We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paragon Hotel
Ranked #111 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Been at paragon at least 6 times past year and half
fantastic location,10 min walk from bullring,
Lovely hotel,lovely cozy rooms
bed so comfy want to take it home with me
always have a fantastic nights sleep here
mrs and mrs lee

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colletteandnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It is so pleasing to learn that you have found the paragon to be a comfortable hotel and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have comeback time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future particularly to enjoy the transformation the hotel is undergoing with the planned phased multi million pound refurbishment and modernisation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    87
    140
    147
    748
See reviews for
75
304
81
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year.. Was looking at places to stay and come across this hotel it looked really nice from the photos.. Clearly not in person.. False advertising it also Was the worst stay ever checked in to the first room had to be moved due to it not being appropriate to stay in.. The phone picked it up and it fell apart shower mould every where room made me feel like I was in prison.. Anyways moved to the next room wasn't any better was kept up all night from the paper thin walls could hear people having sex all night I was even woken up by it in the morning, Was very disturbing! Anyways not a very nice please but good thing is the staff was very lovely and welcoming

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DionneEllese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Your review pertains to a stay at the Paragon last year - though I am certainly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay I must advise you that the hotel has now recently and has been privately purchased following a long period of receivership, and I am confident that you would not experience the problems of your previous stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Felt like I had entered a prison small corridors small rooms dim and dingy interior and exterior in run down area of Birmingham actually prison is better and cleaner are room over looked a park and council estate people doing drugs and drinking in park intill late/early hours reception full of what I can only say siting tenants seems to me they put local people up in rooms for long term rental like hostel very uncomfortable having to walk through all the people to get to lift to get to my room

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xray5555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Paragon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
While I understand your review and assure you that our team here will do all possible to make your future stays really comfortable, I write to inform you that the Paragon Hotel has recently been purchased following a long period of receivership and lack of any investment to maintain and improve this wonderful iconic old hotel building.

Simultaneously I am happy to announce that the hotel is now commencing phase one of a multi million pound refurbishment starting from the fifth floor, including the Princess Helena Restaurant, the majestic public areas and the fabulous 650 guest capacity convention room and 13 additional feature meeting / party rooms.

So come and visit the Paragon Hotel and WATCH THIS SPACE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked into the Paragon as it had an concessionary offer associated with the (truly excellent) Supersonic Festival.
I booked 5 rooms via the Paragon's own website and despite quoting the correct reference supplied by the festival, and booking directly usin the Paragon's own website, the hotel refused to honour the discount upon arrival.

They failed to supply clean sheets for one of the rooms where it was clear they were -let's say- "required".

Their utter dishonesty surrounding payment means that I could never recommend them to anyone, whether or not they could tolerate its basic amenities.

Poor hotel, bordering on criminal attitude

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AIK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The pictures on the website look great. The reality is that of a rundown, dirty, unsafe hovel.

We were given one threadbare bath towel between two and this had to last us two nights despite asking reception for more towels. The shower also ran cold before the second shower was complete.

The windows offer no noise protection and you can hardly see out of them due to the filth. Mold in the bathroom and a socket hanging out of the wall added to the awfulness. Oh, and the lamp didn't work.

The general area around the hotel feels dodgy and unsafe.

I emailed them with my concerns and, as you might expect, they've ignored it.

Avoid this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this room for £44 instead of the usual £60 thinking that the pictures on Booking.com looked great!
Although there's been reviews on the whole experience was terrible, I'd only comment on the bathroom and the hallways to the room and bad.
The bathroom was dirty and was honestly to hostel standards, the only way to cool the room down was by opening the windows (there's loads of traffic in the morning)
The bedroom and facilities were all there, apart from the hair dryer had broken.
I'd recommend this for those who find a great price and just want somewhere for the location (bullring or restaurants), but I personally will not be returning to this place again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteEStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a grand old lady of a hotel fallen on hard times, but trying hard to reinvent. There are many many rooms, some in the process of renovation. Mine was lovely, small but very clean and fresh and original features made it interesting. The staff were very friendly, but the 'front of house': restaurant, bar, lobby let them down by being shabby and impersonal. The food was awful, and no wifi in the room. It was very reasonably priced, and could be a gemlike quirky budget hotel, great wedding venue, or even rooms let to small businesses possibly(?) if some love lavished on lobby/bar/food offering. I would definately stay again, and look forward to seeing how it develops.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamsineey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Property: Paragon Hotel
Address: 145 Alcester Street, Birmingham B12 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is currently going through a major multi million pound refurbishment programme that will transform the hotel back into its former glory. Completion of the refurbishment will be in late spring 2017 The Paragon is a Privately owned 241 roomed Hotel situated in the Digbeth district of Birmingham City. It is within walking distance from the city centre and well positioned for local bars within the Irish Community. The hotel has a vast banqueting room along with several smaller meeting rooms that can cater from 12 to 600 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing