We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a fantastic Sunday lunch.
Could not fault any thing.
Staff where all friendly. Excellent service wine and food.
Tibo was very helpful and friendly in the Bistro.
Sam Cross and Chris recommended excellent Wine and both gave a good service.
We will be returning and making use of the special room offers in the near future

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We chose hotel du vin as we wanted to have luxury bedrooms and great food. Having a 2 year old, time is precious and with grandparents all set to babysit so we were off to crufts to our one relaxing weekend away Deluxe room, first impressions just ok, tired and although had high ceiling somehow claustrophobic perhaps due to small windows.
Treated myself to spa treatment in the basement, the treatment was 75 mins long and they had the same piece of music playing over and over again in the end I had to ask the therapist to change it, she said that it "they put it on repeat" and had therefore for the rest of the sessions every time the music came to and end she would have to stop what she was doing and manually press the cd forward! Bonkers
Dinner, was told that as I hadn't booked there was only 6.30 or 9pm, neither suitable but as we had our dog we asked if we could eat in the bar at 7pm, this was fine and reserved a table. Food ordered, no starters and an hour and 20 mins later it arrived, lamb so overlooked it was grey, should never of left the kitchen. I complained but to be honest folks I was so hungry I would of eaten cat food by this stage, we then thought we would try pudding, my tarte tatin was soggy, awful and hubby's crepe Suzette was literally soaked in booze and unpleasant.
Back to the bedroom, headboard at weird angle to bed which acted as a perfect funnel for the pillows to disappear down throughout the night, no heating in loo, in morning I woke up grumpy and tired, washed hair only to find no blimin mirror near any plug points. Had to dry my hair a bit, stop go look in the mirror, come back etc ridiculous
On checking out,I mentioned about the food and the bed and the mirror, receptionist said, oh yes that room it is a bit of a pain if your a woman! Really gutted as was soooo looking forward to staying here and just having a lovely break but I really felt let down by hotel du vin

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WatfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night.

Positives:

Car parking available right outside the hotel door if you're lucky enough to get a space. If not there is a valet parking service or a car park very close to the hotel, which is great in a city centre location

The central location is excellent

The hotel bar is friendly, good food for bar food prices

Negatives:

Very surly receptionist

Very dismal bedroom decor in dire need of a refit

Completely neglected bathroom through age and lack of cleanliness

In my experience this certainly isn't a typical Hotel Du Vin and I wouldn't recommend staying

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We visited the Bistro on March 3rd for a family celebration. The staff in the Bubbles Bar and restaurant were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and the menu different from the norm. It is pricey but we were delighted that they accepted our gourmet cards which considerably reduced the bill. The free platters of fruit with celebration messages in chocolate were also a nice touch.

Room Tip: Only had a meal
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel in good location between main shops & jewellery quarter. Downstairs bar is quaint. Room however was not good & needs renovating. The bathroom was particularly bad, tiles dirty & covered in limescale. Bathroom toiletries are clearly re-used as old & worn containers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sanfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Myself and my partner have frequented the Bar at Hotel Du Vin and had some fantastic cocktails which were expertly made by SAM. Sam has always been so attentive and friendly and makes our visits very special - Thank you for your excellent service and wonderful cocktails especially the Pina Colada - highly recommended !!!! Amanda and Chris ( Stourbridge)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is very central if you want to shop in the City.
Its décor is pretty , very French and quite dark, but nice, its a little worn in places IE staircase areas carpets paintwork, but all in all its nice.

The beds were minute in the twin superior rooms and not very comfy.
the food was excellent and the service was good in restaurant, although the staff had no sense of humour whatsoever. The same was to be said for the reception staff, not much charisma and not very welcoming. Saying that it was a pleasant stay , I may stay again, but would probably try a different Hotel in the City.

Room Tip: Pay out for a good room as the average rooms are quite average.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,083 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
2,310 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,008 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £88 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing