We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,726)
Filter reviews
1,726 results
Traveller rating
650
543
311
143
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
543
311
143
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseye hospitalroll top bathbubbles barmonsoon showerbubble loungenespresso machinedeluxe roombirthday treatmini barlarge bathroomwalk in showerlovely roomcity centresaturday nightstayed for one nightfollowing morningcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 1,726 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Decided to splash out when visiting Birmingham for a concert and stay here. While the bar was excellent and room okay the check in was without smiles and the staff in the dinning room for breakfast were nothing less than rude.
Wouldn't go back and stay - for £185 you can get better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This a a really nice and individual hotel in the centre of Birmingham. We stayed on a special deal for a Sunday night whereby the rooms were £35 (we upgraded for a further £10) provided that we spent £75 in the Bistro. Hey, its very easy to spend that amount especially if you order a bottle of wine.

So, we upgraded and then they upgraded us again as it was My Yvonnes birthday. We ended up in the Bollinger room, with a bed the size of a small tennis court, a shower room the size of a garage and a rolltop bath that floats you away very nicely thank you. The room was just fantastic.

The staff are simply simply great and nothing seems to be too much trouble, both in the hotel and the bistro. The food in the Bistro was very nice, but why serve a steak on a wodden platter? Puzzling and not the best way of presentation. The wine was simply fantastic, so what do you expect with a name like hotel du vin. May be my peasent background betrays my comment that the wine list seems expensive. Blue Nun it isn't and exotic and expensive french seems to be the norm.

So why not a five star. Well the bedding needed to be changed as it had a couple of nasty stains on it, when reported it was immediatly attended to, and some of the decor is a little tired. But the service and the friendliness of everyone made it a close run thing. Our recommndation. Try a Sunday night deal, a sure fire bargain for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This review relates to the restaurant only.
We have visited this establishment before and I thought it would be nice to suprise my wife to return for a wedding anniversary treat. On arrival the bar was choc a bloc but we were immediately found room in a quieter, roomy atrium to the rear wherein to enjoy our perfect G & T's and nibbles whilst studying the menu. We were usherd into the dining room dead on time for our reservation. Waiter was attentive but not too attentive and only too happy to advise us on choice of courses. Likewise the wine waiter. Choices made we sat back to sip an excellent sauvignon blanc and enjoy the ambience, which remained quiet and comfortable notwithstanding baby in cot at nearby table and later arrival of what seemed a full compliment of diners. We did not have to wait too long for our starters, artichoke for my wife and a squid dish for me, both fine if mine maybe a little bland. Main dishes of fish and partridge ( the latter with a suitable Shiraz by the glass) were excellent, with accompanying vegetables suitably al dente. I had a very generous, varied and interesting cheese course, my wife a creme brulee over which she raved. There was a glass or port too- well, we were celebrating! In summary thus the food and wine were excellent, as we have found before, and our enjoyment of the evening was enhanced by the friendly, informative and just right attention from the apparently enthusiastic staff. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is our third stay in this Hotel du Vin. The service was, as previously, excellent. On arrival, we were a bit disappointed with our "large double" room, but were upgraded without a murmur to the palatial Willi Opitz. The receptionists were extremely helpful throughout our stay, and the same goes for the staff in the restaurant and "bubbles " bar.
The food was very good at both dinner and breakfast. I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The bar and pub part are lovely but the room was nothing special for the price we paid and we were both left feeling a bit underwhelmed by the accomodation. Have stayed at Mal Maisons a few times and various boutique hotels and felt the extra £40 -£50 this cost in comparison was not really warrented for the room we stayed in. The bar and restaurant defeintiely worth a vist but the standard room was somewhat overpriced and did not do room service

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank smudgeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews