We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute disgrace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute disgrace!”
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I was absolutely disgusted with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I booked my room on the telephone stating I needed 4 people in one room. I was quoted £90 which sounded OK to me. I have stayed in better hotels with better last minute rates but my previous stay at a Holiday Inn had been great so thought it would be worth it.
I travelled 6 hours on my birthday to get to the hotel to which I was told I would have to pay an extra £50. Why? Because I have 4 people staying, not two. I informed them that I told the person on the phone I had 4 people and that I should not be charged this unexpected cost on arrival as it is unfair. They refused to help me and so I asked to cancel the room to which I was told I would be charged a £90 cancellation fee. How is this fair?? I was in a lose lose situation but reluctantly paid the fee out of my birthday money. To top things off, the room was a box room, had 2 towells between 4 girls, and the bed were not made. Never again shall I use such a dodgy joke of a company and I would seriously reconsider using this micky mouse hotel chain. USE ETAP...much cheaper, no hidden costs, and a much bigger room!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave14121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    532
    200
    61
    34
See reviews for
165
353
80
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We booked room late to see show at nia. For £55 b&b so close to complex and still handy for shopping cannot be faulted. They should advertise parking better though. Cost £10 for 24hrs and on description was a yard out the back. It was actually a secure well lit basement to the hotel with lift to reception. The 24hrs allowed us to shop before we checked in also. Breakfast basic but lots of it & good quality which was fine. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brassneck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A very pleasant one night's stay. Staff friendly and helpful at all times, room very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Secure parking at a fair rate for a city hotel. Complimentary
breakfast good in quantity and quality. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewwhitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

What you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Standard reasonably sized room, clean with friendly staff. Parking and internet usage is extra on-top of your bill and no restaurant which I believe is standard in all Holiday Inn Express hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_ncl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Friendly staff on arrival. Room clean and confortable, although didn't like the pillows even though there was a choice of soft or hard (personal preference, others might find them OK). TV picture a bit fuzzy. bathroom clean and good shower.
Breakfast OK nothing special, but efficient staff topping up and clearing away.
For the price could have included a few biscuits and hot choc in the room rather than having to pay from the vending machine.
Very good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdwatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Good location for the centre (walk to Broad St/canals 5 mins one way, business/shopping districts 5 mins the other) on a quiet street. Acceptable room for the night, clean, good shower and bed, spacious for the price, small TV with only 5 channels + Sky News and very bad reception. Continental buffet breakfast included (with undrinkable coffee). Robotically efficient receptionists - no eye contact, very bored demeanour.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel after leaving the other hotel i was originally booked into after seeing how dirty it was (Britannia Birmingham).

The staff at reception were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, tidy and spacious with good modern facilities.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however there is a complimentary breakfast. The food was nice with a good range to choose from. Cooked breakfast, toast, fruit, croissants, muffins, cereal. You can take your breakfast up to your room too if you want to eat away from the small dining area. There is a small bar area too, but if you are looking for full facilities then book in to the full service Holiday Inn near New Street station. It is just as nice and clean.

Thoroughly enjoyed my two nights in the hotel, slept great, beds were lovely and hotel was very quiet even though it was fully booked. The staff clearly have a passion for service.

I also have to mention that the location is great, 5 minute walk away from everything, and there are a couple of pubs and bars round the corner from the hotel. I have to say that the steak house is really lovely - best food i've had in a long time!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Property: ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing