We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation expensive and Rooms need repair!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Meeting some friends for a 50th Celebration at Pub du Vin, and decided to stay. Complicated web site to navigate, and decided to call Hotel to make reservation.
At £180.00 for a Superior DeLuxe, expecting high quality room and facilities...no complimentary mineral water in room(£3.75 from minibar), stained carpet, TV picture offering very poor quality, and bags of rubbish and mop bucket and dirty laundry still outside our Room Door when checking in at 3.45pm...The bathroom needs a major refurbishment, with mould and mildew growing around shower seal and glass blocks, toilet seat is loose and damaged, and the plumbing taps are rattling over the wash hand basin, also very untidy and not clean behind roll up bath.
The Spa facilities also meet poor standards, with no one on the desk when entering, sauna not working with only the steam room to use and a cold shower to round it up...all looking very tired and in great need of refurbishment...
No availability for dinner on the second evening so decided to venture out in town...
Room is too noisy from above floors, with noise from street keeping us awake most of the night...Finally, no warmth from Reception when checking in or checking out...
Breakfast was pleasant

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinewood007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have the impression Hotel Du Vin has a profile of being more than just a hotel. This requires something extra which Du Vin Birmingham in a way has. However, for the price per night you do expect a top notch room which we did not get. I mean, the room was huge and the bathroom had the most adorable bathtub. Yet, a room of such a size should have a sofa or more than one chair?

Still, having stayed at many British hotels during the years, this hotel IS good, by all means. I especially like the interior at this hotel, it has this beautiful staircase and tastefully decorated dining room.

The food is absolutely gorgeous, even though there are not too many types of breakfast to choose from. Try their egg benedict!

The New Year package is strongly reccommended for couples from 25-65! We have done this package twice and each time has been a really nice experience. It is amazing how so many different people can blend together so well! If you are good at small talk you can most surely get more than one new friend at such an event.

The houseband plays nice coversongs and the pipers arrive at 2359 to greet the new year. Did I mention the dinner? Magnificent! This year a couple did not get their meal in time and they were quite angry. However, I spotted them on the dance floor later in the evening and they seemed all happy again ;)

To conclude, this hotel is classy in a way, but the rooms do not make the nice hotel building and interior quite justice. Still, the nice food and atmosphere make amends. It really depends on which occation you are going to Birmingham. Hotel Britannica is way cheaper and does its job too- if shopping is your only agenda that is.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnklReisendeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I spent New Year's Eve at the Hotel du Vin with my husband and some friends. The package included a drinks reception, five course dinner and a new years' party.

Firstly, the positives: the dinner was excellent, fantastic food and wine, great service and a lovely atmosphere. The post dinner celebrations were also a lot of fun, with champagne and bacon butties and a piper to see in the new year. However, there were a number of aspects to our stay which I feel the hotel really needs to improve on. The rooms are ok but I really wouldn't describe them as being luxurious, in fact for the price they are fairly basic. The bathrooms have decent fixtures (great monsoon shower) but they look tired and a bit grubby (eg the grouting in ours desperately needed renewing - not the worst thing in the world, but also not what you expect from a hotel of this standard).

Unfortunately, after a brilliant evening the night before, our pre-checkout experience the following morning was dire. Service and food at breakfast was way below par. There was very little choice at the buffet, the cooked food took an hour to arrive and was not worth the wait at all. Checking out took an age because they had added several drinks to the bill that we hadn't had, as well as a whopping service charge. The man at reception was very nice and sorted it out as best he could, but for an apparently luxurious boutique hotel I just think that you don't expect to have those kind of issues.

Overall I would agree with previous reviewers who have commented that it is an ok place to stay if you can get a good rate; I certainly wouldn't pay the rack rate again. However, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the restaurant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinglady010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed for one night yesterday on their sunday night special offer of £35 a room if you spend £75 in the bistro. I can honestly say that I think £35 was all the room was worth. Arrived early at the hotel and were told by a surly receptionist that our room wasnt ready and we could wait in the bar. he eventually 'found' us a room but I think it was probably the worst one in the hotel. We were overlooking the central area of the hotel which made the room dark and dingy. Horrid green walls and dull furnishings with mismatched furniture.. Bathroom not too bad but looked a bit grubby to me. Noisy air conditioning and a vibrating noise going on all night (not sure where that came from) however the bed was like a vile concrete slab with limp and lifeless pillows. Not a cosy or smart room at all and our bed was about 6" from a huge monstrosity of a wardrobe so everytime we walked past we tripped over end of the bed.
The Bubbles bar is great but when we ordered a drink the bar man forgot us and we had to remind him we were still there. He gave us the drink for free but would have expected better. Bistro wasn't too bad, managed to get a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for 2 of us for £79. Not happy with the service charge as the waitress kept on asking us to order food even though the wine waiter hadn't been to take our order. Decided to pay it though rather than make a fuss. Some of the food nice, other not so nice but overall ok.
Wouldn't consider coming here again as most of the staff were rather unpleasant and will go instead to The Crowne Plaza which was a far nicer experience

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin on the Sunday night £35 offer (when you spend £75 in the bistro) with 2 friends. We had a lovely evening and the room was nice. Food was excellent and the service in the bar.
The bathroom needed some TLC but generally the room was nice. We did ask for rooms near each other - we were told the same floor but they were very far apart.
Great location for shopping and exploring the centre of Birmingham

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBoothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I know that the Hotel du Vin chain might be considered pricey but there are regular deals and offers which can make a significant financial saving. For the last couple of years we have taken advantage of a special Sunday night deal at the Birmingham hotel in order to do our Christmas shopping. The deal was to spend at least £75 in the Bistro and then get a room for £45. Overall great value.

The hotel is in the older part of central Birmingham and is a very short walk from the Bull Ring and all the other shops in the city centre. It is in a surprisingly quiet location. No parking but an NCP nearby.

Sunday afternoon shopping was very very busy but the Monday morning is an ocean of calm. If you don't know Birmingham get your bearings on the Sunday and do the serious shopping on the Monday. There is also a huge German Christmas Market but we found this to be a bit tacky and very overpriced.

Reception staff were friendly and accommodating. They switched our room as we arrived early before our original room was ready. Huge room, huge bed, huge bathroom and all other features you would expect.

Dinner and service in the Bistro was excellent. The wine list was vast and catered for all price points. We dined late as did the couple on an adjoining table who we struck up conversation with. At 11.30 we were the last in the Bistro and the staff moved us into the cocktail lounge and provided complimentary coffee and cheeseplate. I imagine they wanted to set the Bistro for breakfast but I felt they handled our move into the lounge with tact and generosity.

The hotel itself is a converted eye hospital so the building is quirky but very substantial.

Overall I would recommend this hotel very strongly. If I was paying a normal room rate I might be a little more pernickety but The special deal represented outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Decided to splash out when visiting Birmingham for a concert and stay here. While the bar was excellent and room okay the check in was without smiles and the staff in the dinning room for breakfast were nothing less than rude.
Wouldn't go back and stay - for £185 you can get better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,399 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,541 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,031 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £87 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing