We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited Hotel Du Vin on Saturday as a group of 4.
I have visited a few times before for cocktails of an early evening and experienced great service in relaxed surroundings.
We ordered the £14.50 per person afternoon tea- a pot of tea, sandwiches, scones and cakes.
Unfortunately the sandwiches were hard as if they had been left out. The scones were delicious as was the jam that was provided. The cakes were pretty disappointing (although they looked great) and just a bit "meh"- they certainly didn't taste homemade.
We waited nearly 20 minutes for our bill as there were no waiting staff in the afternoon tea room. We were not asked if we wanted to order more drinks or food, or if we were ok with what we'd ordered.
There was a stereo in the corner playing a really odd selection of music which varied from Kings of Leon to Michael Jackson.... It just didn't really work with the afternoon tea theme.

I was also disappointed that the teapot had a tea bag in it rather than tea leaves. I know it's picky but I would expect tea leaves in such a lovely venue.

Overall I was disappointed with afternoon tea. The only reason I have given 3 rather than 2 stars is my excellent experience at the hotel before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LauraH250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor after choosing Hotel du Vin Birmingham to have afternoon tea.

Quite clearly from your past experiences the level of service in the bar enjoying cocktails has led you to book afternoon tea. It does however seem that this level of service has not been reflected and delivered when you have returned for Afternoon Tea.

What really disappoints me to read is the lack of attention to detail in the service delivered with regards to the attentiveness of the team and their choice in music which of course plays its part in creating an ambience in the Afternoon Tea room.

I hope we have the opportunity of demonstrating that this was an isolated incident and one we are keen to avoid in the future so rest assured it has been addressed in order to avoid a repeat in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have had a fab time at this beautiful spa, we had use of sauna and steam rooms then two treatments each by a very lovely professional lady called Rachel, excellent massage and facial.
Nothing was too much trouble and Gaby the receptionist was fab too.
Can't recommend this enough.Will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback after a wonderful experience in our Spa here at Hotel du Vin.

Obviously the majority of our guests that share reviews on our tripadvisor page are based on other areas and departments in the hotel but this delights me to read how well and professionally you have been looked after in our Spa.

I will be sure to feedback these comments to the ladies in the Spa Team and of course we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A great disappointment. Have stayed in hotels du vin in other cities and this is really poor. Overpriced at £169 for a single night, no breakfast. Mark up on wine at dinner at least 300% compared to exactly same wine same year bought two days later in major supermarket. Food was reasonable standard.
Rooms impossibly dark, broken window blind, and very shabby with chipped paint, non functioning coffee machine etc.
Disinterested reception staff- acknowledged the place needed refurbishment but there were no feedback forms, and when asked how to give feedback, they did not know.
Avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments on your most recent visit to Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am very sorry to read that quite clearly we have not met your expectations on this visit and there are a number of areas we need to improve as not only was the standard of your room not acceptable but more so how the team have then handled your comments when given the opportunity.

Rest assured as a business that is dependent on the thoughts and opinions of our guests your review will be investigated further to avoid a repeat in the future.

Once again my apologies – Matt Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A very individuel hotel in the heart of birmingham, with some really nice touches in the room. Great to see a huge walk in drench shower, Nespresso machine in the room a fantastic amount of space and a very large bed. Staff were all very attentive and the hotel had a buzz about it where it seamed everyone really wanted to take care of you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hotel du Vin Birmingham on our trip advisor page. You have quite clearly had a wonderful experience which delights me to read about. I will ensure your comments are shared with the teams.

Hope to see you back again.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Our son treated us to a night away at the Hotel Du Vin Birmingham.
The building is a little quirky which I liked.
We had a most spacious room. Large comfortable bed and a fantastic bathroom with roll top bath and a party size walk in shower.
The room however was slightly spoiled with a broken curtain and some wallpaper peeling, things that could be put right at a very low cost.
We ate in the Bistro, although very busy the staff are very attentive to all the diners and its run with efficiency. The food was very nice but we found the menu a little over priced but we were not paying but being treated so we enjoyed with a smile.
It was noisy during the night but it was a Saturday in a lively city not much you can do about revellers outside the hotel.
Breakfast was superb a fantastic choice.
All staff were very pleasant and the people on reception were helpful above and beyond, nothing was too much trouble for a young girl named Hannah.
I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Missy Lissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your recent night away to Birmingham as a treat from your son.

Quite clearly the staff and the majority of your experience has met your expectations it is however frustrating to read to comments about the bedroom. Rest assured we currently working through all the bedrooms in the hotel to freshen them up and rectify issues such as what you have mentioned. I will of course pass on this feedback to Hannah on reception and share your review with the relevant teams. Delighted to hear you would stay again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my third visit to hotel du vin after having great stays at the tunbridge wells and cheltenham one. Both had previously given free upgrades to suites and were bargains on the sunday settle in deals at £25 for the room!
Arrived to Birmingham and parked outside, told it was a pay and display area so moved on, to come back and be told its a free parking area, not very organised! checked in and asked if there were any upgrades and told this would cost money. I explained that the others did it for free and we finally got a small upgrade which was better than nothing so thank you to the lady that did it, can't remember her name but we did say we would mention her :)
room was little more tired than other hotel du vins, but was pleasant. Dinner was lovely as usual although the £75 credit on food could not be shared between dinner and breakfast unlike others which was frustrating. Consistency amongst hotels policies should be priority..
Rooms can be rather noisy at night due to the city centre obviously so ask for an inside room or get a restless night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottyboy_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Hotel du Vin Birmingham. Quite clearly before you even checked in there was some confusion with regards to the parking in the Birmingham City Centre. The hotel is surrounded by pay and display during the day which becomes free in the evening unless of course it is a bank holiday which is free all day. We do also offer a valet parking service which is available from the reception desk.

Glad to hear you received an upgrade and of course I appreciate that previous Hotel du Vin’s had offered you this however I cannot further without knowing how busy it was on the evening in question. If the hotel is quiet and the rooms are available I know the reception team will always try their best to enhance our guests experience wherever possible.

Unfortunately the offer does state that the £75 has to be spent on the Sunday evening but clearly other Hotel du Vin’s have been more relaxed with what they offer.

Finally we are currently working through the bedrooms here to improve and freshen them up so I hope we might see you back again in the future to demonstrate the improvements made. Feedback is very important to us so thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with work colleagues as we were going out for a meal at Purnells.
Lovely quirky hotel and staff were extremely pleasant and polite
Room was huge and bathroom with roll top bath and massive walk in shower was really nice.
Used the bubbles lounge for drinks in the afternoon and pre dinner, nice if not a little overpriced ...
Nice touch with the olives and pistachios. Breakfast was very good. Would recommend the eggs Benedict highly! Delicious ..
Would recommend this hotel and would return ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lougr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your visit to Hotel du Vin Birmingham on our trip advisor page. Glad to read you were comfortable in your room and the following morning breakfast was delivered to a high standard too. I hope you had a great meal at Purnells and I am delighted to read you would recommend our hotel to future guests and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,201 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,524 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,022 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £93 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing