We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and warm atmosphere ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield
1 review
“nice and warm atmosphere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I went to the brasserie, had great food and wine. I had a steak, it was cooked just the way i like it, well done. Staff is well trained and friendly. After dinner we moved to the bar, I'm not fan of alcohol, so me and my husband had some coffee. My family and i are very pleased with everything. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claire742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for sharing your comments following your recent dining experience at Bistro du Vin.

Glad to hear that the service along with the quality of the food met your expectations in the Bistro and after that you enjoyed some post-dinner drinks in the Bubble Lounge.

Hope you see you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    464
    254
    120
    69
See reviews for
158
637
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter & I visited here for a birthday treat during her birthday shopping trip. She is only 15 and had never done anything like this before so she had nothing to compare it to, but I have. Firstly I was disappointed that I was promised on booking some recognition for her birthday (I think the lady taking the booking said a birthday plate??) but no recognition of any sort was done. Although the sandwiches looked nice the white bread was quite dry, to much mustard on the ham & mustard & scones a little hard too but tasted nice along with clotted cream & very nice jam. The macaroons were very, very soft but I'm not sure how they are supposed to be served. The other 2 cakes were nice too and although there was plenty enough for us we were never offered anymore like I've been offered elsewhere. No the choice of plain scones either. We were offered more tea and did just stick to the "fair trade" one as the waitress was unable to recommend any other??? And it did look a little unprofessional seeing her check her phone! And at the end rather than being civilly bought a bill, I was told I had to walk to the bar in the other room & pay there. I didn't say anything on the day due to occasion and the main thing was my daughter enjoyed her day BUT very disappointed Hotel Du Vin and certainly would not return or recommend afternoon tea at £14:50 per head.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jullip08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on our trip advisor page. It seems from reading your comments we have really disappointed you as our guest for Afternoon Tea not only with the quality of the food we offered but also the level of service delivered.

This experience is not what we would expect here at Hotel du Vin and your comments will be taken very seriously and addressed with Lounge team as I do not find this acceptable. I am sorry that the experience did not meet the expectations of the occasion but obviously glad to read your daughter her enjoyed her day though.

It is very disappointing to read a guest is not prepared to return and I hope we have the opportunity of restoring some faith in you in the future.

Once again my apologies on your experience.

Regards

Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fourteen of us gathered here for afternoon tea with champagne. We were given the Sassicaia room, which was a perfect size, and access to the courtyard which was a great place for the children to play. The afternoon tea was excellent: various sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, and an assortment of delicious little cakes. We had our own personal waiter who could not have been more helpful, attentive, or entertaining - ask for Ben! The hotel is only 10 minutes' walk from New Street station, so a great meeting place for a group like ours who came from all over the country. We were able to use the room for as long as we liked. I'd be happy to come here again for a similar occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience here at Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I have to say I was working on the day you and your group enjoyed Afternoon Tea and it seemed to be a very fun and entertaining afternoon which we are glad we could play our part in it.

I will of course be sure to thank Ben on delivering such an attentive and entertaining level of service for you all and it is great to read you will be happy to return in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited Hotel Du Vin on Saturday as a group of 4.
I have visited a few times before for cocktails of an early evening and experienced great service in relaxed surroundings.
We ordered the £14.50 per person afternoon tea- a pot of tea, sandwiches, scones and cakes.
Unfortunately the sandwiches were hard as if they had been left out. The scones were delicious as was the jam that was provided. The cakes were pretty disappointing (although they looked great) and just a bit "meh"- they certainly didn't taste homemade.
We waited nearly 20 minutes for our bill as there were no waiting staff in the afternoon tea room. We were not asked if we wanted to order more drinks or food, or if we were ok with what we'd ordered.
There was a stereo in the corner playing a really odd selection of music which varied from Kings of Leon to Michael Jackson.... It just didn't really work with the afternoon tea theme.

I was also disappointed that the teapot had a tea bag in it rather than tea leaves. I know it's picky but I would expect tea leaves in such a lovely venue.

Overall I was disappointed with afternoon tea. The only reason I have given 3 rather than 2 stars is my excellent experience at the hotel before.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraH250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor after choosing Hotel du Vin Birmingham to have afternoon tea.

Quite clearly from your past experiences the level of service in the bar enjoying cocktails has led you to book afternoon tea. It does however seem that this level of service has not been reflected and delivered when you have returned for Afternoon Tea.

What really disappoints me to read is the lack of attention to detail in the service delivered with regards to the attentiveness of the team and their choice in music which of course plays its part in creating an ambience in the Afternoon Tea room.

I hope we have the opportunity of demonstrating that this was an isolated incident and one we are keen to avoid in the future so rest assured it has been addressed in order to avoid a repeat in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have had a fab time at this beautiful spa, we had use of sauna and steam rooms then two treatments each by a very lovely professional lady called Rachel, excellent massage and facial.
Nothing was too much trouble and Gaby the receptionist was fab too.
Can't recommend this enough.Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback after a wonderful experience in our Spa here at Hotel du Vin.

Obviously the majority of our guests that share reviews on our tripadvisor page are based on other areas and departments in the hotel but this delights me to read how well and professionally you have been looked after in our Spa.

I will be sure to feedback these comments to the ladies in the Spa Team and of course we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards – Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

A great disappointment. Have stayed in hotels du vin in other cities and this is really poor. Overpriced at £169 for a single night, no breakfast. Mark up on wine at dinner at least 300% compared to exactly same wine same year bought two days later in major supermarket. Food was reasonable standard.
Rooms impossibly dark, broken window blind, and very shabby with chipped paint, non functioning coffee machine etc.
Disinterested reception staff- acknowledged the place needed refurbishment but there were no feedback forms, and when asked how to give feedback, they did not know.
Avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments on your most recent visit to Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am very sorry to read that quite clearly we have not met your expectations on this visit and there are a number of areas we need to improve as not only was the standard of your room not acceptable but more so how the team have then handled your comments when given the opportunity.

Rest assured as a business that is dependent on the thoughts and opinions of our guests your review will be investigated further to avoid a repeat in the future.

Once again my apologies – Matt Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A very individuel hotel in the heart of birmingham, with some really nice touches in the room. Great to see a huge walk in drench shower, Nespresso machine in the room a fantastic amount of space and a very large bed. Staff were all very attentive and the hotel had a buzz about it where it seamed everyone really wanted to take care of you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdVMgr, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hotel du Vin Birmingham on our trip advisor page. You have quite clearly had a wonderful experience which delights me to read about. I will ensure your comments are shared with the teams.

Hope to see you back again.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing