We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going on holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leics
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Going on holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here the night before we flew away on holiday. I think this is one of the best hotels to stay at. We arrived at about 3pm was checked in straightaway non alcoholic drinks were on the side for you to have. Our room was clean and nicely presented. The food down in the restaurant was superb. What I would say is if you are thinking about eating at the hotel book your meal before hand. We booked our parking, room and evening meal altogether and you do save money We had a very comfortable sleep no noise and caught a taxi which came at the right time to take us to the airport we were to early for the shuttle bus and they run for a small charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    663
    280
    104
    68
See reviews for
167
505
66
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing.

As a platinum member I stay in a lot of IHG hotels and I have to say that without exception this is the worst.

Check in chaotic, internal phone lines down, slow service in restaurant poor with starter taking 45 minutes to arrive and a number of dishes not available as not in stock, till system not printing in kitchen, remote control in bedroom not working, etc etc - all basic things which you expect should happen in a CP brand.

Come on guys, you can do better

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear trackterboy,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Birmingham.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay here every year when visiting the NEC. The service is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food expensive but good. The only thing I would suggest needs improvement is the consistency. Breakfast was much better on one of our 3 days. There was lovely bread, warm croissants, a juicer and better choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt. Consequently we were disappointed the next day when there was only sliced bread, no juicer, no warm croissants, no orange segments and no fruit yoghurt and it was relatively early in the morning so not a case of running out. The service in the bar was brilliant on 2 nights (Albert and a lovely young lady, Polish I think) and only OK on the other night when it was slow and disorganised (server opened our beer but forgot to bring it to us!)
Improve the consistency and you would be outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I find this hotel central as I am a National Sales Manager and use it because of the fantastic attention and service my team and myself always get from Philippa in the hotels coffee lounge.

This lady brings customer service to a new level and is very attentive to us all when we visit.

The hotels lounge's coffee and food are excellent I can strongly recommend this hotel that is on the NEC site

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford, surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a great hotel. Stayed whilst visiting NEC. Staff were brilliant they were very helpful. Food was great, we used the buffet facility, with plenty of choices both for breakfast and dinner. Very comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: No real tips, several friends stayed and all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear christina w,

Thank you very much for your email.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful.

I hope you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night when we were seeing Mcbusted at the LG arena.The hotel is perfectly located for this and the NEC as it's all within the same grounds and we were in our pj's within minutes of the concert ending- so nice not to have to queue for ages to get out of the car park and drive home! All the staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable with some really nice touches such as the sleep kit and robes. We had room service which was pricey, as at all hotels, but the food was delicious and plentiful- I couldn't finish mine! Really enjoyed ourselves here, made a night out a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear cheraus,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is brilliant to year that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked overnight stay and 8 nights parking at this hotel before flying from Birmingham Airport for a flight to Bordeaux for a holiday.
We did the same trip last year and enjoyed this hotel so much we decided to repeat the experience.
Everything was just as before - super friendly but professional staff throughout the hotel. Room nice although a little tired.
We had pre-booked dinner for the evening as we had done last year and we found it to be worthwhile. However, this year was not as good an eating experience as before. The choice on the set dinner menu was terrible so we chose from the a-la carte. Even though we were given £20 per head towards the a-la-carte choice the meal still cost us an extra £60. This did include wine however. We felt that the set dinner menu could have been more extensive and cater for all tastes.
There is a new complex being built next door which apparently will have restaurants so I think the Crowne Plaza will need to buck it's ideas up in the food department.
All in all though we do like this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear BobbyDurham,

thank you for your review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a relaxing start to your holiday.

I hope you will be doing the same again next time you fly from Birmingham and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing