We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Average service, airport transfer long waiting, breakfast basic..
Terrible food and very expensive..No free internet and very expensive,, 18 Pounds a day ??
Old style rooms, anyway clean and comfortable...

Room Tip: they are all the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear albertot531,

thank you for your feedback about your stay.

I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
I hope you will stay with us again in future so that we can prove to you that we can provide excellent service.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This place is in a nice location but the rooms are outdated they charged us wrong and then try to charge us for the car parking. We stayed there for weekend and when we left the chap came running out to me to see if had payed him for car parking joke

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank realtalk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear realtalk007,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the beginning of the year.

I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time with us and that there was the issue regarding the car parking.

I hope you will give us another chance when you are back in the area.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel can be proud of its excellent rooms although the one we stayed in faced a VERY noisy building site which spoiled the stay for us I am sure most rooms have a pleasant outlook.
The spoiler was the disgusting food in the bar. We ordered a burger & fries for £14.95 - no really it WAS £14.95 and it was no joke. The burger bap was burned, the burger cooked to death and the fries shrivelled and vile. The 'piece de resistance' was the Chicken Stroganoff - dry chicken chunks in a grey sauce with (wait for it .........) sliced gherkins in it! Just hilarious until you have to stump up £12.95 for it!
Drinks were also very, very expensive and this really spoiled our stay. It's not as if you can stroll to another eatery nearby so that's where they trap you with their awful food.
My advice would be eat before you arrive and a word of caution about breakfast too........ A 40 minute queue which us laughable!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't overlook the building site if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGE120D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear AGE120D,

thank you very much for your time to leave a review regarding your stay.

I am sorry that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you were disturbed by the building site next door.
I am also very sorry that the food that you had with us was not up to standard that you feel that we are overpriced.

Nevertheless I hope you will stay with us again in future to give us another chance to put things right for you.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were attending The Eagles at the LG Arena and the hotel is the obvious place to stay - although on this experience we might try the Hilton. The only area at issue was the bar restaurant service in the evening - both pre and post concert. It simpy does match up to its four star billing and prices. We spoke the manager at breakfast and pointed out that the conference rooms could have been used as an overspill, as even those who had booked were still turned away. Similarly, the bar had only three tills and even if they had put more staff on (which they hadn't) they would not have been able to do much about the five deep queue. One poor member of staff to cover the entire floor area and suspending the menus because its full is not on when claiming to be a four star hotel.
The good points; the breakfast staff were some of the best I have experienced in a long term - really cheerful and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed. The location is obviously great for the arena.

Room Tip: Lakeside better view although with buidling developing on left - eroding the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Martin P ,

thank you very much for your time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback regarding the bar on the evening. The concert nights were extremely busy for us in the hotel and though we well prepared and used to nights when we are fully booked, it is always a challenge when all guests are coming to the bar and restaurant at the same time.

I hope you will stay with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for just one night, pre holiday flight. Great for leaving the car and using the courtesy bus to the airport. Staff excellent, food and drink also good but a little over priced. 5 minutes from the airport, hassle free

All in all a great package and hotel for any trip to the airport. Large construction site next door with what looks like an impressive complex completing in 2015 will provide some competition.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CEW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear CEW71,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Only stayed here one night but it was enough to leave a lasting impression.
We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the LG Arena. A 5 to 10 minute walk to and from the bar! Because of its great location it is busy on show nights so was expecting this to cause one or two problems with regards to sleep quality and queues at breakfast etc but I needn't of worried. Did not hear any late night drinkers returning to their rooms and had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Also breakfast was a breeze, straight in and shown to a table (this was 8.30, by the time we left just after 9 queues were beginning to form) We had thought about skipping breakfast but pleased we didn't because it was excellent.

As for the staff, they were first class right from the man who met us at the car park barrier to check out the next morning. One person who did typify the people working here was the manager in the breakfast room who while in jacket and tie did not feel he was above clearing and cleaning tables.

Any downsides? If we were to stay here again to visit the L G A we would book a table in the restaurant in advance because the pre show bar menu was very limited (and only average in quality)
As for the outside of the hotel, not stayed here before so I'm not sure but I would guess that the massive building being built literally on the door step has and will spoil what must of been pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it is walking distance to the LG Arena. Most of the other guests went to the same concert and the staff coped heroically with the surge of people for dinner and the bar. The room was quiet and comfy though the mattress is less good than some competitors. The expedia price was reasonable but watch out for 10 pound parking surcharge. Food is expensive and middling quality but there arent many alternatives. In summary a convenient comfortable stay with great staff only tainted by excessive extra charges.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CertaJanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear CertaJanus,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £71 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing