We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night stay for a concert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Saturday night stay for a concert”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed for one night 26/01/13 on a deal price of £42.50 per room including B'fast ( 2 adults) with our friends who also had one room (2 adults) on the same deal.

Staff very friendly and very accommodating, Rooms were clean and tidy and Breakfast was very good.

Stayed the night as we were watching an Eagles tribute band at the town hall ( ten minute walk away) and at this rate per night it was easier to stay over.

Used the bar prior to and at the end of our eveing out and again staff weree very friendly and accommodating and prices were not too bad given the it was a hotel and in the centre of B'ham

Room Tip: we had a room at the back whiched overlooked the multistory car park next to the Childrens hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    331
    224
    91
    69
See reviews for
134
230
57
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Never stopped in a Thistle Hotel before, and as it's a chain hotel you never expect too much. Well stop! I stayed one night in this hotel because we were having a night out in Birmingham. It's a 7 minute walk from the City Centre. We arrived, reception staff were excellent. After 10 minutes in our room we received a call from reception asking whether everything was ok with the room. I have never experienced this in a big hotel before. It's a nice touch. The room was small, a double, but was clean, everything worked , nice toiletries and overlooking a lovely church. Bar staff were also excellent and very friendly. We did not have breakfast, because there is a wetherspoons close by, but I would actually struggle to give a negative for this hotel. Maybe for me the room was a bit too warm! The price was excellent for the nights stay and I would absolutely stay here again. Even though it is on a main road, it was quiet and we got a great night's sleep. Great value and the staff make it what it is.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We recently stayed here initially staying for 1 night but stayed for 2 due to severe weather , we had been to the children's hospital with my grandson , I can only praise this hotel nothing was too much trouble every single member of staff were so happy and nothing was too much trouble for them they are a credit to the thistle , the hotel is spotless clean and on the first night we were upgraded to the Edgbaston suite ,We were not due to stay another night but on returning to our car at 7pm after a day at the hospital and snowing very heavily Dean the hotel manager restored my faith in humans and offered us a room for my daughter grandson and myself at a very reasonable rate which we could of cried not having to drive back to stoke in a blizzard with a child who will need a heart transplant before he is 5 years old , Thank you Dean and all your staff from the bottom of our hearts for making our stay at the Thistle so welcoming .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheball2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Travelling on business is never as comfortable as pleasure but I am a big fan of a quiet clean room with few mod cons. I have had many a pleasant stay in a travelodge, Ibis, premier inn. That's why this thistle was disappointing. Dusty single room, they couldn't find my reservation initially, or the paperwork to say that work will be paying. They wanted me to pay in advance.
In true January style I am trying to eat healthy! No chance here. I arrived at 8pm and there was very little food available. Just the 24 hour food a porter can serve, sandwiches, cheeseboard and curry! So no chance of a green salad and an omelette then! I decided to skip the nasty food cals, have a strong diet g& t, my emergency fruit bar and an early night. Off somewhere else for ham & scrambled eggs in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The hotel is located on the inner ring road offering great views of St Chads which is a nice church but not as spectacular as the cathedral in the city centre. An easy walk into the city centre which has improved dramatically over the years. Although car parking is next door it is a bit grim but isn't the hotels fault.
Excellent service, especially considering the hotel was hosting a number of Christmas parties the staff went out of their way to accommodate us for dinner. Food was good too.
Purpose of the visit was to see the German Christmas market which was excellent, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions as it is very conveniently located for a regular meeting-venue. The food is very good but the hotel always disappoints. The rooms are very often cold and this trip was no exception. There was an early-morning fire alarm but the hotel staff and guests handled the situation well, although the hotel fire-marshall was not as commanding as I would expect. Foil blankets were produced for babies and children, which were vital as we stood outside in the cold for 45 minutes. As the fire was in the kitchen, there was no breakfast but staff did provide fruit and yoghurt to send us on our way.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystrad Mynach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

we only spent one night at the hotel, but it was very good. Had to stay as our granddaughter was in the Children's Hospital ( 250 yards away). Room Clean and had everything you would get in a 4 star room. Bar and restaurant were very quiet, which is normal in a city centre hotel on a saturday night. Bar man very friendly and good service given. Food was better than i expected it to be. Waitres good. Breakfast was buffet style and good. I would stay here agian, but hopefully for a differant reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Simon

Thank you so much for offering a positive review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I am specifically pleased to read about your breakfast.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Property: The Royal Angus Hotel
Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing