We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Really was expecting things a bit run down, noisy, and difficult to sleep, and was pleasantly surprised.

Had a wonderful night sleep in a comfy bed, and good service , run of the mill continental breakfast.
Much exceeded the experience at Nitenite the night before.
Soundless halls and doors, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Keldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2007

I would strongly advise anyone NOT to use this hotel unless they enjoy smelly mouldy bathrooms, rooms that have windows that don't open (making the mouldy bathroom even more of a health hazard). Noisy fan heating and to top it all a night shift manager that must have received customer service training from a banana republic dictator.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pauly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Scruffy hotel curently being refurbished in a scruffy area. Rooms at front of hotel are really noisy.

Our room had been refurbished but had a number of problems like metal framed window that didn't close and safe with door that kept swinging open that nearly knocked myself out on.

Couldn't believe how noisy rooms were especially between 3am and 5am in the morning when nightclubs were chucking out (especially the taxi's blowing thier horns - there must have been over 100).

Breakfast was Ok-ish but getting any coffee was virtually impossible until we had nearly finished.

Probably my worst hotel experince of recent years - try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Last time I stayed at this Holiday Inn I had the most horrible, outdated, tiny room ever. This time I was in a large, newly renovated modern double room and it was a whole lot better. Nice comfy bed, big TV. They have renovated most but not yet all rooms so make sure you check what you're in.

The location is quite handy - central and near the station. The breakfasts are ok but nothing amazing. I didn't think the bar/restaurant area very atmospheric but it did the job. You can check out at breakfast during the week which is handy if you're on business and in a hurry. Most of the staff were friendly apart from one or two.

Generally - ok.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank joellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I stayed here with my partner for a weekend of shopping etc. Found the hotel to be very clean and the rooms were very comfortable. Very close to all the amenities on Broad Street and the shopping on New Street / Bullring. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ukred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Stayed one night on a very quick 'late arrival, early departure' trip, which I why I didn't bother with the extra £70 for the Hyatt 5 minutes away. There is nothing wrong with this property - friendly staff, well kept rooms and its a new-build, less than 2 years old I guess.

They are tight on the toiletries (no soap, only a dispenser) and the towels are a bit thin, but this is standard for a UK HIE and you get a tea and coffee tray. Rooms certainly not huge (20 sq m?) but do the job. Breakfast is free but not the best I've had - a far thinner selection than, say, the Express in Newcastle I stayed in earlier in the year. It does the job, though - tea / coffee, juice, cereal, croissants, toast, yoghurts - and there is a pile of free Independent newspapers in reception.

It is, pathetically, a major improvement on the 'twice as pricey' Crowne Plaza about 5 minutes away. The Hyatt remains the best branded property in this little hotel zone (which includes the Copthorne, CP and HIE), though, and you should certainly stay there instead if the price difference is modest. I paid £99 midweek which is steep for a HIE but weekend rates would be far lower.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Stayed at this hotel on business in mid-September.
Reception was efficient if not too friendly.
I was given a room on S Floor which is certainly the floor to have as these rooms are modern and refurbished. Colleagues on higher floors complained of tardy decor .
Breakfast was very wholesome and the service attentive.
At 6.45am I requested an iron - it was with me by 6.55.
All in all if given the right room there is nothing wrong with this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where to go nextt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,002 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,120 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing