We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“quirky and friendly”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

just returned from a business trip and a salews meeting at this hotel. we all suggested that we book for next meeting too. rooms are splendid , if the layout is a bit odd, but it is a converted eye hospital , so some of the layout was dictated by the structure. food excellent as is most Hotel du Vins. Hope to be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor.

I am delighted to read that you will be returning for your next meeting here at Hotel du Vin Birmingham. Along with the meeting you had I am happy to see the food has met your expectations too. And finally the layout can sometimes be confusing but as you have said the hotel has been converted within a Listed Building so it makes our layout very unique. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    476
    261
    123
    70
See reviews for
165
661
37
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea and a cocktail was delicious, very pleasant and professional staff happy to help, comfortable and spacious rooms in the heart of the centre - what else do you need?
I'm a fan of Hotel Du Vin anyway and already looking forward to my next trip!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on our trip advisor page.

Great to hear you are a fan of Hotel du Vin anyway but still willing to spread the word about your time here. Afternoon Tea at the hotel is growing ever so popular and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. What delights me most of all are the comments about the team and I will be sure to thank them.

Looking forward to seeing you back again soon!

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was at the Hotel Du Vin, Birmingham for a private party at the end of March 2014. The service was very good and the room was perfect for the evening. However, what I found most remarkable, was the quality of the staff, particularly the bar staff and at the hotel reception who were there to help in a thorough and friendly way. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and well equipped. We had a suite which had a massive bathroom, a large bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I hope you and all the guests had a great time at your private party. It delights me to read you would be happy to recommend us to other people.

Finally I very much appreciate your comments about the team here at the hotel and I will be thrilled to share these comments with the staff.

Hope to see you again soon. In the meantime

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've stayed here three or four times over the last ten years and eaten here even more. It was always a treat on our doorstep for birthdays and anniversaries. Not any more. I booked an Easter deal room, three courses and breakfast all prepaid - absolute bargain for my husband's birthday. On arrival we were asked for a payment of £50 "for extras" - we pointed out that we'd like to pay at the bar and in the bistro for our drinks at the end of the night so we could leave a cash tip. Nope. £50 up front. Fine, we knew we'd spend at least that. I'd also booked an upgrade if possible. Snippy response that it was done, but unclear on how it was paid for ( appeared on the bill the next morning). So....the room.
Remember the days of Egyptian cotton sheets and fluffy pillows? Our room ( which was an upgrade ) had none of this. No cafetiere any more, just a Nespresso machine. Mini bar half empty. Thin, tired sheets, flat foam pillows, no niceties in the room, no invitation to take home the smellies ( not that I ever did). Could have been any room in any boutique hotel. The whole room was tired and patchy. Gerard Basset should never have left HdV!
Bubble Lounge full of loud office folk breaking up for the Easter weekend, dirty plates plonked in front of me as I sat at the bar trying to enjoy my fizz.
The meal was fine and we were disciplined enough ( or miffed enough, I'm not sure which?) to stick to the plats du jour that was included in the deal. The wines are now ludicrously overpriced and many of them can be picked up in any half decent wine shop. The by the glass selection is tired and formulaic - we ate at HdV Winchester in August last year and the by the glass list was exactly the same. All the individuality has gone. Our sommelier was very good, but didn't much like the fact we both asked lots of questions before choosing.he actually challenged us on our way out "how do you know so much about wine?" Does it matter? Twenty years working in the trade, but why do we need to justify it? We asked lots of questions because the prices are extortionate and we wanted to get it right!
Breakfast was good and the service exemplary. Then we came to check out... A £12 service charge appeared on our bill. We asked for it to be removed and were asked why..we explained that we like to leave cash tips to ensure they go to the right person and not into the company coffers. We explained that we had wanted to use cash the night before but weren't "allowed" to having been made to leave £50 on a card at reception. We pointed out that the service had been very good, but that we weren't prepared to pay the "discretionary" charge that had just been whacked on. The whole experience left a bitter taste in our mouths and we won't be back. Sad , as we have many happy memories of HdV back when it was very special and quirky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laloue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on your most recent visit to Hotel du Vin Birmingham.

Quite clearly a lot has changed in the hotel and with the group over the years such as with procedures, group standards and senior management which nowadays might not be to everyone’s preference.

Of course as a hotel though it is our priority to ensure all of our guests are made to feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible when they choose to stay here. From reading your comments there has obviously been a number instances where we have not met these expectations and I will be investigating these further.

I am disappointed to read that you will not be returning after enjoying so many happy memories here at Hotel du Vin Birmingham and I of course hope that your opinion might change in the future. If it does and should you wish to return with the hope we have the opportunity of improving on this visit please feel free to contact me at dgm.birmingham@hotelduvin.com.

Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at HDV a couple of times before and this time like the last 2 times the room, staff and food were all excellent. Indeed, the staff at reception, bar and restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a wonderful espresso machine. I simply don't get some of these reviews!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for sharing your comments following your visits to Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am glad to read we have met your expectations throughout the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a number of times in the past few years, it has sadly taken a dip though.
Reception staff are not the best; a bit distracted and rushed, and not the best communicators.
Slightly rude service in the bubble lounge.
The pub du vin was shut the whole of the three days we were there, I guess it may have shut down.
Real lack of attention to detail in the rooms and the service. Next to no info in the rooms: phone numbers pinned up in an obscure place, wasn't clear what was the room service menu, no breakfast menu. Few of the plug sockets in our suite were hanging off the wall. Our ceiling made an almighty creaking sound whenever anyone moved around in the room above. Very dark room (though this is typical of HdV). One of our room service breakfasts was missing much of the crockery and cutlery, and had no milk.
None of these were really things significant enough to complain about at the time, but just an accumulation of a very large number of very small niggles that created a disappointing stay.
Staff didn't fill you with confidence that if you did mention anything, that would have sorted it in the correct manner, all a bit rushed and slightly disinterested. Some way below the standard of this hdv in the past and the hdv in Newcastle.
I had always referred to this as the best hotel in Brum, in future I might look at the rotunda or somewhere else.
Nice building and comfy bed though. And it has sky sports.
No where to do your hair and make-up at all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tom7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our trip advisor page. It is disappointing to read that there have been a number of small niggles which have cumulated in a very average stay for you on this occasion. I have sent you a personal message on trip advisor to investigate your comments further.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last night just for the night as went to see a show, omg we upgraded to the penfolds grange, 8ft bed 2 baths,2 monsoon showers, living area and gym all for us. Room was spotless, service great and breakfast was lovely, would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathgBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments following your recent visit to HdV Birmingham.

I hope you had a lovely time at the show and I can see from your photos you were upgraded to our principal suite Penfolds Grange which even in my opinion is a spectacular and one off bedroom. Hope you to see you back again soon although I wish I could but I cannot guarantee Penfolds Grange next time.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing