We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor!”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My third time at the Crowne Plaza with poor service throughout, the room was average but OK. The worst thing for me was the ever present and changing loud music in public areas and restaurant- including heavy rock for breakfast. Food was hotel like but OK, but breakfast cooked to order on a quiet morning was hopeless. After eight days I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    682
    287
    107
    71
See reviews for
168
519
67
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Stayed with my husband as we were going to a concert in the LG Arena.Friendly and efficient check in,room as requested on a high floor away from the lifts.Lake view room which was spotless with a lovely bathroom.

Had a pre concert drink in the bar and again were greeted and served by friendly wait staff.Just a short walk to the LG Arena which is a fab place for a concert.
After the show we had a light snack and drinks back at the hotel and again were impressed by the service.The bar had a great atmosphere as quite a few of the orchestra from the concert were staying in the hotel.
Comfy bed although my pillows were too hard for me,a viist to reception soon sorted that and softer pillows were quickly delivered.

Delicious breakfast in the morning and we were sad to leave.Would recommend this hotel as the value for money for the service and meals was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I stayed in this hotel because I was attending the FDE in the NEC. The Hotel is rated with 5 stars but think they rated themselves because it wasn't even worth 3 stars. What irritated me mostly was the service friendliness of the staff in the Bar restaurant. Really rude and arrogant. No table service is given and if you ask a waiter to take your order they hardly respond. Also the front desk lady was very rude.
No wireless internet is available, you have to pay per hour (GBP 8,-) or for 24 hours and the rate is VERY expensive!! Nobody needs 24 hours internet in a row but it expires really after 24 hours, if you used that time or not. I stayed 5 nights, count the extra costs for internet.
Also, I had a small piece of glass on my bathroom floor and the hairdryer is fixed in the desk in your room with a very short wire so impossible to use!
The water goes from hot to cold during a shower.
No staff for helping you with your luggage, anyway nobody came to help me with 6 pieces.
When I ordered room service, nobody picked up the phone....

The staff during breakfast do was friendly and helpful and the man who drives the shuttle is very nice also. Also my check out went well.

Next time I try the Hilton. Never again to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Check in was quick and easy. Room very good standard. Evening bar meal and service was good. Early call for 4:30 did not happen and reception seemed unconcerned breakfast ordered to room for 5:00am did not arrive. When reception was informed, again, unconcerned. We had booked the room through an intermediary called ‘FHR’ and was therefore unable to gain a breakfast refund from the reception. All in all, a poor standard of customer care for such a prestigious hotel. We would not recommended this hotel and will definitely not be using their facilities again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorCustomerService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I thought it about time I should write a review of this hotel as this was the 5th time I've stayed here.

The hotel is very easy to get to and has a large car park that will only get really full when there is a really big trade show. We were there to visit Autosport 2010 show.

The rooms are excellent, SKY Sports channels and plenty of other channels. Many rooms look towards the lake and NEC. That's the side to be.

I have only one issue and that is the restaurant. You have both Breakfast and dinner in the same room. No other choice. By circumstance we had dinner both nights. It would have been nice to have a choice, different than where we had breakfast.

Other than that, it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This was our second stay here, as a convenient stopover for the NEC - the hotel is a short stroll past the lake to the exhibition halls.

The hotel itself is clean and cheerful, the rooms well appointed and the staff friendly and helpful. There was nothing to spoil our stay, and we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

I booked the Crown Plaza at the last minute and I was impressed by the overall experience. The rooms were a good size, not massive but enough. The view was of the motorway, but I am pretty sure people do not come to Birmingham for views! The breakfast is very, very good compared to many hotels in its class. Fully buffet breakfast with real quality bacon and sausage. I was very hungover after a friends wedding and it was extremely welcome! The reception is a bit big and cold. It is not a place for romance but it is a good, clean and accessible hotel. Close to NEC, easy access to Birmingham via train or (if it is not rush hour) car. Good for Solihull and Coventry also. I left laptop in room and came back for it 4 hours later. The housekeepers had handed it in. I know that is what we should expect but it is not always the case. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing