We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the dirtiest hotel room I have...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Probably the dirtiest hotel room I have...”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Probably the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in! There was thick dust on the top of the skirting boards. The dark carpet had a grey ring of dust round the edges. The mosaic tiles in the bathroom needed a good scrub. Worst of all was the radiator: there was something that looked like rust but was actually decomposing food! The problem with such modern stylised decor is that it looks terrible when it starts to show wear and tear; definitely the case here.
Has totally put me off ever staying at other H du V hotels.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0bblylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    490
    272
    124
    71
See reviews for
169
675
38
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed here on one of the hotel sunday night deals where you get the room for £25 if you spend £75 on dinner in the restaurant. We had a lovely evening meal served by very friendly staff. The first room we were allocated was quite small and we asked if there was any chance of being changed to a better room. We were given a much better room which had a lovely bathroom. Our deal did not include breakfast but there are plenty of places to get a nice breakfast in the city so this was not a problem. Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel especially if staying on one of these deals.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,069 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Stayed here on Valentine's night in order to do business in Birmingham next day. WeI've always wanted to stay in any Hotel du Vin after really liking the Malmaison brand. We were very disappointed with this hotel & certainly wouldn't return or probably try another HdV.

On arrival we had to make our way through a crowd of smokers who were hogging the front door step. Our car valeting was handled very smoothly after having booked this before arrival. Our elcome at reception was poor, having been ignored by one receptionist & then being greeted by another who was still eating as she came towards the desk. On check in we were advised that we'd been upgraded which was very welcome.

Our room was dark & dingy with dark paint which was beginning to chip off both the walls & furniture and didn't help with the overall appearance. Our room was long but not very wide which meant that every time you walked round the bed you banged your leg on the wooden bed end! The bed though was very comfy.

The bathroom was very impressive looking with a big walk in shower & free standing bath. Why though do they have to design bathrooms so badly especially when there was such opportunity with a big room? We had to walk right into the shower to switch it on, there were no surfaces near the basin to put your toilet bag on & there was limited hanging space for towels.

We went down to the bar for a drink & to check out the dinner menu only to be told that the restaurant was full as it was Valentine's night. No-one on check-in advised us of this & we were disappointed as the menu looked great. We ended up having roomservice & salt was rubbed into the wound when the room service member of staff asked us why we were not eating this in the Bistro!! The food was fantastic however & very well priced.

Next morning was chaotic. The recepitonist hadn't turned in for work so the duty manager was working reception. To make his day even worse, the computer system crashed & couldn't let him check anyone out. The breakfast food was very good but please train your waiting staff. They are so timid & unhelpful that it's excruciating to watch & experience. We asked 2 members of staff chatting to one another if we could have our coffee, only to be told that it was coming soon & was then delivered by another sour faced member of staff who clearly was not happy with the 2 staff out front. The 4th member of the breakfast team delivered a bacon & eggs to our table without the eggs! 4 members of staff & 9 guests & they still couldn't deliver! Disappointing to say the least Hotel du Vin especially when our rate was a cheap weekend rate, I'd hate to have paid the full weekday price!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I am a regular traveller and found the hotel excellent in all areas, the food, service and front of house in particular. This isn't a cheap hotel yet you do get great service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I found this to be one of the most depressing hotels I have ever stayed in. After completing check in I navigated my way through the dingy hall ways littered with dirty room service trays to find my room and, once I'd opened the door I kind of went "oh" and was greatly disappointed.

The room was gloomy and dominated by the presence of a large matt black wardrobe (like a blackboard) with a mini bar fridge which was so hot I thought it was going to blow up, a TV you couldn't really see when lying in bed and a dressing table it was difficult to squeeze into, given the position of the TV. The overhead lights were so bright and really showed the room in a negative light (I was hoping for a romantic night with my husband after all) so decided to switch on the side lights to try and soften the atmosphere. There was no bulb in the floor lamp and the dressing table lamp worked, but was broken and dangled limply and rather sadly from it's fixture. I asked for a quiet room with a window that could be opened but the tenement-style view of the soviet-inspired internal covered courtyard was too awful and there was also the drone of an air-con unit fixed to the outside so I promptly shut it & drew the curtains. It reminded me of the 70s in a bad way (not a “Wallpaper”, retro-chic way) with mushroom coloured walls and a bitty carpet. It was like someone with no taste and little money had tarted up a run down flat.

So I tried to set the scene as best I could in anticipation of my husband’s arrival . . . I could see that he was most unimpressed (this is before he entered our bedroom), he strode in, banged his leg on the bed (too large for the room, you couldn’t get passed it without catching it) and declared “this place looks like a Belgian boarding house!”.

The room was so dark the next morning that I couldn’t put my makeup on at the dressing table because there was no natural light at all. We felt so depressed and couldn’t wait to leave our room. The whole hotel feels very creepy and if you are a person who picks up “vibes” from a building, it’s a sad one. The reception is as dark in the morning as it is at night time.

The Bistro is this hotel’s saving grace. The food is excellent, the staff enormously accommodating, professional and intuitive and if I were in the hospitality business I would want to poach the Maitre d’.

We didn’t stay for breakfast – we felt the accommodation was not worthy of the pricey room-only rate and felt we didn’t want to spend another penny or another moment in this grim place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed here one night in January. We booked a superior room & on arrival were upgraded to a suite without asking. The room was huge with a roll top bath and massive power shower. The food was delicious (especially the selection of sorbets) there is an extensive wine list (as you would expect from a du Vin Hotel) and a very helpful and knowledgeable wine waitor. We had a glass of champagne in the Bubbles lounge-it was delicious and not too expensive. Staff were very helpful. Hotel is close to centre of town-easy walk to Cathedral, Art Gallery, Museum & lots of shops.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Unfortunately we stayed only one night, would loved to have stayed longer, as we enjoyed staying at this beautiful historic property. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very large. The bathroom was one of the largest we have come across and the quality of the bathrobes and toiletries were top class. The hotel has an excellent gym and spa that would accommodate any gym goer. The staff throughout the hotel have an excellent ability to blend professionalism and their own personality to make any stay enjoyable. The breakfast was outstanding and the bistro has excellent atmosphere either for breakfast or for dinner. The hotel is situated very close to Snow Hill train station and only a 10 minute walk from New Street station. There are many excellent restaurants in close proximity and the location of the hotel is great for shopping and only 15 minute walk from either the Hippodrome or Symphony Hall.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_in_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing