We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Budget City Centre Option!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget City Centre Option!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

This is the second time we have stayed here - both times for a crash pad after a gig - for which it is ideal.

Big bonus is the fact you can securely park your car (£10 for 24 hours) in a carpark underneath the hotel - and then just a 5 min walk into the centre of Birmingham.

This time we had supper at the pub next door (Shakespeare) which was very reasonable and just what we needed before a gig! There are other bars/restaurants just next door as well - and literally less than 5 mins All Bar One etc etc before you hit the city centre so really well located.

As with all Express by Holiday Inns the continental breakfast is free - and does the job - lots of it and fresh but nothing too thrilling.

We would always book this if we were at an event in Birmingham - highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location and price!
  • Disliked — all fine....
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    513
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
159
331
79
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

Centrally located (and a 15 min walk from New Street Station) the Hol Inn Express is an ideal stop for a night or two. Rooms have a new feel to them and are well designed.

Continental breakfast is included in the rate and although nothing spefctacular is sufficient to start the day - no hot options though.

There are a number of restaraunts in the local area and a good pub next door.

Stayed here a few times and rates do vary a fair bit so rating will depend on the rate paid.

  • Liked — Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3 on the tele
  • Disliked — No hot breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2008

Poor water pressure, water temp kept going from hot to cold;tiny, thin towels, paper washcloths, must pay parking & internet separately ( cannnot put on Bill) grossly overpriced(100 pounds/night)directions on wb site poor

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank trav1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

I've stayed at this hotel twice this year and have been very impressed both times.
The location is great for the NIA and the bars/restaurants at Brindley Place whilst avoiding the nightmare that can be Broad Street.
I stayed with my husband in feb and we were a bit nervous that it would be too noisy at night as he is a light sleeper but we didn't have any problems at all.
I also stayed earlier this month with a friend as we were going out for a hen party. The staff were all really helpful, pointing out the closest cash machines and calling us a taxi when we went out in the evening.
The ice machine and vending machines in the lobby are a great touch perfect for those post party munchies and the continental breakfast (which is included in the room rate) is fantastic with plenty of choice and the option to take your breakfast back to your room.

Will definitely stay again next time i'm in Birmingham.

  • Liked — Clean and fresh, excellent value for money.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pupstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuthetal, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

very oldstyled room, white walls without pictures, very loud traffic when room heading to the street.

  • Liked — WiFi Internet Access
  • Disliked — The rrom style, the dirty carpet, the old bathromm and the noise of the streeet
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hanavave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

Stayed for two nights in April as part of a trip to watch Birmingham City " (Don't ask why !!)
All previous reviews read favourably and for £65 a night for 2 adults and a six year old...including 'free' continental breakfast...was worth taking a chance on.
Don't go to HI Express looking for all the bells and tinsel....they don't do those!!.....but if you're looking for somewhere clean and comfortable, 10 mins walk from the city centre, helpful reception staff....secure carparking for £10 a night....this place will hit the spot.
Rooms are pretty tight for space..but given that I didn't have a cat to swing...it wasn't much of a problem.
Continental breakfast was very nice.... once you've managed to convince yourself that you never wanted a fry-up in the first place.
All in all....decent, honest , clean, value for money accommodation....which would be my first choice for any future trips.

One word of caution....Birmingham Taxi Drivers....'ROBBERS !!

I know you're always at their mercy when you're from 'out of town'.
We took one from the city centre to the football stadium and quickly identified that we were being taken a long way for a shotcut and were charged a tenner for the privelege. Dropped us off....told us...'just along there on the right mate'......turned the corner....still another mile and a half to go!
I might go back to Birmingham just to find him again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank StewGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Overall - ok and fine if you need to be somewhere in the city centre for business. They have a small bar and breakfast was fine. I found it difficult to find the place but they do have a car park in the basement which is a plus when trying to find somewhere to park in Birmingham. Staff were pleasant enough and room was quiet and overlooked a street of offices - nothing really going on at night time so we got a taxi to the Mailbox for something to eat.

  • Liked — Location and free breakfast
  • Disliked — Small bar and a bit difficult to find
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fanshaw1975backagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Property: ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing