We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic organisation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We were two of 500 guests attending a convention at the LG Arena, and all wishing to be fed and away from the hotel by 9.00am each day. The hotel was so well organised, and the staff absolutely charming, ready to accomodate our wishes and help in any way. They worked so hard and made our weekend so comfortable. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CHELTENHAMCOUPLE705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear CHELTENHAMCOUPLE705,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great that you had a great time with us and I hope you will staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Like most people booked this for one night before flying out next day. Checked in no problem with very friendly staff who helped in any way they could with our early flight the next morning. A nice touch was the complimentary drinks at the bar for us both. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The other good thing about the Crowne Plaza is that you keep hold of your car keys so you know its not going to be moved to some Industrial estate whilst you're away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear paulkay62,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had a lovely holiday.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with 15 days parking. Booked through holiday extras and was not disappointed for ease.
We pre booked a 3 course meal in their classy restaurant for £15 each and was not expecting too much, however I would if gladly paid £25 for it.
Room was really clean and spacious so no problems there.
Reception staff pleasant and the shuttle bus was efficient.
Really pleased as we only paid just over £100 for hotel, meal, parking and shuttle for 2 people.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank debsandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear debsandneil,

Thank you very much for your brilliant feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and had a good start to your holiday.

I hope you will be staying with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before our holiday in August, staff very helpful and friendly, rooms nice and clean and comfortable, even sleep remedies left on the bed! Taxi arranged for us to and from the airport included in the price - only down side is they don't include a breakfast In their package! Would definitely stay here if flying from Birmingham again in the future!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteelDavid, Cluster General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Becky R,

thank you for your review.

I hope to welcome you again soon to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here the night before we flew away on holiday. I think this is one of the best hotels to stay at. We arrived at about 3pm was checked in straightaway non alcoholic drinks were on the side for you to have. Our room was clean and nicely presented. The food down in the restaurant was superb. What I would say is if you are thinking about eating at the hotel book your meal before hand. We booked our parking, room and evening meal altogether and you do save money We had a very comfortable sleep no noise and caught a taxi which came at the right time to take us to the airport we were to early for the shuttle bus and they run for a small charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing.

As a platinum member I stay in a lot of IHG hotels and I have to say that without exception this is the worst.

Check in chaotic, internal phone lines down, slow service in restaurant poor with starter taking 45 minutes to arrive and a number of dishes not available as not in stock, till system not printing in kitchen, remote control in bedroom not working, etc etc - all basic things which you expect should happen in a CP brand.

Come on guys, you can do better

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear trackterboy,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Birmingham.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay here every year when visiting the NEC. The service is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food expensive but good. The only thing I would suggest needs improvement is the consistency. Breakfast was much better on one of our 3 days. There was lovely bread, warm croissants, a juicer and better choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt. Consequently we were disappointed the next day when there was only sliced bread, no juicer, no warm croissants, no orange segments and no fruit yoghurt and it was relatively early in the morning so not a case of running out. The service in the bar was brilliant on 2 nights (Albert and a lovely young lady, Polish I think) and only OK on the other night when it was slow and disorganised (server opened our beer but forgot to bring it to us!)
Improve the consistency and you would be outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
1,853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing