We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed on Friday night. Unusual and attractive building. Quietest rooms are over looking courtyard. We had a very large room, massive bed and bathroom, rack rate £155. Paid extra for breakfast, service in restaurant for breakfast very poor, extremely slow, with other tables complaining, issues looked like they were in the kitchen. Lift was broken on the Friday night but sorted. Rooms difficult to find as all are named not numbered. We were offered help and refused it though...my suggestion have the help ! Check out very slow, one card machine down, no apologies...so overall service an issues, shame. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellachristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Stellachristine

Thank you choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am delighted to hear you were so pleased with the location of the hotel, your room and the massive bed & bathroom but of course disappointed to hear of your frustrations over breakfast and on check out.

The service experience you describe is not typical so I am very sorry that we let you down during this stay.

I do hope you will give us another try so that we may have the opportunity to wow you next time.

Best regards and thanks again, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel du Vin to celebrate our wedding anniversary and visit the Christmas markets. We decided to upgrade to a Studio suite (Freixenet) as it was a special weekend but were really disappointed by the overall condition of the furnishings and the room looked really tired - definitely not worth £239 for the Saturday night (room only). The communal areas are also in need of a refurbishment i.e. thread bare carpets on main stairs.

The location however was superb and only a short walk away from the shops/market and the meal in the Bistro was really good and as usual at HdV hotels, the Sommelier really knew his stuff. Only critisism was that my baked apple dessert was so hard I couldn't eat it, but the waiter took one look and said he would deduct it from the bill.

Would definitely look at returning but only once the bedrooms have been refurbished. The location saved our stay - we were both looking forward to this weekend and considered complaining/requesting an alternative room but we hit the German market / Bullring instead so spent very little time in the suite!

Room Tip: One that's been refurbished!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_H-Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear "H G's"

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin and for sharing your experience online.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the Bistro experience including the service you received from our Sommelier.

It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you back for a 5 star stay next time around.

Best regards and thanks again, Tony and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had an afternoon tea here with eight friends to celebrate my retirement. The tea was hot, fresh and frequently replenished, the sandwiches, scones and cakes delicious and the service excellent. Altogether a lovely experience and well worth the money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Italiaphile_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear "Italiaphile_7"

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your retirement with us for Afternoon Tea, for your kind words and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I am over the moon to hear that your event was such a success and wish you a very enjoyable retirement. I hope you are planning to spend some moments of it with us at Hotel du Vin Birmingham once gain.

Best regards from Tony and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed in the Sandeman room on second floor. After a rather arrogant and quite unhelpful staff member initially said room was ready for check in and then changed his position, things deteriorated. The toilets in used on the ground floor were awash with urine, and it looked like the toilet was broken. There should be a higher level of attention to the toilet facilities as this is a shared and public area of the hotel. The room,when we finally got access, is very tired indeed, and I read in an early post that the rooms were going through a refurbishment. This cannot happen soon enough. The Sandemen is not in good order and the furniture at the end of the bed was in a disgusting state, covering in stains which frankly should not have been there. The wardrobe suit was difficult to open and close and again had seen better days. The saving grace in the room was the up to date magazines which was a nice surprise. The bathroom floor was chipped and in need of some TLC. The water temperature fluctuated from warm to very hot, and the cistern took an age to refill. Sounds like a moan but at £215 for the room without breakfast you should expect much much more. I travel extensively and have experienced a lot of hotel chains and boutiques so the overall state of the services and the room was somewhat difficult to accept. My hope is the hotel shared areas are cleaned with greater frequency. The toilets particularly need much work. The check-in staff again are the first contact and need to be a little warmer and client focused. The bedrooms were old and need significant upgrade and quickly. A minimum repainting and cleaning of the soft furnishings. Final suggestion is the valet parking and it took over 15 minutes before the car was returned. This should not be such a difficult process, and with only one person on the team supporting the clients then no surprise there was such a delay. I will be happy to speak with the manager to discuss the issues in more detail. A most disappointing hotel stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockdrive22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear "Rockdrive22"

Thank you for your review on Hotel du Vin Birmingham.

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment and the way in which we have let you down during your stay.

You are right to point out that the hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment of our bedrooms and in fact this has already begun. With the hotel so busy at the moment, work is on hold until the 6th January so that we do not disrupt our guests.

Valet parked cars are not stored on site so it will take around 10-15 minutes for us to collect your car. If you would like you car for a specific time, please let us know and we will have it ready for you.

I am pleased you liked the up to date magazines in the room but I am sure we can wow you more than that on a future stay.

I will contact you directly to discuss your points further.

Kindest regards, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Staff in the bistro are great, polite and helpful. Room was clean with a big deep bath.
Parking is an issue at this hotel. Traffic warden very quick to ticket. Receptionist was to the point with a snap in her voice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidsonBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear "DavisonBud"

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular your clean, large bedroom and friendly Bistro team.

You mentioned that parking is a problem at the hotel. It certainly doesn't need to be but you are right , the traffic wardens are quite hot on cars left without a ticket. However, if you are valet parking your car and you collect a ticket before we have managed to park it for you, we'll pick up the tab. We are just updating our booking confirmations to make them specific to each hotel and the new confirmation gives you detailed information relating to car parking.

A summary of that information can be found below.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards, Tony and team

Car Parking:

Parking metres are available all around the hotel and there is no charge after 7.30pm, this is a good option if you are arriving later and leaving early as many of our business guests do. However, you will need to go and feed the metre at 8am when the parking bays are chargeable the next morning. The parking bays are controlled every day except Christmas Day and Bank Holidays.

Snow Hill Multi Story NCP Car Park - this is £10.80 per 24 hours and is the most cost effective, just a short walk from the hotel (one block). The car park is accessible between 6am and 10pm Monday to Saturday and 8am to 9pm Sundays. The post code for Snow Hill Car Park is B3 2BJ.

Valet Parking - this is £20 and best for convenience and security. Just hand us with your keys on arrival and we will park your prized car in a secured and guarded car park. Your car can be accessed or retrieved by us 24 hours a day so if you realise you have left something in the boot or glove box we can help, and in the event of emergency or change of plans we can bring your car around promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

stayed one night with friends to visit the Christmas markets.Room excellent We have a 6 foot bed at home the one in this room was about 9ft square with a bathroom with roll top bath and very large walk in shower. It was the bollinger suite so get it if you can.first class breakfast cooked to order with fantastic selection of fruit and bread products.The position of hotel is spot on for visiting the bull ring and other central attractions.Staff all friendly and helpful Hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Both couples had suites not sure about other rooms but ours were excellent. The Bollinger is double...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jredfernBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear "JRedfern"

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your Hotel du Vin experience.

I am so pleased you enjoyed it so much, particularly your Deluxe Room, Bistro Breakfast, Location and the Friendliness of the team.

The good news is that the bedrooms are set to get even better. We have just commenced our bedroom refurbishments and the two trial rooms look stunning. Please do return to see the rooms in the near future.

Best regards and thanks again, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My best friends and I decided to treat ourselves to high tea, which didn't disappoint, the sandwiches and cakes were delicious and all very reasonably priced, the waitresses couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, really lovely girls, however after we'd finished we had to go and pay in the bar as there credit card machine wasn't working (not a problem) as we entered the bar my friend noticed a waiter holding a large tray of drinks, so went and opened the door for him... Not only did he not say thank you, he didn't even acknowledge of look at her. Then once we'd paid, the bar man didn't say "thank you" "goodbye", "hope you enjoyed your visit"...NOTHING, not even a smile, I've worked in customer services for years, and as far as I'm concerned they could do with re-training, their behavior ruined out experience and made us not want to return. Very sad as we had had a great time up until then.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear "FlyingPrincess"

Thank you so much for choosing to take Afternoon Tea at Hotel du Vin.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cakes, sandwiches, tea and service from my Afternoon Tea team.

It is then very regrettable that the service you received just before you left was so disappointing and I can assure you that I will be taking that up with those responsible. As a team we care very much about the guest experience, working hard to ensure everyone has a fantastic time. It is a shame then that we and you have been let down at the last moment.

I do hope you will return again in the future as this level of service is not typical as you will have witnessed throughout the rest of your Afternoon Tea experience. Indeed the bar team are often hailed themselves for the wonderful care and attention they offer our guests.

Thank you and apologies once again. Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,086 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,313 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,008 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £88 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing