We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip to birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 13 January 2012

this place was gorgeous. Room luxurious with roll topped bath. Felt like a filmstar in this room. Even got a nespresso machine to make coffee using the little cartons plus had a teeny weeny milk bottle in fridge as opposed to the rubbish nasty tasting cartons or sachets. We ate in the restaurant where the food was divine. Breakfast was just as impressive with a large choice of freshly cooked hot food eg kipper/ eggs benedict or the usual full english. Freshly baked banana bread to slice yourself and yoghurts in glass pots. As if we wern't impressed enough when we checked out Rob Brydon was checking in so I shook hands with him and told him I'm a big fan at which point I then let him be. No photo or autograph as too chavvy in a place like this

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobylindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Hotel couldnt have made our wedding day more perfect. Everything ran like clockwork and the food was excellent. Hot and perfectly cooked with fantastic service. We couldnt have asked for more. All the guests who stayed in the hotel were very impressed with the rooms and we felt we had achieved the chic hotel wedding we were after. Thank you Hotel Du Vin.My daughter had forgotten her babies bottle and the porter went out and bought her some and put them in the room! No charge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed in a room who's name I can't even remember it was so long. Numbers would be easier. We stayed 4 NY Eve. The rooms are too hot, V well equipped but again i have to agree, very dark. The bath was a dream after a hard day shopping! Make sure you book b&b as if you pay for breakfast separately it's not worth it. The staff were excellent, the bar staff at 2am on NY day were still cheerful:) Location is great, far enough away from the main drag to be quiet but close enough to get there in 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The room was a little smaller than expected ( MUMM ) and had the worst lighting we had ever experienced it made looking for anything virtually impossible. What we could see of the room suggested it was a little tired this was reflected in the fact that the door handle had to be replaced having come away from the door. The room was also exceedingly hot. Were I only to rank on the room the review would be poor.
The hotel redeemed itself by providing an excellent bar and dining experience in the Bistro, the assistance with wine selection and subsequent recommendations were great.
We decided the new years eve party was probably a little family orientated and too much like a wedding reception for our tastes. The staff were again exceedingly helpful in arranging for us to spend the rest of the evening in an enviroment with a little more atmosphere. On our return we discovered the HDV party ended around 12-30.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattsmyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Booked a 2 night stay for family get together at this hotel. Stayed in the Steenberg suite. Nice size but that was about it! Room was shabby and beginning to show it's age, with stains on carpet, chipped and ill fitting wardrobe doors, badly regrouted bathroom.Heating could not be turned off and french window latch was broken. Bed was large but not particularly comfortable. The main source of irritation was the noise! Our room had one French window overlooking the central coutyard and all I could hear was a constant drone from some sort of fan or air conditioning unit. This went on throughout the night.Staff were generally ok but we had trouble getting our point accross to some who did not speak fluent English.Another of my paticular hang ups was the lack of parking facilities. But at least that was mentioned on the web site and the £20 valet parking in a public car park was not a surprise!£75 per night would have been good value not the £180 I paid. Need to up their game.

Room Tip: Don't get the Steenberg suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

After spending a good 30 minutes we finally managed to find a space near the hotel.
Our room was compact to say the least but reasonably well equipped. The shower was very good and the bed was comfortable however the heat made it difficult to sleep.
The best part of the hotel was the excellent Pub Du Vin in the cellar of the hotel which served three excellent local Real Ales available at very reasonable prices.
The food at dinner was very good apart from the amount of chilli which spoiled the Scallop starter.
The service was also good at all times.
We would stop here again as everything is easy walking distance including the arenas,shopping area and the Canal District.

Room Tip: Ask for the air conditioning to be explained
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed here for a single night in December. The hotel itself was nice with large spacious rooms and excellently equipped bathrooms (loved the rainfall shower). The room was nicely equipmed with Nespresso coffee machine (although some kind of key to what the different coloured coffee packets actually meant would have been nice), TV and DVD player & honour mini bar. I booked on the B&B rate which makes breakfast £10 rather than £12.50. There was a good selection of cold items in the buffet and a reasonable selection of hot items – a bit limited for a vegetarian, however they did make me a very nice omelette.

My only gripe really is that the room was clearly set up for two people, and yet there was only one armchair. Being a large room the TV was sufficiently far away the watching from the bed was not an option so had we wanted to watch TV or make use of the DVD player one of us would have had to sit on the hard uncomfortable desk chair. Quite frankly when the room has more than enough space to accommodate arms chairs or even a sofa putting in one chair is distinctly stingy.

A couple of things worth pointing out for anyone else thinking of staying here:
Parking – there is an NCP car park very close to the hotel that charges £10.50 for 24 hours, and in fact when I asked about parking I was told to use this rather than the £20 a night valet parking they mentioned on the web page. This is all well and good, but the car park is pay and display and will only take coins and does not give any change. So be prepared and take the right money.

Street noise – this is not something that bothers me, and when staying in a city I like to hear the hustle and bustle outside. However if noise bothers you then I will point out that there was a fair bit of it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
2,399 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,539 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
1,031 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £87 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing