We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paragon Hotel
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having stayed here last year I was looking forward to this stay. I was a little disappointed at first. The room I was given had mould in the shower and springs sticking up in the mattress. I did call reception and a wonderfully helpful man changed my room with no fuss and gave me a voucher for a complimentary breakfast. He did explain that they were in the process of updating rooms, additionally they were very busy with a wedding there. This has not put me off the hotel and I will stay there again. Very interesting Victorian architecture and features

Room Tip: If you find any problems with the rooms, please call reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we are in the process of refurbing the hotel but unfortunately this will take a little time to complete. We have a great team workig at the Paragon and it is always nice to hear compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to obtain the best rate for your next stay please contact myself directly.

Kind regards

Susan Casson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    88
    142
    148
    750
See reviews for
75
306
83
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I arrived at around 10.30pm to a frosty welcome from reception. The hotel seemed pretty empty, do not let the grand photos on websites fool you, this hotel is dated, cold and shabby. When entering my room I had a single bed, a very old kettle, a tv that didn't work and a mouldy shower room. Honestly, if you want a place to put your head down, there are better options in Birmingham that are as low in cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliea444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, your feedback has been relayed to the appropriate departments in order for our team to address the problems you encountered as a priority.

The hotel is in the process of having a refrubishment on the bedrooms but unfortunatley this will take time and we are reflecting out standard of bedroom in the current prices we charge.




kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The reception staff are lovely and helpful. The bar staff are great. The service man was helpful .
The rooms are the worst I have ever seen ( room on the 2nd floor 224 ) please look at the shower it was disgusting and I mean it.
My window I'm the room was cracked / the mattress was wafer thin : the pillows were as thin as well) but the room was just dirty / it needs a complete overall - I watched the poor receptionist manager fend off complaints one after the other from guests in the morning ; and I give her credit she was polite and acted as if no one else had ever complained before.
Why did I stay there ? Well as soon as I saw my room I tried to change it and begged to pay extra for a larger room or any other room but I was told ALL the rooms were taken it was late and I was tied ( the NEC had several shows on and several coach loads of unsuspecting poor tourists from China had just been led to their hovels - I cannot imagine what they thought) .

The food that evening in the bar -steak and chips to be fair was ok I had no complaints ) the breakfast was the worst I have ever seen - scramble eggs looked like it was made in a cement mixer it was solid and just a single colour you could mistake it for mash potatoes .... Someone had thrown it up outside the hotel , so I was pleased I never tasted it.
The website is possibly the most miss leading website in the world / DO NOT stay here trust me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionelOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, your feedback has been relayed to the appropriate departments in order for our team to address the problems you encountered as a priority.

The hotel is in the process of having a refrubishment on the bedrooms but unfortunatley this will take time and we are reflecting out standard of bedroom in the current prices we charge.




kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst hotel I've EVER stayed in. I booked a 'single room' which turned out to be a box room at the back of the hotel. It stank of smoke even though the hotel apparently adhears to a strictly 'no smoking' policy. There was a fire alarm at 3am, and although granted this was not the hotel's fault, we were left waiting uninformed for 1hr. My box room 'ran out of water' in the bathroom both mornings I was there, even though this 'hardly ever happens'. After standing shivering in my room with wet hair (the shower had worked long enough to do this) for 10 mins, I was given a key so I could run outside in my pyjamas and upstairs to another room with an equally crap shower, but at least with running water...
Basically, this hotel has zero value for money and is placed in a rough location in Birmingham (definitely not close to the station)- there are MUCH nicer places in the city centre so just don't even bother thinking about staying here!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, your feedback has been relayed to the appropriate departments in order for our team to address the problems you encountered as a priority.

The hotel is in the process of having a refrubishment on the bedrooms but unfortunatley this will take time and we are reflecting out standard of bedroom in the current prices we charge.




kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here last minute on a Saturday night; we booked through booking.com and just wanted a place to rest out heads after a night out. What an AWFUL place to stay, how they call themselves a hotel is unbelievable. Don't stay here because...

1. The car parking is in a derelict warehouse (not secured and across the road from the hotel).
2. The rooms are old and dated and stink of stale urine and smoke.
3. The lighting in the bedroom is non-existent.
4. The front of house manager doesn't seem to care about any complaint you make and fobs you off.
5. There is 1 plug socket per room for you to use which isn't enough.
6. There is mould all in the bath/shower and the shower curtains are old and stink.
7. The rooms aren't cleaned properly (we had a tray of cheesy chips in one of our drawers).
8. The carpet in the rooms are sticky.
9. No plugs for the sink so you can't fill the basin.
10. Blocked plug hole in the bath so water fills up and hair is everywhere.
11. Hardly anything for breakfast, once the food has gone it doesn't get topped up.

I could go on and on. It is unacceptable for a hotel of that size and I have never stayed in such a disgusting, down trodden hotel in all my life. I think it depends what floor you are allocated as I was told floors 1 and 2 are the more modern cleaner, up to date rooms. We had to be moved rooms twice as the first room had a tray of cheesy chips left in a drawer and it smelt of wee and the hair dryer melted when I used it. The second room absolutely stuck of smoke and finally the third room was ok but we had an hour to get ready to go out after all of the hassle so we just stuck with it. The only good thing about anyone of this was the lovely young lady on reception who tried to help us but the front of house service manager just didn't seem to care. Avoid this hotel at all costs. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free!!! Very poor!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, your feedback has been relayed to the appropriate departments in order for our team to address the problems you encountered as a priority.

The hotel is in the process of having a refrubishment on the bedrooms but unfortunatley this will take time and we are reflecting out standard of bedroom in the current prices we charge.




kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have to say I have stayed in hotels of all levels all over the world but this is the biggest dump I have ever stayed. It's dark dingy and dirty with cramped rooms and rude staff. The website is mis leading and tantamount to fraud. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhewettm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, your feedback has been relayed to the appropriate departments in order for our team to address the problems you encountered as a priority.

The hotel is in the process of having a refrubishment on the bedrooms but unfortunatley this will take time and we are reflecting out standard of bedroom in the current prices we charge.




kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had our sons wedding at the hotel this weekend. The room was set out beautifully for the ceremony, reception and evening party and I was really pleased that we had chosen this venue for the wedding. First impression was that it had the 'wow 'factor and our guests seemed suitably impressed. BUT and yes there is a but, when it came to checking in to rooms the chaos began.

When we booked the venue we were told that we would be allocated rooms on the first and second floors which were allegedly the refurbished floors of the hotel. On trying to check in, wedding guests were being asked to go away and come back in an hour as no rooms were ready even though other guests seemed to be checking in without any problems. I didn't worry too much at that point because I thought it was because we had been allocated specific rooms and that it was these rooms that weren't ready. However, when guests did finally check in some (including myself and my husband) were told that there were no rooms left on the first and second floors and we were given rooms on the the third floor. Given that on the booking confirmation slip it said we had a superior double room I was expecting it to be reasonably nice - how wrong I was. Firstly, half the lights in the room didn't work, which given the room was dull anyway just made things worse. Secondly, we had been given one half of an inter-connecting room, the other half of which was occupied by a group of young men on a stag do, and the noise through the interconnecting door was awful (ended up calling security at 4am to ask the lads to keep it down - which to give credit where it is due, did the trick - I just wish I had done that a few hours earlier! The bathroom was adequate, it had a shower that worked and was reasonably clean compared to some of the other feedback I got from my other guests. The room itself smelt musty and old. I was a bit disappointed but didn't want this to spoil the occasion because at the end of the day all we wanted the room for was to sleep after the wedding (didn't know at the time that i was going to be kept awake by rowdy neighbours ). I just put it down to the fact that we were in the part of the hotel that had not been refurbished and hopefully the rest of our guests had better rooms than ours. Sadly that was not the case. On talking to other guests their rooms were dirty, smelt damp, one family asked to be reallocated because the room stunk of cigarettes and then the new room wasn't much better but as they had two young children they just accepted it because they didn't want the hassle of carting all their luggage around from one room to another. The stories were similar from the other guests ( who were mostly on the first and second floors) and given that between us we had in excess of 30 rooms booked this can't be just a one-off unfortunate experience. It's a real shame, I felt embarrassed that members of our party had had such a negative experience -I wasn't expecting luxury but I did expect a clean environment to shower and to sleep. This was sadly lacking. The scores I have given are for the standard of accommodation. The majority of the staff on duty were very polite and helpful and this is reflected in the higher score for service.

Room Tip: Have your function here as it is an excellent venue for a special occasion and the events staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baljit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Property: Paragon Hotel
Address: 145 Alcester Street, Birmingham B12 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is currently going through a major multi million pound refurbishment programme that will transform the hotel back into its former glory. Completion of the refurbishment will be in late spring 2017 The Paragon is a Privately owned 241 roomed Hotel situated in the Digbeth district of Birmingham City. It is within walking distance from the city centre and well positioned for local bars within the Irish Community. The hotel has a vast banqueting room along with several smaller meeting rooms that can cater from 12 to 600 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing