We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best designer clothes shop outside London!”
Review of Selfridges

Selfridges
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,079 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“The best designer clothes shop outside London!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you want to buy designer clothes in Birmingham, this is the placket come. Pravda, Stone Island, Boss, you name it it's here. Great service from the staff & a great food hall on the ground floors really pleasant shopping experience in an Iconic building.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    201
    79
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another great lunch”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A trip to the Gallery Restaurant, a bottle of Champagne is always a special treat here. Fantastic service, great relaxing surroundings and a pleasure to meet up with my family there! This time I went to meet up with family and we shared lots of small nibbles off the menu. All very tasty indeed. Never once did we feel rushed at all and there was people waiting for a table too. The bar alone is worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DnBzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Gallery Restaurant, First Rate”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Ate here 5th June, as ever it's a peaceful and great place to eat, the food always exceeds expectations, and for a really rather reasonable price. The wine was good, as was the service. I'd recommend this place for either a quick snack or even a more formidable dinner. The view from the balcony is great as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for shopping, champagne bar fab!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Took our usual pilgrimage here on Saturday and it was great as usual. Had the usual session in the champagne bar, which was wasn`t mega busy, although the restaurant section was (and usually is).

After a few drinky-poos, we ordered some crackling to snack on and a reasonably generous portion of lovely crunchy crackling appeared accompanied by a large dish of apple sauce. We tucked in only to be disappoined as it hadn`t been seasoned at all before cooking, so was really bland and tasteless. The apple sauce was nice, tough, but not tasty enough to make up for the bland crackling.

The service was a bit slow - there were a lot of table waiting staff, but only 1 guy behind the bar to service the restaurant and bar, so this needs to be improved.

The toilets were as always to a very high standard (always well maintained, even during busy periods which is impressive), but as previously stated, the bar service was a bit on the slow side and we ended up moving some of our empty glasses down the bar (as it looks bad when you have a few empties sitting in front of you!).

Would recommend here for shopping and for drinks, but will reserve opinion on the food as the bar snack fell a bit short.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDhappytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing store but had a great lunch”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The store itself did not not live up to expectations, limited number of outlets beautifully laid out in an industrial space but nothing we wanted to buy, and we had money to burn! Looking for something different rather than hugely expensive!
BUT we enjoyed looking around the food hall. Had a great lunch in the Indian Brasserie.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynetteP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selfridges also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Selfridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing