We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
699
563
321
148
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
563
321
148
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eye hospital roll top bath bubbles bar monsoon shower bubble lounge afternoon tea nespresso machine huge bathroom deluxe room birthday treat mini bar walk in shower lovely room saturday night city centre stayed for one night cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,571 - 1,576 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Standard double room was a bit tatty in areas such as wall paper peeling and not feeling 'sparkling' tiles but still pleasant with some luxury touches. Nice to have a Nespresso machine, shower was good and bed comfy. Quiet yet central location, close to Snow Hill station. Some very tempting wines and food in the bistro. Also good to have the Pub Du Vin downstairs for a more informal drink as well as the swankier bar on the ground floor.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Overall a pleasurable stay but decor just needs touching up especially given price and brand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife booked this Hotel for a surprise stop over in Brum. The Hotel is close to Snowhill Railway Station and we parked above the station overnight(livery Street) upon advice from reception £10.40 for 24hrs. Tip for the car park have plenty of change for payment or pay by card via mobile. Hotel is situated just off Queensway minutes from Bull Ring and less then 10mins walk from Symphany Hall.
Hotel has a good Restaurant, Bar and Pub. We had a standard room but was given the opportunity to upgrade £40 to a large room and walk in shower, we decided to stay in the Standard. Shower was excellent inc bath robes . Bed was very comfortable and windows overlooked the Hotel Conservatory. The only moan for the room was that the bed ended too close to the wardrobe so they was a small gap to walk past. You could not fully open the wardobe door . Tea and coffee in room (inc Nespresso machine ).No biscuits!
Breakfast was ok but if it was not in the overnight price I would have been dissapointed in the qauntity of the cooked, although it was very tasty. It is not a buffet style so cooked is very fresh.Lots of choices for continental which is Buffet style. Staff were very friendly. All the rooms named after wines. Recommend this Hotel for short stay in Birmingham

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at Reception
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I think I have stayed here 3 times and overall its always been a great place for a night away. The rooms are clean and spacious (although I’ve never had a base level room, always having chosen something above the minimum for that bit more space), one of the best stays was on a quiet Sunday evening when we felt like the only people in the hotel. The Bistro is reasonably priced and the food has always been really good, if you’ve read any of my other reviews you’ll know I can be picky and I will complain if things are not as they should be, but I have never had cause to complain in the Bistro, the service has always been good, the food and drink quality has always been good, the Sommelier is actually a Sommerlier i.e. knows something about the wines rather than just being another waiter/waitress and the portions are of a decent size.
The hotel is in a good location for central Birmingham, shame it doesn’t have an onsite car park but that’s really the only downside to the place for me. Its infinitely better than Mal Maison (part of the same group) and I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Booked an overnight stay, for Saturday 4th, and was surprised by the relatively poor level of service.

Firstly on checking in, a light bulb in the bedroom had blowen. This was reported to the reception staff as we went out for the afternoon - but at no time during our stay did housekeeping come to replace the bulb.

There was only one robe in the bedroom, a second was ordered and never came.

The room was large, comfortable but spartan. Otherwise generally a good hotel, though the corridors are long & narrow - but the building is stunning.

These are small things, accepted, but when you consider the quality of the brand & the chain - it was generally disappointing.

Could do better.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the financial district, so it is generally quite at night. Nevertheless go for a high a room as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverMaxwell-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Exquitsite designed and furbished rooms named after vines of all kinds. Restaurant and bar were splendid. Can easily recommend this hotel for your next Birmingham stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms on a seperate floor. Avoid that!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steen-odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews