We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday/ Mother's day weekend as a base for attending a concert at Symphony hall. We picked it for price, it included breakfast and had parking facilities although it was paid parking. What can I say, rooms were spotless, bed was comfortable, showers were great, breakfast was lovely they had thought of everything. It's not luxury nor does it look basic. Staff were very helfpul always someone there, parking is under cover and eating area lovely. Highly recommend this hotel, very good value and very central.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clery2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, what a review. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it really is good to hear about our guests experiences and the pleasant time they have had with us. Its great to read that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be friendly, this is what we pride ourselves on.

Don't leave it until next Mothers Day, come back and stay with us again much sooner!

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    513
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
159
331
79
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Level Contributor
294 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

£48 for a twin room on a Saturday night including (continental) breakfast can't be bad.

Stayed before when it was a Holiday Inn Express, and now the décor is brighter, the staff are friendlier and the beds are comfier.

Rooms are basic but comfortable with a decent enough shower room. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and personable, and reception were welcoming on arrival and found us a room to check into even though it was 1230.

Breakfast was adequate and the late night bar was handy.

The Shakespeare next door is a lovely pub.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

You highlighted some great aspects of the hotel to include the beds (they really are great, I agree) and also my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Where do I start......this place was second to none!

On checking in, a young, happy, smiling lad called Julian went through the paperwork etc with us and wished us a pleasant stay.

The room was clean, fresh, tidy, adequate for our needs and a nice touch of a curly wurly on the bed which was quickly consumed by the better half!

Continental breakfast was a lovely change from the traditional fry up. Staff were friendly and polite throughout our whole stay.

The hotel is situated in the city centre (about a 10 min walk from Birmingham New Street) but just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Saturday night atmosphere and party-goers.

We had no problems at all with this hotel and will be recommending this to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. Its a pleasure to read how you enjoyed your stay with us and best of all found the hotel to have a friendly team and be clean and and comfortable.

We are delighted that you would recommend the hotel to your friends and family, and we hope we can welcome you all to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just stayed for a week, there are many positives to the hotel. Good, quiet location, lovely reception staff, large clean rooms, good sized bathrooms and comfortable beds. Now this is what a don't get...the Style branding. my room had a large purple mural of diamonds and rather than feeling stylish actually makes the room feel a bit dull, the breakfast wasn't amazing - the 2 mornings I went the food had been properly picked over and not much left. On the whole the hotel does feel a bit sole less. Whilst writing this I now realise what the decor reminds me of. From reception to the rooms it is like a modern hospital with 'touches ' to cheer up the patients...would I stay again ...possibly, would I recommend...i don't know

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheatreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel be in a good location and to have comfortable beds. At the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre every floor level takes on a different theme that is associated with Birmingham. The purple floor which you stayed on is our Jewellery Quarter themed room. Other floors include the iconic Selfridges Building and the new Birmingham Library. Should you decide to stay with us again, we will be delighted to offer you an alternative room which we hope you will love.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very good location.

Very good service.

The room was very adequate for our needs.

the price was very good.

good breakfast. good parking underneath £12 for 24 hours

Just watch out for the deposit being put back on your girlfriends account ;)

We will use this place again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. Its great to read that you had an enjoyable short stay with us and the room was adequate for your needs.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

In all my years travelling, I have never returned to my hotel room after a long day to find the room had not been cleaned nor the beds made up... until now. Housekeeping staff must have also been on holiday. and no, I didn't leave the "do not disturb" sign on the door. The front desk staff were very nice and sent up fresh towels at least. Listen, it is a hotel... we pay, you check us in and clean the rooms. that's it. a simple arrangement. Get your part right. thanx.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your room was not serviced during your stay with us. Your room not being serviced is not normal practice for the hotel and I will look into how this happened. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.

I trust all other elements of your stay met your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for 1 night on 14th march as we saw Jack Whitehall at the NIA, and wanted somewhere close by to stay, which it indeed was just a 5 minute walk away from the venue. We were greeted at the hotel reception, and check in was quick and easy; no fuss. Room was lovley, I have no qualms with it whatsoever, room was clean, the beds were SO comfortable, big flatscreen TV with all the freeview channels, bathroom was clean fresh and modern with a great
power shower. Overall it was a brilliant stay, with no complaints. Would definatley stay there again! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charisxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you had a great experience whilst staying with us.

We are in a great location as you mentioned for people attending the NIA, which makes life that little bit easier.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again!

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Property: ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing