We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Faultless Bistro Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rooms Faultless Bistro Poor”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stopped here as part of a deal where you needed to spend £75 in the restaraunt to be given the room for a tenner we upgraded and paid twenty for a lovely room Lenoble with massive bath and shower.
The downfall came when we sat down for the meal out of maybe six main courses I think four were fish which I consider to be unusual with one of the others being veggie.My wife and I both ordered the rib eye steak which resulted in the return of mine due to fact that half of it was fat .I ordered a sea bass which was dropped onto my table by a now surly waitress.The remaining course was a chesse platter which was again below par .
Lovely surroundings lovely rooms just a bit let down by the food .Hopefullythis was a one off as we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirjona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    495
    274
    125
    73
See reviews for
172
682
38
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Having raved to my husband about hotel du vin cheltenham's food and spa my husband and I booked a pre xmas romantic stay without the kids with our expectations high.

We had a suite and were so looking forward to our evening meal after a day of xmas shopping we were starving. What a let down!!!! I ordered steak which was stringy and tough and not cooked how I like it. Then the waiter had the cheek to say what do you expect its not fillet!! He got our pudding orders mixed up too. Basically the only thing we managed to eat simultaneously was the starter.

I complained to the manager as the waiter was so rude but it was just embarrassing as he made him come over and apologise and we didn't want to stick around for our 'free coffees which weren't even free as they were included in our stay package!!!

The rest of the staff were friendly but the room was a bit sterile and lacked imaginination - it was minimal to the point of lacking any sense of romance or comfort to be honest or maybe I was just in a foul mood by then due to the dinner debacle!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

I am a great fan of the Du Vin brand and will whenever possible stay in them.
Attending Birmingham for a conference I assumed that is why I had to pay a room only rate of £175 per night, even over a weekend. Supply and demand I guess.
To be honest this proved to be my least favourite Du Vin hotel and took minimalism to next heights (or should that be lows). The room was huge but there was only one chair – a second one would have been sensible – a sofa even better for a hotel of this quality. The décor was dull and uninspiring and the bathroom to be honest looked like an abattoir. So large and cold and a shower tray made of stainless steel never helps.
Now a slightly distasteful, but pratical problem. It is a fact that when men use a toilet, the simple action creates a fine mist. It is a simple fact when water fall from a height.
Why or why then put the towel rail and the nice fresh towels down the side of the loo – they will, if there is a man in the party, get covered in a fine mist of urine (I said it was distasteful). So a tip would be relocate the towel rail or move the towels if you find a towel rail here.
No shower cap, no bottle of water either and cobwebs around the room when we arrived. To be fair these were removed within 15 minutes of mentioning it.
Clearly like all businesses Du Vin is feeling the pinch by the number of offers they have at the moment.
I hope this doesn’t lead to a fall in standards, it would be great shame.
Didn’t eat here as they could not offer me a table in the restaurant but Birmingham is full of good places to eat. Try the Blue Mango if you like Indian – stunning.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

First impressions as we walked in was that it was very dark inside, but eventually I came to like this as it seemed to add to the ambiance of the place.

Check in was simple and easy, reception staff very friendly. We were given the room 'Wolf Blass' - one of the best rooms according to the receptionist.

Wold Blass was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street. It had a small lounge area with dressing table, desk, television sofa and chairs which opened on to the huge bedroom.

The bedroom had a vast bed for us and a small 'camp' bed for our son, another television, large wardrobe containing the mini bar, coffee maker and a whole host of over priced snacks.

The bathroom was off the bedroom and once again was very large with an impressive shower and lovely freestanding bath.

Both beds were very comfortable and duvet, pillows and bed linen were especially nice.

The ceilings were very high and we had 3 very tall windows facing the street so we did get some noise at night.

Dinner - We had dinner at the hotels restaurant, the menu not being aimed at all at children we requested something not on the menu (pasta with tomato based sauce) after a few checks from the waitress and restaurant's manager we were given the OK.

There is a huge wine list available (no surprise there really) and a very helpful sommelier who brought some nice wine for us and chatted and played with our son.

Our food was all very nice, our sons pasta came and it too was very good, with a freshly prepared sauce, considering children eat free there, we were very pleased with this.

We chose to have deserts in our room which room service would deliver, 10 minutes later they called to say one choice had run out - not a problem, at least they called to let us know. The food arrived, minus 2 deserts (not the expected one) which was dissapointing (but not the end of the world).

All the staff were very friendly and we seemed to get very efficient service.

Breakfast - let down by the service, which may have just been a one off.

We had continental breakfast and had to request more bowels for cereal, more orange juice and milk as all had run out. All took 10 minutes + to arrive/be replenished. Our coffee and toast orders were taken promptly but then a long wait ensued for them to arrive. I perhaps would understand if they were busy, but they were very quiet.

Having said that, the food quality was very good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I stayed in the Du Vin for 1 night during the week on business. The location is close to Snow Hill but a 10 minute walk to Broad Street or New Street station.

My room was large with a high ceiling (perhaps a bit too big as it did not have that cosy feel) and was complete with free standing bath and a huge shower. I have to admit, the shower was brilliant but the bathroom felt a bit cold and I wouldn't want to spend too long in the bath there. The TV timed out every 5 minutes as the sky box (not under my control) switched to standby mode. The became very annoying after a while!

I went down to the Bistro for dinner only to find it was fully booked so had to order room service. The menu had to be brought to my room minus a wine list. I then had to go back down to the bistro and stand around to get a glass of wine. When the food came, it couldn't be faulted but was spoilt by having to eat it at the desk in my room.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel for a group of people or a couple dining at the bistro, but for lone business travellers, try the Malmaison or the Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdnBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed there on valentines night - we did get it cheap £99 for the night. I have stayed in other HdV's in Bristol and Brighton and they were fantastic! This one was mediocre.

The building itself was beautiful just like all the others - check in was easy and efficient.

The rooms were comfortable but very small and didn't have that "something different" that adds to the experience like other HdV's - just like any other hotel room, this we found very disappointing.

We stayed there with another couple (my partners business partner as they had meetings in Birmingham that week) and couldn't get a table unti 945pm. So we drank in the bar which was beautiful. A couple of the bar staff were a little rude but a couple of staff made up for their colleagues lack of customer service.

When we got to our table the restaurant was empty - so I think we may have been able to go through earlier and we did let them know 2 hours before that we would wait in the bar.

The valentines menu was £45 per head and the food was mediocre - one of the dishes we had to send back as it wasn't cooked properly - however the staff were friendly and reasonable.

Between 5 -530am the fire alarm went off so all residents went outside - it was chaos! No communication was given from the staff so we didnt know if we could go back in or if there was actually a fire. Myself and my partner eventually went back in to the lobby, all other residents followed and started to go back to their rooms. We asked if there was a member of staff around who could let us know whether it was safe as we were told they were still checking all other residents streamed past him and nobody was stopped!! Good job there wasnt a fire!

I would definitely stay in a HdV again but definitely not this one!!!

  • Liked — Great building and enjoyed the bar environment
  • Disliked — Rooms and 5am false fire alarm
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

This was the fourth HduV I've experienced, and it didn't let my expectations down!

We'd got a fantastic deal of £119 including breakfast, so my husband and I decided to go away for the night as a little treat.

Our room was lovely - decent sized, very nicely decorated, and a huge bed with gorgeous Egyptian cotton sheets - a very decadent place to lounge around. There were the usual du Vin touches that we really appreciated - real caffitiere coffee and fresh milk, a good selection of mini-bar drinks that were around the same price as those in the bar, bathrobes and generous bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel.

The bathrooms in Hotel du Vins are my favourite part, and this one didn't disappoint - we opened a surprisingly small door which looked like it could only lead to a room the size of a small closet, only to find a staircase leading down to a bathroom, complete with a massive bath - big enough that I could lie in the bath reading one of the many complementatry magazines and still be completley submerged - bliss! The shower was a huge monsoon showerhead and so powerful - my husband is usually very practical when it comes to showers, but even he was in there for a good ten minutes!

We'd booked dinner in the bistro, which was lovely - I had the most gorgeous lamb that fell apart when I cut into it! My husband had monkfish with a rich, spicy casoulet with chorizo. The sommelier was really helpful, and chose a beautiful (but reasonably priced) bottle of red that complimented both our meals - not an easy task! My husband decided to have cheese to end his meal, and they brought over a fabulus trolley, groaning with goodies! He was able to choose a personal selection from the fromagier's recommendations, which were again, delicious!

We both had a fantastic night's sleep - testament to both the comfortable bed and the very effective blackout curtains! We'd ordered room service breakfast which arrived promptly, and was delicious - thick, hot chocolate, freshly-squeezed orange juice, creamy natural yogurt with a berry compote, and yummy croissant and pan au chocolates - a very decadent start to the morning!

The hotel was in a nice party of the city, and it was very easy to walk to the centre and both the Bullring and The Mailbox, so great news for shoppers!

All in all, I'd say the hotel was a great example of what Hotel du Vin do best - comfortable luxury in a stylish setting/ Definitley a brand you can trust - I'll be booking my next stay at a Hotel du Vin as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,441 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,977 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing