We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Nothing to complain about when it comes to cleaniness, but the furniture and decor definitely need urgent refurbishing. Also, don't expect too much of a view. Breakfast - terrible, the worst coffee I have ever drank in any hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Although the style is rather dated we do pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness and appreciate your comment regarding this.

I am delighted to advise that we will be refreshing the bedrooms and public areas of the hotel in Spring of 2013 and hope that we have have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city centre.

The underground carpark was very handy with a lift taking you straight to reception, there is a charge though of £10 per 24 hours.

We received a friendly welcome on our arrival, the receptionist even gave us a map of the city and pointed out key places.

Our rooms were very clean and a good size, only thing missing unfortunately was a mini bar. Considering we were in the city centre they were also very quiet.

The bathroom was a little basic and a couple of the shower tiles had some black mould which could have easily been cleaned but overall was ok.

There was a fairly good standard selection for breakfast which was kept well stocked.

As mentioned in previous reviews the bar area is small but there is a decent pub/restaurant next door which is worth a visit.

Was the first time I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express and would definitely stay in one again after staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkflower2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel
Your comments are much appreciated and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. Basic accommodation but clean, quiet, and excellent value for money. Continental breakfast fine - don't even think about sampling the hot cooked food - it looks terrible !

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Alan

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us , but sorry our breakfast offer was not to your taste.
We do constantly review this offer and your feedback are much appreciated
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here one night on a business trip and can't fall the hotel. From the genuinely warm welcome from reception staff, comfortable room, central location and excellent price. The breakfast was not the greatest I have ever had and no bacon available! Would recommend the Shakespeare pub just around the corner. Really nice ambience, excellent range of beers including Sharp's Doom Bar from Cornwall. It travels well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhile45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the
near future
Regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I spent 3 nights here on business and found it to be clean and comfortable with very helpful staff.

The room was a good size, with a modern bathroom containing a good shower, rather than a shower over a bath.

The room had an old fashioned TV without digital channels rather than the flat screen found in most corporate hotels nowadays, but it did have sky sports.

The breakfast was adequate rather than good. It is well located and has good secure parking under the hotel at a cost of £10 per day.

I would use this hotel again for both business and a short break and would recommend it if you are more interested your visit to Birmingham being the focus of your trip rather than the hotel you stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KempseyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The room was great and cleaniness was great! Staff were smiley and helpful and the car park was in great location. Breakfast was the only bit that wasn't good! Sausages were disgusting and the rest pretty below par!
For the price it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepthisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for completing a review on Tripadvisor I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the unsatisfactory breakfast. This is the current breakfast offer for Holiday Inn Express, however it is under constant review, and I shall ensure your comments are fedback

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night whilst on business. Very pleasant efficient check in process, room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately I slept in for breakfast but my work colleagues said it was very nice. Will defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for completing an online review and for your kind comments.
I hope that we have the opportunity to meet on your next visit

Kind regards

Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,214 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £40 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing