fully enjoy your time with us. I will be discussing your feedback with my team so that we can get these areas of concern sorted and improved.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
386 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Got a decent rate for this hotel on trip advisor and breakfast was included...service was great, breakfast was good, room was nice staff all seemed very nice...only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars was because they charge for the internet...it really should be free in my opinion

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SeanTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear SeanTravelz,

thank you for your positive review. I hope you had a good time with us and will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing