We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Business Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for the period of an exhibition at the NEC. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are well looked after. A couple of gripes I would share though. The first is the cost of the breakfast which at £15 is extraordinary. If you can get a rate that includes it that is reasonable book it rather than pay separately. The second is the position. If you are attending an exhibition in halls 18, 19 or 20 be aware that there is a twenty minute walk to them which at the end of a long day on an exhibition stand is a chore. Other than that great place as a business base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Colin S,

thank you very much for your online review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will be back with us again soon.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    660
    280
    103
    66
See reviews for
167
504
66
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here last week whilst at a conference. The hotel is so accessible to the convention center and they have a shuttle bus if you need it.
Check in was lovely with a very friendly front officer manager a little slow due to the system but she did her best with it. I noticed there is not great communication between reservations and front office. I had a few problems with reservations which was a little stressful.
The rooms where lovely and they even had a little sleep set on my pillow. A little lavender pillow spray and lavender oil to help you sleep. Such a nice touch...
I ate in the bar, the food was nice for hotel food and staff where super friendly.
I did not have breakfast but check out was quick and shuttle bus that morning was brilliant.
The staff and management make this hotel and you can tell they really pay attention to the little things.
Good job!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilywhite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear lilywhite77,

thank you very much for your positive review regarding your stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your time with us and I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked into this hotel at very short notice when our booking at the Old Barn Coleshill went pear-shaped.

Very friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable. As a caution, I would advise visitors to this hotel to check their bill carefully. They tried to charge for our stay after it had already been paid to lastminute.com, although they were more than happy to rectify their error! After they had re-calculated our bill, they were supposed to waive the parking fee, but we ended up eventually being charged for this as well. Would we go back? Probably - but would make sure we had an all inclusive price for accommodation and breakfast first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenziebobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear jenziebobbs,

thank you very much for your review.

I am sorry that there was some confusion regarding your bill on check out, however, I am happy to hear that you would stay with us again in future.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited this hotel for a meal and drinks whist our daughters were attending a concert across at the arena. The restaurant and its staff were great and we had a lovely meal. We had rung through a few days earlier to ask if we could have a meal and park on the hotel carpark, for this purpose, and we were told that it was fine as we were eating there and that there would be no charges for parking for that reason. After spending approx £80 in the restaurant and bar, we headed to reception to get our car park pass (as advised by the restaurant manager)..but alas the great service ended there.. the surly and frankly uppety girl on reception made a huge deal about it not being allowed and we should be paying for parking if we are not residents! When I made the point that the restaurant manager had ok'd it she said that he shouldn't and he has no right to!! ooh, get you Miss Crowne Plaza!!... Anyway, she eventually validated our card all be it, reluctantly... I decided to send an email to the Hotel with regard to this incident, to which I recieved no response!...so lets just say, go elsewhere to entertain yourself if killing time near the O2 arena, there are loads of restaurants a short drive away, where I'm sure your business would be appreciated. (shame really as the food was excellent)...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear nanarrr,

thank you very much for your time to write a review of your recent visit to the hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that a lovely evening was spoilt by the behaviour of one of the receptionists.
In general we do charge car parking for residents and non residents and I am sorry that you were given the wrong information.
However, as the restaurant manager agreed for you to have free car parking, our receptionist should have taking that into account and should have given you a car parking ticket to leave free of charge.
Again, please accept my sincere apologies that our staff did not give you the standard of customer service that you should receive.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very nice hotel, we had gone to the NEC to see a show, i walked into the room and said lets not bother with the show lets stay her, we went to the show which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank heavyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear heavyhorse,

thank you very much for your positive review.

I am pleased that you had a very nice stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed one night at the hotel while visiting the NEC on business. The hotel is close to Birmingham International Station and the NEC which is handy. The hotel will also send their courtesy car to pick you up from the station, but you can't arrange a pickup before hand, you need to call when you arrive and wait for the car - not too bad, but you may as well just jump into a cab.

Checkin was quick and efficient. The room was your standard business room, it was clean and a good size. The bed was very comfortable and the room is equipped with a large TV with a small number of free view channels (why not more and why not a movie channel thrown in), a kettle with a few sachets of coffee and tea and hot chocolate. You also get two free bottles of water and a couple of complimentary chocolates. The bathroom amenities are reasonable and the shower (over the bath) was quite good with a good pressure. I had an early morning wake up call, which was from a real person, who sensed my distress and asked if I wanted another call in 10 minutes - I liked that personal touch!

I didn't have time for breakfast, but grabbed an apple from the reception desk on my way out - the apple was good! I appreciate these little touches at a business hotel.

My complaints with my room was lack of free wifi - I really don't know why UK hotels don't give you free wifi, especially at a business hotel and the room was far too hot. I tried turning the heat down with the thermostat, but nothing I did seemed to do the trick. I mentioned this on check out and was told if it happens again to call down to the desk and they would sort it out - I really believe that they would have too.

Would I stay here again, yes, I think I would if I was attending the NEC again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Edwin G,

thank you very much for your time to leave a review about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that think we are a good business hotel.

I am very sorry that you were having difficulties with your room as it was too hot.

I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here last year & although the stay was okay, we did have to complain regarding the food in the restaurant amongst a few other bits & pieces, staff ect..
This year things were much different, the check in was efficient & the lady on reception was very friendly. We had arrived very early, around 12pm & our room wasn't ready until about 3.15pm but this wasn't a problem as we had a drink in the bar & also walked over to the NEC to have a bite to eat & a drink there. Room was very clean, as it was the last time we stayed, plenty of space & all amenties you would need for a long weekend stay. We had dinner in the bar this year, really nice bar snacks, sandwiches ect... and fairly reasonably priced considering. The drinks are on the pricey side but no different to any other city centre hotels, airports or establishents in a location such as this. Breakfast was great both mornings, really varied buffet, great service & food! Location is fantastic from the motorway, plenty of parking & within 10minutes walking distance to NEC, train station, airport.. Checkout was effeicient, we received our papers each morning , so all in all i would recomment this hotel! And we would stay here again based on our latest stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Lish04,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this time and that you would recommend us and come and stay with us again.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing