We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about this hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

From our arrival to exit, the staff were polite, friendly, welcoming and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect! The staff are an absolute asset to this hotel and we were really impressed.

Unlike some hotel restaurants the food was also impressive. The bar menu was vast and reasonably priced. Again the bar staff couldn't do enough for us.

Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Sara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear 20Sara08,

thank you very much for your feedback and I am very pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time with us.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    682
    287
    107
    71
See reviews for
168
519
67
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Last time I reviewed the CP, I believe I said it was second only to Marriott. I now realise what a distance there is between first and second. I usually book via my company's booking agent, and thus get a reduced rate. This time, I was forced to book independently, and thus generated a personal learning opportunity.

The first problem was CP's booking website. Everywhere else that I book, if the stay is for more than one night, the site tells me the total cost. CP, however, quoted an average room rate, only saying as much in smaller text that I noticed far too late - meaning that I paid twice as much as I thought I was going to. Not deliberate, I'm sure, but it shows a lack of awareness that there is competition out there and that other people do it better.

The rooms are still fairly good, albeit feeling dated, but the heater in mine was less than effective - your mileage may vary - and the absolutely massive building that's going up next door is unlikely to be a view you'll want to see. If you like seeing tower cranes hoisting stuff, around, however, book now. Also, I'm pretty sure I booked a double room, not the twin room that I got, but I can't confirm that as I was never sent an email confirmation of the booking - another issue with their booking site.

Checkout was an eye-opener - yet another hotel that charges for the car park. I realise they're on the NEC site and need to keep out vagrants but, having just paid £150 per night for a room, to be landed with another £10 per night charge for parking left me breathless. Tesco don't charge their customers for the use of their car park: neither should CP. On the same invoice were two £1 "charitable donations" - it's a pity it's now too late to find out whether I'm sponsoring the Taliban somewhere. The donation included VAT; however, as no good or service was supplied to me, should not have done.

All in all, an experience that reminds me of the slogan, "We know you have a choice": thankfully, I do. Goodbye, CP.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear MikeMayUK,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us this time and that you encountered a number of issues.
I appreciate your feedback and we will be looking into the issues you mentioned so that we can improve our customer service.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The room was nice but then £194 for one night is not cheap. Found the open plan reception and eateries a little impersonal but it was clean and modern looking. Lifts were excellent. Slept well despite the hard pillow. Breakfast was a bit chaotic due to lack of staff. Couldn't find a clean unused table as nobody at entrance to check us in. Staff seemed over stretched but they were cheerful and polite nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ThomasEngland,

thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you encountered a few issues during your stay with us but that you found our staff lovely.

I hope you will stay with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel did not meet my expectations. I attended NEC for a exhibition and since the hotel was close we choosed to stay there. Surprisingly the wifi cost extra at the hotel, not used to that.
My room was big, a double room with a bed sofa. Only one person staying in the room, why were the sofa made into a bed?? Nowhere to put my suitcase and suddenly not very much space..

Later, our company had dinner in the bar area. Very, very noisy. Since the people there had to drown out the music they played in the bar.
Tasteless food.
But the real problem came when we were paying. As we also discovered back home when we checked the withdrawals at our account which didn´t match the costs of what we ate and drank. The personal serving our table charged us wrongly. I pointed this out for the management in a couple of mails. Got "we are sorry".... Well, not impressed by that either... If I ever go back to Birmingham I will choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plommis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Plommis,

thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and it will help our team to improve the service we provide to our guests.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here last Saturday night to attend an Elbow concert. Coming in off the M42 was really easy, J5, and follow the signs for the NEC and the hotel is right in front of you. Parking aplenty, we arrived 30mins before check-in at 2pm and we were given our room keys without any problems. Room faced the motorway but this did not disturb us as the windows are very well insulated. Nice room, nice little extras like bottled water and bathroom essentials. Bar was spacious, bar food was nice if not a bit pricey but this was our weekend away without kids so we weren't too bothered about prices. Friendly staff directed us towards the exit to use for the LG arena (bar door), and we were there in 3 mins on foot and in heels. Obviously depending on which arena you are in and your entry point, this will differ. Worthy to note, we had booked "Amplify Hospitality" and the hotel couldn't be situated better for the entrance to the hospitality restaurants. This hotel is a popular choice for concert goers and the bar was heaving when we got back- a good atmosphere but we decided to head up as we are now lightweights. Check-out was straight forward, hefty bar bill for the food and drinks the previous day and it is at this point we were told that the hotel was 90% full with concert goers and there had been problems at check-in due to the volume of people arriving at the same time. I would suggest you try and check-in early like we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Julie H,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your kid's free weekend with us and that you had a good time.
I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here whilst at a work conference. Rooms felt a little dated but very good size with settee area. Perfect location for any NEC conferences.
Parking charges confused me as £10 was added to my bill automatically for parking but higher prices were displayed in car park so not clear but happy with the lower charge.
Ate in hotel bar which was a good size and burger and chips were fine, what you'd expect from a hotel bar. Also used some of the meeting areas which were a good size and had all facilities needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear saraht2,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry that the car parking charges were a bit confusing. We do have a reduced rate for car parking for residents and for conference delegates.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you're visiting the NEC or LG Arena, this hotel is in a perfect location. A short (4-5 mins) walk around a lovely lake will deliver you to either location. It's under 10 minutes walk from the railway station (through the NEC, well signposted), and I'd guess at well under 15 mins from the airport. Timed right, you can probably make Birmingham New Street in about 20 minutes by walk+train, if you really wanted to!

Hotel wise, it's a nice hotel, everything you'd hope for in a new-ish Crowne Plaza. Decent sized rooms, good furnishings, large + comfy beds, well layed out rooms, nice bathrooms, generally well done. Staff here are excellent, very friendly and helpful. We had one minor little problem, and they were amazing at getting it all sorted + going out of their way to offer an alternative. Couldn't have asked for more.

The only problem is with food + drink. Neither are cheap here, but for a nice Crowne Plaza that's nothing unusual. The problem is that they don't hold up. Both are decidely average, and hence bad value. This is not a Crowne Plaza trying for excellent food and drink offerings (as many out there do, Lille or Kowloon East being two which spring to mind). It seems to be somewhere assuming it has a captive market (which it doesn't really - there's several options in the NEC a 5 min walk away, or there's a Hilton sub 10 mins walk), and overcharging. If the cost had been half, and I'd been at a Holiday Inn or similar, I'd have been perfectly happy. In a CP, with those prices, I was miffed. It's not actually a rip off, just bad value, and a shame given how well the rest of the hotel works.

If you're in the area, the hotel is good, especially if you can get a decent rate on a weekend. Just skip the food and drink offerings here, and take a nice walk round the lake to get something either better or cheaper, whichever you fancy!

Room Tip: Try for a view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagravarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Gagravarr,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.
I will be personally speaking to our food and beverage team to ensure high quality of food and drink.

I do hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing