We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
643
538
308
142
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
538
308
142
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseye hospitalroll top bathbubbles barmonsoon showerbubble loungenespresso machinedeluxe roombirthday treatmini barlarge bathroomwalk in showerlovely roomcity centresaturday nightstayed for one nightfollowing morningcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,268 - 1,273 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed on our way back down from Manchester to Bristol. Good value - wonderful place to stay.

We also ate in the Bistro - very helpful in re-arranging a time as we got badly delayed on the M6.

Staff always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If driving there is an NCP literally just round the corner - which is relatively reasonable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badgerfrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear BadgerfromBristol

Firstly may I congratulate you for having the best Tripadvisor username I have ever seen and secondly thank you so much for your kind comments. They mean a lot to my team and I.

We hope you will take the opportunity to stay and dine with us again next time you are in the area.

Best regards, Tony and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed following a wedding at the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of small rooms and courtyard settings used during wedding which was great to move between during several hours of chat, eating and dancing. Food was buffet style served in a courtyard, but seated in formal dining setting and the food was of an excellent quality. Room was large with fantastic monsoon shower, but as many other reviews have said a little 'tired'. The hotel in general was a little shabby, but some may say shabby chique - it didn't particularly detract from the stay. Breakfast room is very pleasant and plenty of selection including a good range for cold or hot. Bar prices are a bit steep with lime and soda at £2.50 and a glass of wine £8, but I suppose you should expect this for a city centre hotel, but definitely ensured we didn't drink too much (our hosts had been more than generous anyway!). We would still stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear "rmtkol"

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

I am delighted to hear you had such a good time at the big wedding, it was a pleasure for my team and I to look after you and your friends and family.

You are right to say that, whilst we do aim for a rustic, charming appearance, we are looking a bit tired in places. We will be addressing this very soon with our upcoming hotel refurbishment.

Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Reception staff really friendly & efficient. Bar staff first class. Restaurant staff & food excellent. Hotel layout quite quirky, really liked that, rooms good but require little paint touch ups here and there. One disappointment was the price of a cooked breakfast, if it was £10 less I'm sure they would sell plenty rather than the none I saw purchased at nearly £20. Overall great, not a big breakfast fan anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear "JW"

Thank you for your fantastic review!

I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the service you experienced from my team.

I am not sure if we didn't explain the breakfast pricing correctly but cooked breakfast is just an additional £3 per person. If you book breakfast with your room online it only costs you an additional £10 per person on top of the Room Only price and is fantastic value with an amazing Farmhouse Table and Hot Menu.

We hope you will return soon.

Best regards, Tony and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room [Casa Lapoustolle] was a really good size with nicely muted colours BUT
1. having asked for a quiet room, it was bang [literally] opposite a noisy bar-with-music
2. having asked for a twin room, we were given a single - with only one desk chair and one armchair
3. nice fluffy towels and bathrobe, but only for one person, the other set of towels we found in the wardrobe
4. nice toiletries and kettle/drinks plus - oh joy - a Nespresso machine BUT it took around a pint of hot water to flush the Nespresso machine before the water was clear, not muddy
5. Nice widescreen 3D TV but only a handful of channels - not a single news channel - showing in the wrong aspect ratio, and the adjustment to fit the picture to the screen was disabled
6. The overhead downlighters were glaringly bright, and could only be operated from one bed, and the bedside lights were not adequate for reading - small bulbs, dark shades

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howpeopletick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear "Howpeopletick"

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that not everything in your stay was as you would have expected and I hope we may have the opportunity to give you a more satisfying stay in the future.

I am pleased you liked the room in general, the fluffy towels and nespresso machine but clearly there are some things we needed to do better, not least the allocation of the correct room type that you booked.

The big widescreen HD TV you mentioned now boasts full freeview selection as well as Sky Sports with many news channels to choose from. I am sorry this was not the case when you stayed with us but we were in the middle of our new TV installation and could not switch to the digital services until every TV had been installed.

We will also be increasing the amount of light in the bedrooms as we continue with our refurbishments and upgrades.

I am sorry that the bar over the road was playing loud music. They do not usually play any loud music and are often closed at the weekends due to our location in the smart business district of Birmingham. However, as part of our refurbishment programme we will be improving the sound proofing of our bedrooms.

Please do give us another try in the future and we will do what we can to improve your experience from 3 star to 5.

Best regards, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Situated in the business district, the hotel is pretty quiet for a city centre hotel, with very little traffic noise.
Valet parking was great. Lovely restored building, rooms luxurious & unusual in lay out. Great rain,walk in shower & bathtub. Great service from staff, so all good here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, my team were absolutely chuffed to read it.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks from Tony and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews