We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE NIGHT STAY S A COUPLE FOR PRIVATE FUNCTION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Wombourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“ONE NIGHT STAY S A COUPLE FOR PRIVATE FUNCTION”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night, the first week in July for a private function. Check in was speedy and efficient, we were told that a wedding function was taking place, so we expected it might affect our service. Not so - our group of around 30 were allocated the Courtyard and an adjacent dining room.
Service was excellent, biscuits for the cheeseboard took a long time to arrive but dealt with.
Standard of food very good and an excellent venue in the Courtyard both before and after dinner. Good saffing levels.
Bedroom small but you are in the City Centre in what was the former eye infirmary. Bed excellent and shower etc.
Morning newspaper, which was ordered never arrived but when referred to at reception was dealt with very promptly.
Breakfast very good with good staffing levels and very attentive service. Very good quality.
Check out busy but efficient.
Overall very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    476
    261
    123
    70
See reviews for
165
662
37
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked in for just the one night to spend some time with family over from Dublin,the room we had was very quite the bed was very comfy, The over the bath shower soaked the floor, i think the screen leaks and to the breakfast was very poor just luke warm.The tomatoes were uncooked and the bacon was cold.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

What a great place! The downstairs bar service was a bit slow but the ambience is good. We were part of a large party having a 3 course meal. The service was excellent and the food was very good. We will re-visit as a couple.

Room Tip: We didn't stay, only had a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Booked last minute for the Friday night deal. Excellent value and enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal23roe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights over the last 2 weeks and will try to summarise what I found to be a very poor experience:

Rooms
Very dark (to the point where it is impossible to work at the desk depending on the room you are allocated), uncomfortable pillows and some issues with cleanliness with dust, marks on bedsheets etc. The bathrooms are also in need of an update with cracked tiles etc.

Food
Generally good but cooked breakfast was burnt on a few days. My main gripe is that when ordering room service you are charged a tray charge of £2.50 and also an additional 10% service charge. What exactly is the additional service provided if it isn't bringing it to your room which is covered by the tray charge?? Even when my colleagues and I scored out the supposedly optional service charge on the bill it still turned up on our final bill on check out. Also, asking for an extra slice of brioche with the parfait though room service this incurs a £1 additional charge but if you eat in the Bistro you receive a free baguette which you don't get for room service - where's the logic in charging an extra £1 when the meal pricing is identical in the restaurant and for room service!? All in all, it left the impression that the hotel would try and get every last penny out of you.

Service
Good. Staff were helpful.

I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel for business given the lack of light in rooms and also wouldn't choose to stay here for leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more than one 40W spotlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller98765432140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Me and a few friends decided to go on a road trip to Birmingham due to it being my birthday and one of the other girls. On arrival we were greeted so well. Went to our rooms and both were amazing roll top bath monsoon shower and comfy bed... Great stay great breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I recently organised a dinner for 80 people here - it went very smoothly, fantastic work by the team on the night with last minute alterations dealt with fantastically. No issue was insurmountable for Jaro and Francois!

The food was excellent, which considering they were serving 80 people at once was brilliant. And of course the wine was very good too and very reasonable for this event.

I did stay at the hotel and the room was amazing! My bathroom was the same size as my bedroom with a roll top bath and a wonderful rainfall shower. Great service by all the staff.

My only quibble was no conditioner and no body lotion in the bathroom, and the hairdryer could have been a bit more powerful - but that is it!

So - you're lucky if you get to stay here on business, probably more fun for a romantic weekend!

Didn't try the spa, sadly but the menu looked great!

Room Tip: I stayed in Veuve Clicot - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyknitter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing