We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW YEARS EVE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
derby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The room was a little smaller than expected ( MUMM ) and had the worst lighting we had ever experienced it made looking for anything virtually impossible. What we could see of the room suggested it was a little tired this was reflected in the fact that the door handle had to be replaced having come away from the door. The room was also exceedingly hot. Were I only to rank on the room the review would be poor.
The hotel redeemed itself by providing an excellent bar and dining experience in the Bistro, the assistance with wine selection and subsequent recommendations were great.
We decided the new years eve party was probably a little family orientated and too much like a wedding reception for our tastes. The staff were again exceedingly helpful in arranging for us to spend the rest of the evening in an enviroment with a little more atmosphere. On our return we discovered the HDV party ended around 12-30.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsmyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    484
    267
    124
    71
See reviews for
166
670
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Booked a 2 night stay for family get together at this hotel. Stayed in the Steenberg suite. Nice size but that was about it! Room was shabby and beginning to show it's age, with stains on carpet, chipped and ill fitting wardrobe doors, badly regrouted bathroom.Heating could not be turned off and french window latch was broken. Bed was large but not particularly comfortable. The main source of irritation was the noise! Our room had one French window overlooking the central coutyard and all I could hear was a constant drone from some sort of fan or air conditioning unit. This went on throughout the night.Staff were generally ok but we had trouble getting our point accross to some who did not speak fluent English.Another of my paticular hang ups was the lack of parking facilities. But at least that was mentioned on the web site and the £20 valet parking in a public car park was not a surprise!£75 per night would have been good value not the £180 I paid. Need to up their game.

Room Tip: Don't get the Steenberg suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

After spending a good 30 minutes we finally managed to find a space near the hotel.
Our room was compact to say the least but reasonably well equipped. The shower was very good and the bed was comfortable however the heat made it difficult to sleep.
The best part of the hotel was the excellent Pub Du Vin in the cellar of the hotel which served three excellent local Real Ales available at very reasonable prices.
The food at dinner was very good apart from the amount of chilli which spoiled the Scallop starter.
The service was also good at all times.
We would stop here again as everything is easy walking distance including the arenas,shopping area and the Canal District.

Room Tip: Ask for the air conditioning to be explained
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed here for a single night in December. The hotel itself was nice with large spacious rooms and excellently equipped bathrooms (loved the rainfall shower). The room was nicely equipmed with Nespresso coffee machine (although some kind of key to what the different coloured coffee packets actually meant would have been nice), TV and DVD player & honour mini bar. I booked on the B&B rate which makes breakfast £10 rather than £12.50. There was a good selection of cold items in the buffet and a reasonable selection of hot items – a bit limited for a vegetarian, however they did make me a very nice omelette.

My only gripe really is that the room was clearly set up for two people, and yet there was only one armchair. Being a large room the TV was sufficiently far away the watching from the bed was not an option so had we wanted to watch TV or make use of the DVD player one of us would have had to sit on the hard uncomfortable desk chair. Quite frankly when the room has more than enough space to accommodate arms chairs or even a sofa putting in one chair is distinctly stingy.

A couple of things worth pointing out for anyone else thinking of staying here:
Parking – there is an NCP car park very close to the hotel that charges £10.50 for 24 hours, and in fact when I asked about parking I was told to use this rather than the £20 a night valet parking they mentioned on the web page. This is all well and good, but the car park is pay and display and will only take coins and does not give any change. So be prepared and take the right money.

Street noise – this is not something that bothers me, and when staying in a city I like to hear the hustle and bustle outside. However if noise bothers you then I will point out that there was a fair bit of it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Easy to find, centrally located, friendly check-in AND valet parking....a great way to start any mini-break!

You generally know what you're going to get with hotel du vin and it rarely fails to disappoint. Lovely hotel, great decor and just a few steps away from the city centre. The reception staff had customer service down to a fine art, even remembering our names and room without any prompt.

Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and we loved the decor. The room had everything you need including a wonderful old-fashioned style bath tub (fit for two) and there was a nice bottle of red ready to hand. Bliss! Yes, it's a little bit more expensive than most generic hotel chains but it's worth every penny, especially if you're on a leisure break with a partner and it's a bit of a treat.

There are a few areas where there was room for improvement. I've visited a few Hotel du Vin hotels now and the curse of understaffing in the bar reared it's ugly head again...and they had also run out of Baileys. In the big scheme of things though, the hotel had notched up enough brownie points for this not to be an issue!

A great hotel to unwind in, enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaleigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Having had good previous experience with Hotel du Vin, I booked a deluxe double room here as a surprise for my wifes birthday. We weren't disappointed - the room was spacious and the bathroom was enormous, with fantastic walk-in shower and roll top bath. As we were having a rare night away from our two-year old, these were enjoyable luxuries, as was the comfortable superking bed, plus breakfast in bed in the morning - delicious and good value too.

Customer service was good - when inquring in advance how late we could check out, I was told that normal check-out was 11.30am, but that they could push it back to 1.30pm for us.

I booked in advance at the HdV saver rate through the Hotel du Vin website, which gave us a really good price for a fantastic night away.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SolarPoweredDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel, within a 10 minute walk from the Station ( new st), in the centre.
The bedrooms are named after Wines and Champagnes, mine, was spotlessly clean.
The Bistro provides fantastic food, and Dan and staff in the Bistro are wonderful.
My only comment, is the LOUD DREADFUL background music that is played in the Bistro. Which cannot be turned off !!! (This is not acceptable)
There are 2 bars, one upstairs in the Hotel reception, where you can sit at the bar, or relax in huge leather settees, and one in the basement, leading out onto the side street.
There is a snooker table on the ground floor, and the public toilets are spotless.
The reception area lighting could be improved, although it was not as dark as others have commented on. The reception staff are welcoming, and checking-in took a couple of minutes. There in no Hotel carpark, so they will take your car to a multi story car park at the rear of the hotel, in an exclusive secure area for the Hotel, at an extra cost. There is 20 mins of free internet in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,228 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,921 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
972 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing