We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel but beware of parking charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 August 2013

In all fairness this was booked last minute as part of package deal so I can't complain much.

The reception staff are friendly and courteous, the rooms themselves are clean and well kept but fairly minimal in terms of extra amenities such as a safe, minibar, bath (shower only).

All in all its a nice little hotel for a small package deal but not what I would call a luxury city break. For £30 a night yep it's fine but not when your getting towards £80 a night - you can find much better deals .

The only thing I would say was a huge disappointment was the £12 a day car parking fee for the hotel and a very poor breakfast. The croissants were stale, pain au chocolates soggy, bread for toast was cheap (weird one to explain).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found the hotel and staff to meet your needs. With regards to car parking, we constantly review our prices against other hotels in the City Centre, and as one of the few hotels to offer a private, secure car park in the heart of the City Centre, the cost is competitive.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast, we are currently in the process of changing this offering and hope that should you return to the hotel, you will be much happier with this complimentary offering.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

How people can complain beats us. You are not stopping at a 5 Star Hotel, but honestly you get 5 Star treatment from every member of staff, be it reception, housekeeping or breakfast. It's great value for money, and we'd be happy to recommend it to anyone. Very comfortable bed. A very wide choice of all you can eat at breakfast and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. We shall be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Lionel Street Hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay as this really is our aim at all times.

We have exciting changes ahead and you may have seen around the hotel that we are soon to be the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. With this change brings new features such as exciting and modern bedrooms and a loyalty club that our guests can enjoy.

Keep checking back for more information, but we hope that you come and stay with us very soon.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night. Excellent value for money. Clean and functional room. Large bathroom. Plenty of hot water and a good shower. Breakfast is included and whilst it's not going to win any awards it provided us with a start to the day. Great location, close to the centre and secure parking. The pub next door does good pub grub and is also good value for money.
We have stayed here before and will do again!
For the price we paid we were more than happy with the service, accommodation and location of this hotel. Very satisfied!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Lionel Street Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope that you come back and stay with us soon and experience the exciting changes that are taking place within the hotel. The hotel in September will become the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. A great new brand that we know you will love.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here with my partner and 2 children for 1 night. Check in was very smooth, found the staff to be welcoming and cheerful. The hotel itself looked much better than what we where expecting.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, very clean and bright, only downside was there wasn't much space for the four of us as it was a double room rather than a family room. But it had everything we required, we spent a very comfortable night here.

Breakfast was great, good choices for everyone and a very relaxed setting.

I think this hotel is great if your looking for somewhere clean and comfortable to spend a night or 3. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlimu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations. Come back and stay with us again soon as we have nearly finished the refurbishment of our bedrooms and are on our way to becoming an Ibis Styles hotel in September.

We are certain you will be even more impressed next time!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I chose to stay here as it was close to New Street train station. Check in seemed to be ok, but not sure why I had to pay a £25 deposit?? My room was on the sixth floor situated at the back. It was quite large and the bed was massive. Everything needed was in the room. There was an air conditioner and also a heater. The window couldn’t be opened which I thought was odd.

Plenty of storage space was available and a nice desk area to work from. Also, a large TV with lots of channels. The bathroom was compact with a smart design The door for the bathroom could also be used as a door for the toilet area because it swung both ways. There is free Wi-Fi , but you need to get a pin number from O2 which they send to your mobile.

I enjoyed the shower and the water was powerful and the temperature just right. Room service was not available here, but there was a take-away menu in the room. It only had a few items on it, but not much of a real variety. I ordered from it, and it looked like microwave food when it arrived. I was a little disappointed by that.

It might be a lot better to dine out at restaurants or local pubs within the area instead. Breakfast could be improved in a lot of ways. There wasn’t much to choose from for a hot breakfast. It was just sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. I had this while I stayed here and I’m sure that the beans were the same which were served the day before. It didn’t look fresh or appealing at all. Continental was also available too.

It is a nice hotel with a few things that I don’t personally like. If it could be improved, then it would be a lot better I feel. I won’t rule out staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for somewhere that's quiet. Dine out as there is not a good variety of food at the hotel. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxiMuscleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Lionel Street Hotel, your feedback is much appreciated. I wanted to provide you with some answers / updates to your points raised.

The hotel takes a £25 deposit for all guests that wish to pay with cash. This is to cover any extras that you may have, such as drinks and also to cover damages to the room. The deposit is refunded to you on check out.

Due to the building design, windows are not able to be opened, however for your comfort we do have heating controls within the bedrooms.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our food offering. At the moment in time evening food is limited, however we will be launching a new snack menu over the next few months. Breakfast is also undergoing a makeover and we will be launching our new continental breakfast over the coming weeks. This will still be complimentary for our guests.

There are many changes taking place within the hotel and the biggest and most exciting change is that in September, the hotel will become the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. We hope that you come and stay with us again soon and experience this new brand in Birmingham.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here with a school party as part of the Music for Youth festival. Excellent location for the various venues, only 5 minutes from the Symphony Hall. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would expect in a 3 star hotel. The staff were, in general, helpful, apart from one individual on the front desk, who couldn't seem to understand why we wanted the adult TV channels blocked from the youngsters' rooms. This was rectified by the general manager, fortunately. The breakfast was quite basic but adequate for out purposes. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Lionel Street Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and found the hotel to be in a good location, and most important, clean and comfortable.

All of our rooms now offer freeview TV as standard and adult channels do not form part of this package ongoing.

I hope that should you return to Birmingham, that you will come and stay with us again. Exciting changes are happening and in September we will be rebranding to the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked this hotel through hotels.com and wasn't sure what to expect for such a low price, but as it was just somewhere to lay our heads on a night out i booked it.
On arrival the hotel looked lovely, modern and clean. staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were great, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, plenty of mirrors (a must when going on a night out) and looked nice. there were also spare towels and an additional pillow in the room if required.
Now i must make the point that i can NEVER sleep in a hotel, i like my own bed and can never get comfortable in any other bed.... however i slept like a baby!!! nice big pillows, memory foam mattress topper... heaven :) Breakfast in the morning was adequate. The hot food did look like it had been there for days but there were plenty of options of cereal and there was a toaster and nice coffee so i was happy.
I really cant complain about anything and i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag M, Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham,

I was delighted to read you comments regarding your bedroom & that you had a great night's sleep. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme at the moment, which will be complete later on this month, the room in which you stayed has been refurbished & the bed in particular has had great comments.

We are currently working on improving our breakfast offering and I am confident that you will see the results of this in the near future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,440 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#54 of 118 in Birmingham
1,533 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing