We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on for central Birmingham....!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here for the a Weekend-Away, and it met all our expectations. This hotel only has 60 odd rooms, so is a nice size, and not overcrowded.
The rooms, we booked a De-luxe on the 3rd floor, were great. Nice high ceilings, very comfy king-size bed, and soft luxury linen. The bathroom was huge, with an amazing walk-in shower, and freestanding bath.
We didn't eat evening dinner here, but really enjoyed the breakfast the following morning, which was well served, and really tasty, a great choice too!
The bar before going out to dinner was really plesant, a really nice atmosphere for a few glasses of vino, and served with some tasty olives, and pistachios.
I would definately stay here again when visiting Birmingham, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Very good indeed........!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room. Only a bit more expensive, but really worth it, for the big room, and great ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cashy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Having read some of the reviews on here I think I stayed at a different hotel to some. It is a fantastic and special hotel. The building itself was an eye hospital and has been very carefully and sensitively turned into a hotel.

The staff are great. The guys in the bar (called The Bubble) could not be more welcoming and they mixed one of the best mojitos I've ever had.

The hotel is within walking distance of New Street station and the Bull Ring shopping centre. I hadn't been to Birmingham for years but for England's second city it is very pleasant and staying at the Hotel du Vin made the whole experience of the city great.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was very spacious with a high ceiling and a big bathroom. Would choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I visited the 'pub du vin' for a drink on a Saturday evening, I wasn't staying in the hotel. However, the service I received from the staff member on duty was nothing short of outstanding. After my drink I was about to leave to get the train home, however the staff member advised it was pouring down (which it certainly was) and I should take an umbrella, to which he gave me an umbrella! This proved very useful! This is an example of really outstanding service. I will definately be recommending this venue to others and will definately return - Truly Outstanding Customer Service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were looking forward to a child free weekend and a bit of dropping - both of which we got but the room we were allocated was tiny no room even to open the wardrobe door and there was no room to walk around the twin beds we were finally allocated a slightly larger room but still too small so we enjoyed the weekend break in spite of the room

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Friendly reception, great room: huge bed, fantastic bathroom. Superb (but pricey) meal in the Bistro. Pub du Vin serves great beer. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavalierattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Positives: Nice bedding, towels, shower, products and bath that you expect in a Hotel du Vin. The gym and spa are proper ones. Not the rubbish that many hotels claim. Evening meal was good if expensive. Continental breakfast was very good. Espresso machine in room was a nice touch. Offering a late check out is good and staff were helpful with bag storage.

Negatives: Airless hot, small room. Air conditioning did not cool room. If you opened the windows there was endless noise from rattling roof top units and helicopters. Smoke alarm going off at 12.30 did not help - staff very complacent about this. So pretty poor sleep quality. TV grainy and very limited channels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giggsy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed one night B & B. The reception was very welcoming, staff very helpful advising on where to visit and eat. Our room was large with a lovely big comfy bed. The bathroom was excellent, lovely roll top bath and the best shower I've ever had! Only negatives on the room was the heat, the air-con didn't seem to work. We had a few drinks in the bar before bedtime which was pleasant, though a bit pricey. Breakfast was very good. There was an excellent array of pastries, cake, proper comb honey, yogurt & cereals. We chose eggs Benedict and waffles with maple syrup for our hot breakfast choice which were lovely and made a great change to the usual breakfast choice. Decor was a wee bit jaded in places but overall a very good night away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
953 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,148 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
1,016 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £96 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing