We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I got a fantastic deal with holiday extras for hotel/parking for a week £72 what an outstanding hotel staff are warm and friendly and happy I got a room facing the lake was impressed with the added extras in the room 2 mineral waters and pillow spray and a roll on scent to help sleep easy the room comes with a fridge and bathrobes iron and a good hairdryer dinner was also beautiful i pre booked on holiday extras 3 courses for £13.50 very good value I had breakfast and must say it was the best breakfast I've had in a hotel I will certainly return thanks for a beautiful stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mcguigancatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear mcguigancatherine,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your time with us and I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    661
    280
    103
    66
See reviews for
167
504
66
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed in other Crowne Plaza properties, which are much more comfortable, and this hotel looks and feels dated.
Having said that, the service was excellent and friendly and helpful (sometimes a bitt too much!).
The room really looked like it was from a couple of decades ago, but it was really clean, and the bed very comfortable.
I do like the Crowne Plaza's attitude to helping you sleep.
Unfortunately, the shuttle to the airport does not start until 6am, so had to take a taxi.
I would have given a review of 3.5, but as I cannot, and the hotel does not deserve 3, I have given it 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear KennyK12,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and I hope you will be staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza as we had a business conference over the road at the Metropol and a pleasant stay it was. it would have achieved 5 stars but for the lack of free WIFI which should be standard nowadays.
the room was clean, tidy and modern. Bathroom was well presented also.
staff were polite and efficient.
Didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was fine.
Parking was plentiful and safe.
overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revbev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Revbev69,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you will be back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a park and fly package with this hotel in order to fly and then stay.from answering the phone to eventual checkout,the staff (and I mean all of them) were friendly,helpful and polite.most importantly they all had a smile!.the hotel is twelve years old,yet looks and feels brand new.nothing was to much trouble,and breakfast was one of the best presented I have seen at this level of hotel.i am the first to complain when things are not correct,however this time I called on the duty manager to congratulate,her staff on the superb level of service.Crown Plaza NEC keep up the good work.thank you.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear senschu,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great to hear that you had a good time with us and our staff was looking after you.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and it was a really great place to stay. Location is perfect for a meeting and the meeting rooms here are excellent. They have natural light and all the tech you need. There is also a smart tea / coffee / snacks area with Kobe n the usual array of biscuits. Warm cookies and frozen yoghurt are the order of the day here. The rooms are good (albeit with a distant buzz of the motorway in the background but that's unavoidable given where it is). All the usual amenities are to hand. Beds are great with quality bed linen and provide a good nights sleep. Rooms are. A little on the warm side but if you can sleep with the air con on that sorts that out.
Dining in the bar or restaurant is to a good standard as well. Staff are friendly and make a special effort. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Caroline M,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very pleased to hear you had a great time with us and I hope you will return to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Speedy check in which was a suprise for such a large hotel but others did seem to have to wait around.One lift was out of order, there was no sign and it did slow down getting to the rooms.
Room was before, of good size, clean and comfortable. Having a fridge in the room is a benefit, and ice machine in the corridor.
I am afraid there was a couple of bad marks for Housekeeping
- on getting into bed we found the sheet all scruched up at the bottom of the bed , not tucked in and basically had to completely make the bed again
- it was only when we were packing to leave that we found a pair of ladies shoes at the bottom of the wardrobe (not ours!)
The bar was very busy after the Eagles concert and rather chaotic
Good breakfast and comming down later was a bonus as most had been and gone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lake for the better view, but definatley away fromthe building site next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear j4ewe,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us.
I will be passing your comments on to our housekeeping staff so that they can further look into the issue.

I hope you will be staying with us again in future,

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Average service, airport transfer long waiting, breakfast basic..
Terrible food and very expensive..No free internet and very expensive,, 18 Pounds a day ??
Old style rooms, anyway clean and comfortable...

Room Tip: they are all the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear albertot531,

thank you for your feedback about your stay.

I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
I hope you will stay with us again in future so that we can prove to you that we can provide excellent service.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing