We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a mid week treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a mid week treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We decided to have a mid week treat and booked a last minute room at the Hotel du Vin. The room was up in the eaves on the top floor, bright and airy with lots of little luxuries. The bathroom was to die for and the roll top bath absolute heaven after a busy day. The staff were friendly and helpful and there really was nothing to fault about our stay apart from it being too short. Definitely the only place I want to stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear "wanderer035"

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

We avidly read the reviews to see how we can improve and I know my team were delighted to read your 5 star review.

You said the only thing wrong last time was that your stay was too short . . . we can fix that I'm sure!!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you leave London for England's second city.

Best regards and thanks again, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    464
    254
    120
    69
See reviews for
158
637
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had a really poor stay earlier in the year & Tony Galvin GM contacted us in order to offer us a revisit & demonstrate the reason why it has so many good reviews.our secong stay was great, really nice comfy room & large bathroom.we had dinner in the Bistro & breakfast tje next morning there. Food was very good as was tje service. We're glad we were given the opportunity to revisit. Looking forward to seeing it after its full renovation later in the year. THANKS to Tony & team.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear "ASJN"

Thank you so much for coming back and giving us another try. We let you down last time so it was a huge relief that not only were you prepared to come back but that we were able to redeem ourselves somewhat.

So, actually it's THANKS to YOU!!

Here's to many more enjoyable stays in the future I hope.

Kindest regards, Tony and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Great central location on a quiet street. Clean and well equipped. I have never had a hotel bath which filled so quickly and a good length too. The shower was excellent also.
Great bed but could do with a bit more room to walk around. Needs a light over the desk and a bit more shelf space in the bathroom.

The entrance is darkly lit and the stair carpet will need replacing between levels 1 and 2 very soon.

Very relaxing, we would go again and they take your car and park it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Caroline

Thank you for your great review and for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin.

I'm sure we can find you a room with more space next time you stay, some are big enough for a game of 5 a side football!

You have been very kind about the carpet on the stairs but that is fortunately due to be replaced along as part of our refurbishment very soon. We will also be taking the opportunity to increase the lighting in around the hotel and making sure there is a desk lamp at every desk.

I hope we have the opportunity to see you again very soon.

Best regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I recently needed a bed in Birmingham, for a single night and at short notice. I knew that this meant any 'crash-pad' chains were going to be expensive ... and they were.

So I was really surprised to find this quality hotel was offering rooms within my budget (of around £100 per night).

If you don't already know, Hotel du Vin is a pretty decent chain with, imo, well fitted out rooms, decent facilities and a slightly 'quirky / boutique' feel.

I'd previously considered them only for 'romantic-type' city weekend breaks, rather than for a business trip on a budget.

So my advice is include them in your searches when looking for a room. You may well be pleasantly surprised. I hope so ...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Martin

Thank you for your great review and also for the good advice you have shared about our pricing.

Hotel du Vin doesn't operate at the cheaper end of the market but we always strive to deliver great value and there are excellent deals to be had when you book at the right time.

Understandably, Hotel du Vin Brighton will always be the more popular option in the middle of Summer but equally that makes Birmingham even greater value during these months as we're so far from the seaside.

Look out for great deals all year around on Fridays and Sundays too. We currently do half price champagne on a Friday and a great Sunday night offer where you pay for dinner and get a room for £25.

We hope to see you again soon Martin.

Best regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Birmingham Hotel du Vin on a last minute decision, and did not regret. We had a good room, especially considering that we rang to book only half an hour before arrival.The food at the Bistro was excellent, but the thing which made our stay most enjoyable was the above and beyond service. Very well trained, courteous staff, who could not have been more helpful. We encountered a problem with our car on departure, and this was dealt with most helpfully, and efficiently. Thanks particularly go to the Manager, Tony Elvin, and to the Reception staff. We will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear "weekendstays"

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your understanding when something didn't run according to plan. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that my team and I lived up to your service expectations.

I hope we may have the opportunity to look after you again in future and thank you once again, most sincerely, for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to look after you.

Kindest regards, Tony and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I always got the impression Hotel Du Vin hotels were too expensive and hadn't really considered them in the past, but we got a room on a Friday night for 2 including breakfast for £99 which I think is not bad considering the location and quality. Top points - very helpful staff, massive comfy bed, "proper coffee" machine in the room, amazing drencher shower, tasty and interesting breakfast. I wouldn't have wanted to pay extra for the cooked breakfast element though which comes in at an eye watering £17 or so.

I'd definitely go back if I happened to need a night over in Birmingham!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waytooslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear "Waytooslow"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your subsequently positive review.

I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you found it great value too. Friday night is often the source of a good deal at Hotel du Vin Birmingham because it isn't located in what you might consider a typical weekend break location, which is a shame as Birmingham has really transformed over the past 10-15 years and there is so much to see and do.

Thank you also for taking time out to praise the team here. We all avidly read the Tripadvisor reviews to see how we are doing and what we can do better.

Breakfast is much better value than you have counted on though. As you were already on a Breakfast rate, the cooked breakfast would have only cost you an extra £3. I'm so sorry we did not make that clearer to you.

So, there's a great excuse to come back. We'll see if we can get you to a 5 star review experience next time with our Eggs Benedict or Full English Breakfast!

Best regards, Tony and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed on our way back down from Manchester to Bristol. Good value - wonderful place to stay.

We also ate in the Bistro - very helpful in re-arranging a time as we got badly delayed on the M6.

Staff always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If driving there is an NCP literally just round the corner - which is relatively reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerfrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear BadgerfromBristol

Firstly may I congratulate you for having the best Tripadvisor username I have ever seen and secondly thank you so much for your kind comments. They mean a lot to my team and I.

We hope you will take the opportunity to stay and dine with us again next time you are in the area.

Best regards, Tony and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing