We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Thistle is not prickly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a gem of an hotel tucked away on St Chads Queensway in Birmingham. The exterior of the hotel is very subdued and belies the interior. It would appear that the money saved on the architecture of the facade has been well spent on the interior.

The Reception area is small and at times appears to be understaffed; having said that, the Reception staff are helpful and knowledgeable.

The decor in the corridors was very pleasant, with good quality floor and wall covers; the addition of photographs of Birmingham in history (its place in industry and and the rural sights and buildings) really adds a good touch and being in black and white they have a great impact.

The bedroom was of a good size with plenty of storage space. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows (it took a bit of selecting because of the range of pillows offered). The pictures on the walls continued the theme of the corridors. The bathroom was well sized, the only thing that spoiled the bathroom for me was the 'waterfall' shower (not my personal preference). I stayed in this hotel twice in 2013, the first time I had a room that overlooked the main road and on the second occasion I had a room that overlooked the car park behind the hotel; I think I preferred the view over the road! Then soundproofing was excellent so there was no noise.

In general the food in the restaurant was very good, especially the selections offered on the 'Table D'Hote' menu. On my first visit I selected the 'Nasi Goreng' and I had to reject it as it definitely not like the 'Nasi Goreng' I had eaten in Singapore; it was replaced and the second offering was a bit better. There was a good choice of food available at Breakfast and plenty of it, unfortunately the hot food selection was not as hot as it could have been. The decor in the restaurant was bright and somewhat stark compared to the warm comfort of the corridors and rooms.

Overall the staff with whom I had contact with were helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating.

IO would certainly recommend this hotel, a real jewel in the crown of the Thistle Hotel Group.

Room Tip: Any room on the road side of the hotel as the view is better than looking over the car park.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistairworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Angus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I wasn't expecting much. Thistle hotels I've stayed in the past (Barbican, particularly) were NOT good - but this was much better than I expected. Comfortable room, quieter than I expected, and - praise be - excellent free wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Short distance from shopping areas but perfectly adequate for our needs. Stayed with Granddaughter and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bed seemed rather small but very comfortable. Room fine for our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grannygroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting the Christmas market in Birmingham. The girl at the desk was very friendly and helpful during check in and check out, the room - a standard double - was clean and very comfortable, with a nice shower in the en suite. The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the city centre, and was quiet on the night (Saturday) we were there, despite our room being on the . We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frawhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very nice clean comfortable hotel and friendly staff,but all was let down by our eating experience in restaurant.Fist night at least-6 items off the menu,told would all be back to normal second night,everything we chose did not have!!! Spoilt our stay,which we came specially for Xmas markets,would have eaten elsewhere if we had known. Compensated with drinks,but that was not the point,didn't make up for our disappointment. Food we did have was very good,shame we couldn't try what we really wanted!!! Never had our mince pie and mulled wine either that was offered in deal!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 297john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

here for meeting ;quality of coffee excellent as was sophistication of lunch;better than many conference hotels i have been to
nifty arrangement with car park next door
as is usual the helpfulness of the staff was the impressive point

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealdeadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a perfectly adequate city centre hotel and an ideal location for a two night stay to take in some Christmas shopping. Very pleasant front desk staff and a very efficient check in. Room was very clean and bathroom appeared recently refurbished. Would have liked a larger bed but was still comfortable and with good soundproofing we had a decent nights sleep each evening.
Breakfast buffet was busy each morning and staff just about coped. Usual choice on offer of decent quality so we just refuelled and were on our way for the day. We dined out each evening so can't comment on dinner.
Would recommend for a one or two night stay if in town for shopping or similar and you can get a deal on the room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
#79 of 118 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
1,811 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £92 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing