We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
381
603
253
75
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
603
253
75
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastlionel streetcity centreshakespeare pubbarclaycard arenacar parkroom was cleanholiday inn expresspub next doorminute walkbroad streetyogurtgood sizesymphony hallpower showerhot drinksreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed over for one night as we were eating at the college of food which is based opposite the hotel.
Rooms are basic and do need a refurb, did request a quiet room and was allocated one facing the city centre, but saying that slept well enough until around 8.30, then unfortuately in the morning we were subject to one of the cleaners using a vaccumm either in the corridor or next door, could have done with out to be honest.

Breakfast is okay, but they need to change the oranje juice and espiecally the sausages as neither had any sort of taste < still mystified how a nice looking sausage can be so tasteless >

Staff are quite friendly and generally quite clean in all areas. It is a very good location for the city centre and broad street plus a nice walk to the mail box.

Okay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor, I am pleased that you liked the location of the hotel, but sorry to read that some of the breakfast items were not to your satisfaction. This is a brand standard which we must adhere to, however your comments are very welcome and I shall feedback to the appopriate people to ensure these products reviewed
Many thanks
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Nothing to complain about when it comes to cleaniness, but the furniture and decor definitely need urgent refurbishing. Also, don't expect too much of a view. Breakfast - terrible, the worst coffee I have ever drank in any hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Although the style is rather dated we do pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness and appreciate your comment regarding this.

I am delighted to advise that we will be refreshing the bedrooms and public areas of the hotel in Spring of 2013 and hope that we have have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city centre.

The underground carpark was very handy with a lift taking you straight to reception, there is a charge though of £10 per 24 hours.

We received a friendly welcome on our arrival, the receptionist even gave us a map of the city and pointed out key places.

Our rooms were very clean and a good size, only thing missing unfortunately was a mini bar. Considering we were in the city centre they were also very quiet.

The bathroom was a little basic and a couple of the shower tiles had some black mould which could have easily been cleaned but overall was ok.

There was a fairly good standard selection for breakfast which was kept well stocked.

As mentioned in previous reviews the bar area is small but there is a decent pub/restaurant next door which is worth a visit.

Was the first time I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express and would definitely stay in one again after staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkflower2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel
Your comments are much appreciated and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. Basic accommodation but clean, quiet, and excellent value for money. Continental breakfast fine - don't even think about sampling the hot cooked food - it looks terrible !

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Alan

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us , but sorry our breakfast offer was not to your taste.
We do constantly review this offer and your feedback are much appreciated
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here one night on a business trip and can't fall the hotel. From the genuinely warm welcome from reception staff, comfortable room, central location and excellent price. The breakfast was not the greatest I have ever had and no bacon available! Would recommend the Shakespeare pub just around the corner. Really nice ambience, excellent range of beers including Sharp's Doom Bar from Cornwall. It travels well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhile45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the
near future
Regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews