We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel rooms after inspecting 5 rooms,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel rooms after inspecting 5 rooms,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, on 28/12/2009 our arrival we waited to be served at the Gold Priorty Club checking in desk where we were told we could not be served as Gold Member the person on the front desk who also had poor level of understanding of our requests and made she rude remarks to us, almost and all of the five rooms we saw are of poor quality and seem to have every possible damaged mark visable on the furniture, the carpets in the rooms look as though they have never been cleaned in first our room had no heating and after being given a temporary heater we insisted on a room change, on our departure we had been given a bill which did not reflect in anyway the charges correct charges or process of charging, I feel that the room bill was setup in away that customers could not detect exactly what they are paying for. We requested a person to come a collect our baggage from the room, when the person arrived we were told that he was too busy to collect the baggage since he had to drive the mini bus to the airport for other customers thus leaving us with luggage trolley, this hotel has very poor level of service for its customers and almost is an embarassment to the Crowne Plaza brand!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    674
    283
    104
    69
See reviews for
167
514
67
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We were sent here as the Radisson, in the city, had overbooked and gave us little notice of change,and then they(Radisson) booked a double,we had booked a twin.
The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and I would be pleased to stay with them again .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Attending nec stayed a night at this excellent hotel .Impressed with cleanliness,outlook and facilities

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginpamcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wem shropshire,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We visited this hotel on a trip to the good food show and the location for that was excellent just a 5 minute walk away . we paid £119 through the hotel website for a excecutive room with a lakeside view with Breakfast , we got a kingsize room with a car park view !
The room itself was very basic , not much better than a travel lodge, I don't know what official grade the crowne plaza is i would suggest 3 star . Room was clean enough except for hairs in the bath from the previous occupant .
We ate in the bar which I thought was expensive My husband had a burger fo around £13 which he said was ok I had prawn noodle salad for £13 which was horrible no flavour and came with crayfish not prawns I ate very little , we are not ones to complain but you would have thought the waitress noticed the left food on the plate .
I was not looking forward to Breakfast but was pleasingly suprised at the extensive selection of both buffet and cooked food , so left more satisfied .
However we will not return will probably try the Hilton or Premier inn next time .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed here while visiting Top Gear Live at the NEC and paid £119 (through hotel's own website) for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for 2 adults, our son stayed and ate for free.
Car parking is £10 but free if staying at the hotel. The hotel is, as said previously, a pleasant 5 minute walk along the lake to the NEC.
Dinner at the hotel was self-service, 3 course buffet and the food was lovely. Cheapest wine was £18 but we were also offered a glass of complimentary wine each which was very nice. Breakfast was also self-service and also excellent.
On checking out we were charged for complimentary bottles of water in the room, mini bar items, complimentary glasses of wine at dinner and a £10 service charge (for a self- service restaurant?). All were easily waivered without fuss when we queried them.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeBretonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath, wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

The reception was helpful and smiling, smartly dressed and well presented. Close to the LG arena where were visiting, but when 1 slice of cheesecake (with a wafer thin base might i add and that tasted of nothing) costs you £7.50!?!?!?! rip off. I can buy 2 slices from co-op over the road which taste better and are bigger for £1.99. I appreciate people have to make a markup but it cost me a small fortune staying in this hotel by the time i'd paid for food and drinks.
All other things were fine, room, tv, views etc were great though.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulospug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We chose this hotel really for the proximity to the LG Arena ..It really is only a couple of minutes walk away ..We were pleasantly suprised the hotel was lovely , great service , food was gorgeous not your typical hotel food ..Breakfast buffet was plentiful & good quality . Room great , lovely comfy bed .. Will definately return !!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfriz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing