We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #35 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 9 August 2009

To celebrate a birthday we stayed at the Hotel Du vin as it was close to the restaurant we wished to dine at and wanted to stay at first class hotel.

We were so disappointed with the hotel. The first bedroom that we went to we rejected as the bed was broken.

The second bedroom had a servicable bed but the decor is so dull. The furniture looks like it has been bought at a car boot sale, a cracked toilet seat/basin and wash basin adds to the general impression of a place that needs some care and attention.

It was not a room to relax in and enjoy. At the price it was a let down. When I go to the restaurant again it will be cheaper to go to another hotel and take a taxi.

I would not recommend this hotel at their prices and quality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefoster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,546 - 1,552 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed at HDV to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Booked an offer; spend £75 in bistro and an upgraded room is £20 for the first night and second night - £95 - room, breakfast and two course meal.

Arrived in Birmingham at 10.00am and rather cheekily asked if a room was available - despite many people checking out, the receptionist phoned housekeeping and found us a room! Wewere given Tatinger - a room with an upstairs bathroom! A lovely novel room - plenty big enough for two! Lovely bath and rain shower!

We were getting ready for our meal when we noticed the ceiling was leaking - due to the excessive rainfall again!!!! Reception arranged for us to be moved within 5 minutes and we were upgraded to a even larger room - bathroom on the same level though!! You could not fault the service of reception at all.

We ate in the bistro and the prices meant it was easy to spend £75 - nice food but not the best I have eaten at all. The staff were not overly friendly on either night - the sommelier was the only exception. Wine well overpriced and choice was good.

Breakfast was very civilised - £13.50 for the usual contintental offerings plus your choice of full english; eggs benedict or porridge. I asked for porridge and Eggs benedict to be told it was one or the other. The porridge was the same cost as a full english breakfast - is this the most expensive porridge in Birmingham? I had the eggs benedict with bacon which were delicious and I can highly recommend them.

On the second night we ate as part of a Summer Offer and it has to be noted that you can only select from part of the menu - if we had known we'd have had steak on the first night. The wine was only a carafe and it was decanted into their own bottles - a little second rate! You pay for two courses but I had pork which came with no vegetables and so you have to pay £3 extra for carrots and another £3 for potatoes. Why do restaurants do this and not include potatoes or vegetables as part of the main meal??

The room had not been made up by mid afternoon and once again reception sorted it instantly. Once again fantastic service.

In summary - an excellent location and lovely rooms. The offers certainly made it good value for money - but I would not choose to eat in the bistro again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKJBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Very dissappointed with the room - cracked tiles in bathroom and very dirty grouting - not what I had expected from a Hotel Du Vin. We were also woken up at 6am by crashing glass from the rubbish collection outside. I mentioned this to the lady on reception. She said we should have asked for an inner courtyard room which are quieter - a bit late for us! On a positive note - the restaurant was very good, great food and very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I have stayed here before in an Executive room which was great. This time I just stayed in the standard room. It was OK and suffers a bit from the fact the hotel is not purpose built but is a conversion of an old hospital. Whilst in other areas of the hotel, ie the lifts which are stretcher friendly, this is quite charming it makes the standard rooms a bit of a compromise on size especially the bathroom. That said bed was comfy and room was clean. The rules on what you can drink in which Bar in this hotel are ridiculous and the mantra of the customer is always right completely lost on the indifferent staff. A private function was underway in the "Le Pub" Bar, where you can by traditional ales. You can not order or even drink a draught ale in the Champagne bar upstairs, they do serve beers but only in bottles. Who are these people to tell you which drinks it is socially acceptable to drink in which of their over priced bars!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

stayed here once over xmas (sorry for v late review!!) and once in march, nice hotel, good service and good restaurant.

Bar good but they seemed to have turned their cellar bar downstairs into an ale pub which is doesnt match the HDV brand, although it was busy so must work!

Hopefuly after the credit crunch they will divert back to what they do well - QUALITY -

Nice spa downstairs where you can get treatments and massage as well as a gym and pool

Worth the extra few pounds - one of the better Birmingham hotels

Would I go back? yes and have done so

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

stayed one night in a double room with a king size bed.
absolutely no complaints.
nice big comfy room. sky sports. lovely big bathroom. excellent big bath. nice to have dressing gowns. seems to be the best location of any hotel in birmingham (lovely area and extremely handy for all amenities, including stations and bullring). lovely and attentive staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Stayed at this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriends b'day. The hotel is in the old Birmingham eye hospital and it's very grand. The beds was amaZingly comfy, as were the pillows. If you can then plump for a room with free standing roll top bath and walk in monsoon shower, well worth the money. The price of the hotel means you get no young groups of people. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_LisaStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#27 of 119 in Birmingham
2,486 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 119 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 119 in Birmingham
3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#10 of 119 in Birmingham
2,583 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#40 of 119 in Birmingham
3,075 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 119 in Birmingham
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing