We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel after leaving the other hotel i was originally booked into after seeing how dirty it was (Britannia Birmingham).

The staff at reception were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, tidy and spacious with good modern facilities.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however there is a complimentary breakfast. The food was nice with a good range to choose from. Cooked breakfast, toast, fruit, croissants, muffins, cereal. You can take your breakfast up to your room too if you want to eat away from the small dining area. There is a small bar area too, but if you are looking for full facilities then book in to the full service Holiday Inn near New Street station. It is just as nice and clean.

Thoroughly enjoyed my two nights in the hotel, slept great, beds were lovely and hotel was very quiet even though it was fully booked. The staff clearly have a passion for service.

I also have to mention that the location is great, 5 minute walk away from everything, and there are a couple of pubs and bars round the corner from the hotel. I have to say that the steak house is really lovely - best food i've had in a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July and it was great. The staff at check-in were very friendly and informative and the room was clean and comfortable. Location is great, just a 5 minute walk to Broad Street and not much further from New Street and the Bullring shopping centre. Have to say that the shower was absolutely amazing :) Would definately recommend to anyone who needs a hotel in Birmingham for a few nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Although I have given it a great deal of thought there was not a single thing that I could find wrong with this hotel. The car parking is safe and secure, the welcome on the reception was lovely, the room was spotlessly clean, the bed was lovely and comfortable and the buffett breakfast had enough variety to please everyone. The central location is perfect for bars, restaurants and shops. Also, there is a brilliant pub, right next door to the hotel, called the William Shakespeare, which does very reasonably price exellent food. what more could anyone ask for. We will certainly stay at this hotel again when we next visit Birmingham.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candolim1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The hotel is one of the nearest to the main New St. train station, which attracted us to it. It had pleasant rooms and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I recently stayed here and having read some of the reviews I think people are confusing Holiday Inn Express on Lionel Street with other Holiday Inn's in the City (and there are a few!)

There is no food served here except in the mornings when they offer a help yourself breakfast.

The hotel does have car parking at £10 a day and it is conveniently located, however other than that it is a simple basic Holiday Inn Express that is OK for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed for two nights for work; very pleasant room which was clean and bright and an adequate breakfast. If you need to be in the city centre the location is excellent and there were an excellent range of bars and restuarants within easy walking distance. I had no problems with traffic noise and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The hotel is a few minutes walking distance from the City Centre shops and restaurants - perfect for a girls only shopping weeklend!

We asked for a quiet room and were allocated a room on the 3rd floor at ther back of the buiding. We slept really well but I doubt the front of the hotel would have been noisy as it is not situated on a main road.

I asked for an extra duvet so I could soften the mattress slightly but the mattress was just right for my sister. The room was clean, bright and spacious. The bathroom was a good size with a large walk-in shower with adjustable shower head rather than a fixed one. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was a bonus.

Breakfast was rather crowded on Sunday morning and it was necessary to queue however this did not spoil our impressions of the hotel. The staff kept replenishing the food as supplies ran low.

On Saturday evening we walked across to the Mailbox where there were a number of different restaurants to choose from.

We would be very happy to stay at the hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlyPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,212 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing