We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but no more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Hawkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK but no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was not very impressed overall with this hotel. My room on the first floor was tiny and very dark. The tap leaked all night and there was a lot of mould and rust evident in the bathroom. However the fresh milk in the fridge and the coffee machine did go down well. I stayed with a number of colleagues and all of us agreed that we would not bother returning. Sorry Hotel du Vin I hate writing poor reviews but it would be impossible to rate my stay as anything more than OK.

Room Tip: don't go for the laphroaig (i think that was the name of the room). it's very small and dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    470
    257
    121
    69
See reviews for
163
650
36
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Really great hotel, perfect for shopping or a romantic weekend away. The breakfast is brilliant also. The only downside is that the hotel doesn't have a car park but this is to be expected in a city centre hotel. The deluxe rooms have the most incredible bathrooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The advertising strap line for this group of 15 hotels was stretched a little on this occasion! Had it not been meticulously rag aniseed for us by a dear friend, fir an extremely special ( but very private) reason I would have begrudged the (not insignificant) price. As it was, I was there fir live and company so would have happily slept on the pavement! The hotel is lovely, the building is beautiful and well situated for easy access to a bhere aren't antsy) and I couldn't see,mor put enough lights on in my room to be able to see. We ate in the bistro on our first night which was good in terms of value and quality and the gp breakfasts were lovely (great orange juice) but the table we were seated at had splintered legs and laddered my stockings as I sat down and every time I moved my legs! Our room was a very small twin, good job I had known my room mate for years as we were very closely accommodated!!!!!!!! The decor was shabby, worn floors, badly latched decor, damp over the window and mould in the bathroom. The shower was great, if you were happy to leap in and out when it got too hot to handle and due to the alignment if the shower screen, you can't run a bath without climbing in first.....so you either get frozen or scalded feet! No extraction fan that worked either, so steamy. Bathroom. Sorry to sond so negative, I actually had a wonderful time but thus hotel really dies need to try harder fir the price it charges.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I won't be staying here again until this place has been refurbished.

I had the Moet & Chandon room on the first floor; a large corner room but very dark and gloomy, with dark-painted walls, an old and torn herringbone carpet, and an en suite with leaky radiator and chipped toilet seat. The bedroom has a high ceiling but is lit by just one bright recessed spotlight bulb in the centre; no table light on the desk which is in a dark corner so completely useless. They provide an espresso machine, a mini-bar etc, but can't get the basics right. And what's with with the black drawstring bags covering old fittings on the ceiling? Looks terrible. The duvet was thinner than you get in a budget hotel, and the lack of comfort coupled with trucks loading and unloading office furniture in the street outside (nothing to do with the hotel) between midnight and 3am, and then road sweepers etc, meant sleep was almost impossible.

Downstairs, the bar has a corner leather sofa as you go in; it is so worn out you can barely sit on it without falling off, or into another guest. On the plus side, the bar stocks local real ales (bottled) as well as a good selection of wines.

Dinner was excellent, but breakfast was a shambles. The dining room was cold - I was told there was a window "stuck open", but no-one seemed able to stuff something in the gap to stop the cold air coming in - and service was painfully slow, leading to all the tables being full because guests weren't able to eat and leave. I ordered a full breakfast and pot of tea; the tea took 20 minutes to arrive, and after half an hour I had to leave to catch a train - still no sign of breakfast so I left without any.

If it hadn't been for the excellent dinner, this would have been a one-star review. A real shame for what should be a great up-market hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We only stayed one night a Saturday to dine at Purnells and the hotel was great. Very nice bedroom huge bathroom with fantastic shower. The only issue is the rooms have names so you have to remember your 'name'.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and the usual selection - great banana bread.
All the staff were very good. the hotel is the old eye hospital so an interesting building. Although the hotel was full - based on breakfast numbers it was very quiet great nights sleep.

Room Tip: No issues with room location from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked dinner, bed and breakfast in February as a birthday treat for my partner. When we arrived at the hotel, we were fortunate enough to get a free parking space literally outside the front door. We checked in with ease and were given information about the hotel facilities and spa as we had booked a treatment. We went straight to the room which was modern, clean and spacious (superior double - 'Courvouiser'). The roll top bath was a romantic touch and the waterfall style shower was invigorating the next day, after a few too many gin & tonics during our stay!

We then went down to the bar and this was the only time during our stay that we were in any way disappointed. We waited for around 10-15 minutes at the bar as there weren't any staff in sight. Eventually a young chap appeared and we ordered a double g&t each which set us back at around £22. Not that this was unexpected, it's just that after such a long wait and with nowhere to sit as all of the empty tables were dirty, it just felt excessive. We sat down at a dirty table and someone did come to clear it, but the seats were stained too and there was a general feel of stickiness and dirt, so it didn't feel overly comfortable in the bar.

My partner then had a full body massage in the spa which he said was excellent and great value for money. We then went for dinner in the bistro. We decided to pay extra for the al a carte menu and were so pleased that we did. The food in the restaurant was superb, a month later and I'm still thinking about the scallops which were cooked to perfection! The General Manager, Tony had arranged for a glass of fizz when we sat down, as I had mentioned when booking that our stay was to celebrate my partners birthday. When dessert came 'happy birthday' was written in chocolate on the plate (another lovely touch).

We had a drink in the downstairs snug bar before going back to the room, which was great. I used to work in Birmingham and would drink there regularly. It was as charming as I had remembered.

Breakfast in the Bistro was again fantastic. The freshly made pastries were irresistible and the cooked breakfast was faultless. The staff throughout our stay were friendly, helpful and efficient. Checking out was hassle free and we asked for the bill to be split which was sorted out with ease by the reception staff.

After staying in many of the hotels in Birmingham, Hotel Du Vin would be my first choice as the value for money, overall cleanliness of the hotel and helpful staff tick all of the boxes for me!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I was slightly concerned when booking because some reviews were very critical but we had stayed with our children over Christmas and had a great time. The room was excellent; great bed, good en-suite and nice extras like Nespresso machine and bathrobes. The bar is my favourite hotel bar. It has a lot of character and most importantly the cocktails are excellent (try the espresso martini). We then had a really superb 3 course meal with wine, desert wine etc the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We then finished with another visit to the bar and more cocktails. All in all we had a fantastic stay both in terms of accommodation and food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing